Interviews

Open Page with Helen Garner

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 27 August 2019

Joan Didion. Not sure what happened, to her or to me, but she lost me about twenty years ago.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Rachel Bin Salleh

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 July 2019

I do think that concentrating on getting good stories from literate peoples may be a narrow way of looking at the world. Statements by some non-Indigenous publishers that they have ‘standards’ when it comes to First Nations writing are also extraordinarily limiting. Honestly, you mob seriously need to think outside the box and open up to different ways of thinking.

... (read more)

Open Page with Bruce Pascoe

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 July 2019

Mum and dad. I still need to talk to them. My kids, Marnie and Jack. Best meal was scallops and a few beers with my son at Huonville on a pontoon in the river.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Sam Cooney

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

I completed a writing degree, then was published in Voiceworks magazine, then joined its editorial committee, there discovering that editing is a wonderfully creative and fulfilling act, then commissioned and published some folios of new work in other literary publications, then joined The Lifted Brow magazine as fiction editor, then ...

... (read more)

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty years – I finally admitted I would probably never read again. Among them were quite a few Paul Auster novels. I had a huge crush on his work when I was younger, but feel they have outlived their appeal for me.

... (read more)

Michael Brennan is Publisher of the Month

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 07 May 2019

Having the opportunity to work with a diverse range of extremely talented writers and bring their books into the world is a gift. The greatest challenge isn’t with authors, but covering rent and surviving.

... (read more)

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 April 2019

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching the sea eagles soar.

... (read more)

Emma Lew is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 April 2019

A bit of space and peace are good for writing poetry. I like to feel warm, so a small electric heater should be blowing on my ankles.

... (read more)

Meredith Curnow is Publisher of the Month

Australian Book Review
Friday, 29 March 2019

I am very proud of most of the books I have published. Some that stand out include Kate McClymont and Linton Besser’s He Who Must Be Obeid, which involved us all in a world of pain, but also instigated the case against Eddie Obeid. Working with Julia Gillard on My Story was rather special, and last year I published Rusted Off from Gabrielle Chan ...

... (read more)

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 December 2018

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucalypts and banksias, just a hundred paces away.

... (read more)