Film

Peterloo ★★★★

Brian McFarlane
20 November 2018

What I’ve come to expect of a new Mike Leigh film is, above all, the unexpected. His first feature, Bleak Moments (1971), of which there were quite a few in that contemporary st More

Peter Goldsworthy reviews 'Hitler and Film: The Führer’s hidden passion' by Bill Niven

Peter Goldsworthy
25 May 2018

History is written by the Oscar winners in our time, which makes the responsibilities of serious historical scholarship never more important. Despite its realist pretensions – it looks a More

2018 Australian Book Review Film Survey

25 May 2018

We invited some writers, film critics, and film professionals to nominate their favourite film – not The Greatest Film Ever Sold, but one that matters to them personally.

More

Varun Ghosh reviews 'Making a Meal of It: Writing about film' by Brian McFarlane

Varun Ghosh
25 May 2018

One of my favourite podcasts at the moment is called The Rewatchables. It deconstructs movies (mainly from the 1990s and 2000s) and offers an enjoyable mix of amusement, nostalgia More

Suzy Freeman-Greene review 'Beyond the Silver Screen: A history of women, filmmaking and film culture in Australia 1920–1990' by Mary Tomsic

Suzy Freeman-Greene
25 May 2018

In 1971, Australian filmmaker Joan Long wrote the script for a film about gentrification in the Sydney suburb of Paddington. At a screening in London, it was introduced by director Peter W More

Jake Wilson reviews 'Warner Bros: The Making of an American movie studio' by David Thomson

Jake Wilson
25 May 2018

David Thomson has been an essential writer on film for around half a century, but in certain circles his reputation has long been in decline. The reasons are obvious enough. He writes too More

'The Brodie set" Muriel Spark’s "The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie"' by Sally Grant

Sally Grant
25 May 2018

I don’t remember how old I was when I first saw the film version of . As a young girl growing up in north-east Scotland, I didn’t know that it had been adapted from a 1961 no More

Desley Deacon reviews 'Reinventing Hollywood: How 1940s filmmakers changed movie storytelling' by David Bordwell

Desley Deacon
25 May 2018

With the Harvey Weinstein scandal and the #MeToo movement reminding us all too vividly of flesh and blood Hollywood, David Bordwell’s cerebral Reinventing Hollywood: How 1940s filmmakers More

Philippa Hawker reviews '"La Parisienne" in Cinema: Between art and life' by Felicity Chaplin

Philippa Hawker
24 May 2018

On the cover of Felicity Chaplin’s La Parisienne in Cinema: Between art and life, Audrey Hepburn, arms aloft, reigns triumphant in a strapless scarlet evening gown and organza s More

On 'Black Panther' by Dilan Gunawardana

Dilan Gunawardana
30 May 2018

The Marvel film Black Panther has currently earned more than US$1.3 billion dollars at the box office worldwide since its release on 13 February 2018, which places it high among t More

Page 1 of 8