ABR gratefully acknowledges the support of its Patrons  

Generous donations from Patrons have transformed Australian Book Review in recent years, with major benefits for Australian writers and readers. These donations have enabled us to expand our programs, to diversify the magazine, and to be more ambitious and outward-looking. Most importantly, we have increased our payments to contributors at a time when paid freelance opportunities are relatively few. Our three literary prizes, our Fellowship program, and ABR Arts are only possible because of cultural philanthropy. With support from Patrons we look forward to preserving and improving the magazine for another forty years.

Parnassian ($100,000 or more)

Ian Dickson

Acmeist ($75,000 to $99,999)


Olympian ($50,000 to $74,999)

Morag Fraser AM
Colin Golvan AM QC
Ellen Koshland
Maria Myers AC

Augustan ($25,000 to $49,999)

Anita Apsitis and Graham Anderson
Dr Steve and Mrs TJ Christie
Peter Corrigan AM (1941–2016)
Peter and Mary-Ruth McLennan
Kim Williams AM
Anonymous (1)

Imagist ($15,000 to $24,999)

Emeritus Professor David Carment AM
Professor Glyn Davis AC and Professor Margaret Gardner AO
Pauline Menz
Lady Potter AC CMRI
Ruth and Ralph Renard

Vorticist ($10,000 to $14,999)

Helen Brack
Marion Dixon
Professor Ian Donaldson and Dr Grazia Gunn
Emeritus Professor Anne Edwards AO
Professor Colin and Ms Carol Nettelbeck
Margaret Plant
Estate of Dorothy Porter
Peter Rose and Christopher Menz
John Scully
Anonymous (1)

Futurist ($5,000 to $9,999)

Peter Allan
Geoffrey Applegate OBE and Sue Glenton
Hon. Justice Kevin Bell AM and Tricia Byrnes
Dr Bernadette Brennan
John Button (1932–2008)
Des Cowley
Professor The Hon. Gareth Evans AC QC
Cathrine Harboe-Ree
Professor Margaret Harris
The Hon. Peter Heerey AM QC
Dr Alastair Jackson AM
Neil Kaplan CBE QC and Su Lesser
Dr Susan Lever
Allan Murray-Jones
Susan Nathan
David Poulton
Ilana Snyder and Ray Snyder AM
Professor Andrew Taylor AM
Noel Turnbull
Mary Vallentine AO
Susan Varga and Anne Coombs
Bret Walker SC
Ruth Wisniac OAM and Dr John Miller AO

Modernist ($2,500 to $4,999)

Jan Aitken
Gillian Appleton 
Kate Baillieu
John Bryson AM
Professor Jan Carter AM
Helen Garner
Reuben Goldsworthy
Dr Gavan Griffith AO QC
Elisabeth Holdsworth
Claudia Hyles
Dr Kerry James
Dr Barbara Kamler
Geoffrey Lehmann and Gail Pearson
Dr Stephen McNamara
Don Meadows
Stephen Newton AO
Jillian Pappas
Dr Trish Richardson and Andy Lloyd James
Professor John Rickard
Dr Jennifer Strauss AM
Dr Mark Triffitt
Lisa Turner
Dr Barbara Wall
Nicola Wass
Jacki Weaver AO
Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby AM
Anonymous (6)

Romantic ($1,000 to $2,499)

Nicole Abadee and Rob Macfarlan
Helen Angus
Bardas Foundation
Professor Frank Bongiorno AM
Brian Bourke AM
John H. Bowring
John Bugg
John Collins
Donna Curran and Patrick McCaughey
Professor Helen Ennis
Johanna Featherstone
The Leo and Mina Fink Fund
Professor Sheila Fitzpatrick
Dr Joan Grant
Professor Tom Griffiths AO
Professor Nick Haslam
Dr Michael Henry AM
Mary Hoban
Professor Grace Karskens
Linsay and John Knight
Professor John Langmore AM
Pamela McLure
Muriel Mathers
Rod Morrison
Dr Ann Moyal AM
Dr Brenda Niall AO
Angela Nordlinger
Mark Powell
Dr Della Rowley (in memory of Hazel Rowley, 1951–2011)
Professor Lynette Russell AM
Robert Sessions AM
Michael Shmith
Ursula Whiteside
Lyn Williams AM
Anonymous (3)

Symbolist ($500 to $999)

Dr Gae Anderson
Lyle Allan
Douglas Batten
Professor Trevor Burnard
Allan Driver
Jean Dunn
Dr Paul Genoni
Professor Paul Giles
Dr Peter Goldsworthy AM
Emeritus Professor Dennis Haskell AM
Dr Max Holleran
Dr Barbara Keys
Dr Brian McFarlane OAM
Marshall McGuire and Ben Opie
Patricia Nethery
Professor Brigitta Olubas
J.W. de B. Persse
Emeritus Professor Wilfrid Prest
Professor David Rolph
Emeritus Professor Susan Sheridan and Professor Susan Magarey AM
Emeritus Professor Ian Tyrrell
Emeritus Professor James Walter
Professor Jen Webb
Kyle Wilson
Anonymous (4)

Realist ($250 to $499)

Damian and Sandra Abrahams
Judith Bishop
Jean Bloomfield
Blanche Clark
Roslyn Follett
Dr Anna Goldsworthy
Associate Professor Michael Halliwell
John McDonald
Michael Macgeorge
Janet McLachlan
Dr Lyndon Megarrity
Felicity St John Moore
Anthony Ritchard
Margaret Smith
Anonymous (1)

ABR Bequest Program

Gillian Appleton
John Button
Peter Corrigan AM
Peter Rose
Francesca Jurate Sasnaitis
Anonymous (3)