Open Page

Open Page with Cassandra Pybus

Australian Book Review
Friday, 20 March 2020

When I was younger and could tolerate copious amounts of alcohol, I really enjoyed writers’ festivals, especially in Canada, where they are often in stupendous landscapes. I made some lifelong friendships with marvellous writers and enjoyed memorable late-night conversations in the lobbies and bars of swish hotels.

... (read more)

Open Page with Ceridwen Dovey

Australian Book Review
Monday, 16 December 2019

During much of my childhood, my mother was bravely and passionately insisting on teaching postcolonial African literature to (mostly) white university students in apartheid South Africa. I was probably way too young to fully understand it, but Zimbabwean writer Tsitsi Dangarembga’s 1988 début novel, Nervous Conditions, was one of the books my mother was teaching, and it had a huge impact on me.

... (read more)

Open Page with Margaret Simons

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 26 November 2019

Childhood sporting humiliations have left me with a dread of being in places where somebody might throw a ball towards me and expect me to do something with it.

... (read more)

Open Page with Andrea Goldsmith

Australian Book Review
Friday, 11 October 2019

Why do you write?

For the language, for the ideas, for the pleasures of the imagination, for the unorthodox hours, for the solitude.

Are you a vivid dreamer?

To dream you need to sleep, and sleep, like sport, is not a skill I have ...

Open Page with Trent Dalton

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 25 September 2019

I’m the buffoon with the flailing arms thanking every last booklover who dropped some hard-earned money, cleared the diary for an hour, hopped in their car, paid for parking, found the right tent on the map, and came to hear me talk about the thing that makes my legs move.

... (read more)

Open Page with Helen Garner

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 27 August 2019

Joan Didion. Not sure what happened, to her or to me, but she lost me about twenty years ago.

... (read more)

Open Page with Bruce Pascoe

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 July 2019

Mum and dad. I still need to talk to them. My kids, Marnie and Jack. Best meal was scallops and a few beers with my son at Huonville on a pontoon in the river.

... (read more)

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty years – I finally admitted I would probably never read again. Among them were quite a few Paul Auster novels. I had a huge crush on his work when I was younger, but feel they have outlived their appeal for me.

... (read more)

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 April 2019

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching the sea eagles soar.

... (read more)

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 December 2018

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucalypts and banksias, just a hundred paces away.

... (read more)