Raimond Gaita

Tuesday, 31 March 2015
Published in Reading Australia

Raimond GaitaRaimond Gaita

Raimond Gaita was born in Germany in 1946. He is Emeritus Professor of moral philosophy at Kings College London and a Professorial fellow at the Melbourne Law School and the faculty of Arts of the University of Melbourne.

His books have been published in many translations. They include: Good and Evil: An Absolute Conception (1991), Romulus, My Father (1998), A Common Humanity, The Philosopher’s Dog (2002) and After Romulus (2011). A feature film of Romulus, My Father was released in 2007, and won the AFI award for Best Film, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor and Best Young Actor.

Reading Australia

Kári Gíslason has written about Romulus, My Father (1998) as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read his essay.

Further Reading and Links

Reading Australia teaching resources: Romulus, My Father (1998)

Paul Morgan reviews After Romulus by Raimond Gaita for the October 2011 issue of Australian Book Review

Jean Curthoys reviews A Sense for Humanity: The Ethical Thought of Raimond Gaita edited by Craig Taylor with Melinda Graeffe for the October 2014 issue of Australian Book Review

Craig Taylor reviews The Antipodean Philosopher, Volume 2: Interviews with Australian and New Zealand Philosophers edited by Graham Oppy and N.N. Trakakis for the December 2012 - January 2013 issue of Australian Book Review

'From Frogmore, Victoria: Understanding Raimond Gaita' by Helen Garner, published in The Monthly, May 2007

Maria Tumarkin reviews After Romulus by Raimond Gaita for the Australian, 10September 2011

'The ethical thought of Raimond Gaita' an interview on Radio National, 5 August 2014

'Raimond Gaita speaks about After Romulus' an interview on Radio National, 29 August 2011

 'Truth, writing and national belonging in Romulus, My Father' by Brigitta Olubas, published in Australian Humanities ReviewIssue 43, December 2007

Published in Reading Australia

Leave a comment

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.

NB: If you are an ABR Online subscriber or contributor, you will need to login to ABR Online in order to post a comment. If you have forgotten your login details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to comments@australianbookreview.com.au. We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.