Poetry

'Recital', a new poem by Judith Bishop

Judith Bishop
26 October 2018

Watching others love
        is something
many do, I guess –
not so much a pastime
        as a mode

More

Geoff Page reviews 'The River in the Sky' by Clive James

Geoff Page
26 October 2018

For admirers of Clive James’s poetry written since he became terminally ill in 2011 (and this reviewer is certainly one), The River in the Sky will pose something of a quandary. More

David McCooey reviews three poets at the height of their powers

David McCooey
26 October 2018

Sarah Day’s début collection, A Hunger to Be Less Serious (1987), married lightness of touch with depth of insight. In Towards Light & Other Poems (Puncher & W More

'"Coming On The Hudson": Weehawken' a new poem by August Kleinzahler

August Kleinzahler
26 October 2018

He seldom spoke, even when well, and when he did it was misterioso, brief,
a gnomic shorthand, often only a grunt,
but his musicians got it, Nellie, Boo-Boo, and Sphere III too.
Nowadays next to nothing More

'Landscape with Magic Lantern Slides' by Lisa Gorton

Lisa Gorton
25 September 2018

‘You’ve seen the hands of statues that men have set by gateways.’

Lucretius

More

'Wittgenstein, 1951, Peppered Moth' by Davina Alison

Davina Allison
24 September 2018

Tell me how they move
for the light and I will gather wild orchids
for you and five species
of cockle shells
and leave them by your window ...

More

David Dick reviews 'Satan Repentant' by Michael Aiken

David Dick
17 September 2018

It is time to repent my sins. Recently, I have been asking myself if poetry is exempt from a need to entertain. Is the act of reading a poem or a book of poetry an escapist, amusing, joyou More

Joan Fleming reviews 'Look at the Lake' by Kevin Brophy

Joan Fleming
24 August 2018

Kevin Brophy’s latest book is a record of the year he spent living in the remote Aboriginal community of Mulan. The community is home to predominantly Walmajarri people, and is on the ed More

Judith Bishop reviews 'Sun Music: New and selected poems' by Judith Beveridge

Judith Bishop
24 August 2018

The appearance of a New and Selected Poems by a widely loved and admired poet has all the pleasures of a major retrospective, but viewed alone, without the clamour of a gallery event. It More

'Dalgety Dalgety' by Duncan Hose

Duncan Hose
23 August 2018

There’s the Bunny
Flashin his Bunny.

Yr seriousness has spread over the parlour
   Like a goddam Cumulonimbus Incus
I stare at your broken heroes Nose
    &n More

Page 1 of 24