Interviews

Open Page with Ceridwen Dovey

Australian Book Review
Monday, 16 December 2019

During much of my childhood, my mother was bravely and passionately insisting on teaching postcolonial African literature to (mostly) white university students in apartheid South Africa. I was probably way too young to fully understand it, but Zimbabwean writer Tsitsi Dangarembga’s 1988 début novel, Nervous Conditions, was one of the books my mother was teaching, and it had a huge impact on me.

... (read more)

Open Page with Margaret Simons

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 26 November 2019

Childhood sporting humiliations have left me with a dread of being in places where somebody might throw a ball towards me and expect me to do something with it.

... (read more)

An interview with Thea Astley

Ramona Koval
Wednesday, 20 November 2019

The whole of inland Australia is manoeuvred, manipulated by the weather and by seasons, especially if you are in primary industry. I always like the story, I was travelling north once on the plane and the person next to me said that they hadn’t had rain for seven years. They were living out around Mt Isa and the first time it fell, his five-year-old ran in screaming with fright. But that’s probably one of those north Queensland stories.

... (read more)

Lisa Gorton is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 25 September 2019

It is strangely moving to learn how a reader thinks about something I’ve written. Mostly, I’ve been lucky to have reviewers who crystallise, for me, some pattern in my thinking or inchoate hope for the work. It helps me to start something new. I learn as much, perhaps, from reviews of other people’s work – other approaches, a sense of connection.

... (read more)

Open Page with Trent Dalton

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 25 September 2019

I’m the buffoon with the flailing arms thanking every last booklover who dropped some hard-earned money, cleared the diary for an hour, hopped in their car, paid for parking, found the right tent on the map, and came to hear me talk about the thing that makes my legs move.

... (read more)

Open Page with Helen Garner

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 27 August 2019

Joan Didion. Not sure what happened, to her or to me, but she lost me about twenty years ago.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Rachel Bin Salleh

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 July 2019

I do think that concentrating on getting good stories from literate peoples may be a narrow way of looking at the world. Statements by some non-Indigenous publishers that they have ‘standards’ when it comes to First Nations writing are also extraordinarily limiting. Honestly, you mob seriously need to think outside the box and open up to different ways of thinking.

... (read more)

Open Page with Bruce Pascoe

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 July 2019

Mum and dad. I still need to talk to them. My kids, Marnie and Jack. Best meal was scallops and a few beers with my son at Huonville on a pontoon in the river.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Sam Cooney

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

I completed a writing degree, then was published in Voiceworks magazine, then joined its editorial committee, there discovering that editing is a wonderfully creative and fulfilling act, then commissioned and published some folios of new work in other literary publications, then joined The Lifted Brow magazine as fiction editor, then ...

... (read more)

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty years – I finally admitted I would probably never read again. Among them were quite a few Paul Auster novels. I had a huge crush on his work when I was younger, but feel they have outlived their appeal for me.

... (read more)