Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010). The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter’s death. Past winners include Tracy Ryan, Judith Bishop, and Anthony Lawrence.

The 2025 Peter Porter Poetry Prize is now open for entries and will close at midnight on 7 October 2024 AEST. It is the twenty-first Porter Prize.

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Porter Prize.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their poems.

Peter Porter portrait 1

The Peter Porter Poetry is funded by the ABR Patrons, including support in memory of Kate Boyce.