The Calibre Essay Prize

The Calibre Essay Prize is one of the world’s leading prizes for a new essay and it is now worth a total of $7,500. The Calibre Essay Prize, then known as the Calibre Prize for an Outstanding Essay, was first presented in 2007 to Elisabeth Holdsworth for her essay 'An die Nachgeborenen: For Those Who Come After' as part of a joint initiative between ABR and Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund.

Other past winners include Sophie Cunningham, Martin Thomas, and Christine Piper. More information about past winners, and links to their winning essays, can be found here.

We are delighted to announce that Michael Adams has won the 2017 Calibre Essay Prize for his essay 'Salt Blood'.

The judges are Sheila Fitzpatrick, Peter Rose (Editor and CEO), and Geordie Williamson.

Click here for more information about the 2017 Calibre Essay prize judges.

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Calibre Essay Prize.

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Mr Colin Golvan QC.