Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

ABR Timeline - Highlights


Dan Hogan wins the Peter Porter Poetry Prize


Sheila Fitzpatrick becomes ABR’s third Laureate
Tracy Ellis wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Dan Disney wins the Peter Porter Poetry Prize
Rowan Heath wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


Simon Tedeschi wins the Calibre Essay Prize
First ABR tour of the Adelaide Festival
Anthony Lawrence wins the Peter Porter Poetry Prize 
Tracy Ellis wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


Sara M. Saleh wins the Peter Porter Poetry Prize
ABR adds an eleventh issue
Theodore Ell wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Camilla Chaudhary wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


A. Frances Johnson wins the Peter Porter Poetry Prize
Sarah Holland-Batt replaces Colin Golvan QC as Chair
ABR Behrouz Boochani Fellow Hessom Razavi writes about the pandemic
Yves Rees wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Mykaela Saunders wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


Felicity Plunkett becomes the 2019 ABR Patrons’ Fellow
Andy Kissane and Belle Ling share the Peter Porter Poetry Prize.
Grace Karskens wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Sonja Dechian wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


ABR celebrates its fortieth birthday
Beejay Silcox becomes the ABR Fortieth Birthday Fellow
Third ABR Cultural Tour (Germany)
ABR Open Letter in support of the ABC signed by 100 writers/commentators/artists/public figures


Four-year funding from the Australia Council
Four ABR Fellowships
Prominent role in the marriage equality campaign including our Open Letter
Michael Heyward is our first Publisher of the Month


New partnership with Monash University
First ABR cultural tour (USA)
Robyn Archer becomes the second ABR Laureate
States of Poetry is launched


Colin Golvan QC succeeds long-time Chair Morag Fraser
First Film & Television issue


Inaugural Environment issue, with the first ABR Eucalypt Fellowship essay by Danielle Clode
Robert Adamson is the first Poet of the Month
David Malouf is named ABR Laureate


Martin Thomas wins the Calibre Essay Prize for his essay “Because it’s your country”: Bringing Back the Bones to West Arnhem Land’ – our best-read online feature to date
Brian Matthews is our first Critic of the Month
Launch of ABR Arts, formerly Arts Update


ABR moves to Boyd Community Hub in Southbank


ABR Online is launched
Gregory Day and Carrie Tiffany share the renamed ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for their stories 'The Neighbour's Beans' and 'Before He Left the Family'
Patrick Allington is the inaugural ABR Patrons’ Fellow, his Fellowship essay 'What is Australia Anyway?: The Glorious Limitations of the Miles Franklin Literary Award’ appears in the June 2011 issue
Judith Bishop wins the renamed Peter Porter Poetry Prize for her poem 'Openings'


Maria Takolander wins the first ABR Short Story Prize for her story ‘A Roānkin Philosophy of Poetry


Michelle de Kretser is our first subject on Open Page
Mark Gomes becomes the first of many full-time paid interns


Publication of the 300th issue in the second series. The issue includes a birthday feature with an Editorial from Peter Rose and tributes from contributors including Inga Clendinnen, Kerryn Goldsworthy, Richard Walsh, and Clive James.


Elisabeth Holdsworth wins the first Calibre Essay Prize for her essay 'An die nachgeborenen: For those who come after'


Flinders University becomes a sponsor
Stephen Edgar wins the first ABR Poetry Prize for his poem 'Man on the Moon'


Former Editor Kerryn Goldsworthy reflects on the early years of ABR for the 250th issue in the second series


La Trobe University becomes principal sponsor


Peter Rose becomes the sixth Editor
ABR begins publishing new poems
Peter Porter writes at length about Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes


Tributes to Helen Daniel in the November issue
Aviva Tuffield wins the ABR Reviewing Competition


With the closure of the National Book Council,  ABR becomes fully independent
Publication of the 200th issue in the second series
ABR moves to Richmond from Carlton


Helen Daniel becomes the fifth Editor; forum on the Helen Demidenko controversy


David Malouf reviews David Marr’s biography of Patrick White
Robert Dessaix’s influential essay on multiculturalism, ‘Nice Work If You Can Get It’


Rosemary Sorensen becomes the fourth Editor, succeeding Louise Adler


In the 100th issue Manning Clark reviews Kate Grenville’s Joan Makes History


Kerryn Goldsworthy becomes the second Editor


Australian Book Review is revived, with John McLaren as Editor


John Gorton writes about six Australian prime ministers


Australian Book Review is founded in Adelaide by Max Harris and Geoffrey Dutton. This first series, edited by Max Harris and Rosemary Wighton, ran until 1974.