About Australian Book Review (23)

ABR Rising Stars

29 October 2019 Written by Australian Book Review

2020, Vic.

Declan Fry ABR is delighted to name its third Rising Star, Declan Fry. The Rising Stars program is intended to encourage younger writers and critics whose early contributions to ABR have made an impression. We work closely with the Rising Stars, commissioning them often and helping them to enhance their critical work and to advance their careers.

On becoming our latest Rising Star, Declan Fry commented:

We live in a continent rich with stories. Many of these are still being told, and deserve to be widely heard. One of my earliest memories of writing publications was seeing ABR down at the local library. In a difficult environment for the arts, ABR’s support for new and emerging talent is vital. To be able to connect with ABR having never published or worked with literary journals before speaks volumes, especially during the isolation of this pandemic. Opportunities like the Rising Stars initiative are a great privilege – a place to hone your writing practice, and to develop a long-term investment in the work. It gives me a real sense of hope knowing that there is a space for considered, thoughtful analysis. This opportunity would mean nothing without those who have paved the way – our ancestors, Elders, family, mentors, and teachers. They are the original critics and storytellers. We owe them so much. I can’t wait to get started! Much love and stay deadly, ABR.

About Declan Fry

Declan Fry is an essayist, critic, and proud descendant of the Yorta Yorta. Born on Wongatha country in Kalgoorlie, in 2009 he received the Tom Collins Prize in Australian Literature, and, as joint winner, the Todhunter Literary Award in 2013. He currently lives on unceded Wurundjeri and Boon Wurrung land and is a board member of Books ‘n’ Boots, an organisation which distributes football boots and books to remote and regional Aboriginal communities. He first published in ABR in June 2020.

 

Recent writing for ABR:

Review of After Australia edited by Michael Mohammed Ahmad
Review of Fire Front: First Nations poetry and power today edited by Alison Whittaker
Review of Elephants with Headlights by Bem Le Hunte


Previous Rising Stars

 

2019, NSW

Alex Tighe

Alex TigheAlex Tighe is a writer and editor, and the winner of the University of Sydney’s 2018 Wentworth Medal essay prize. He is the ABC / Kidney Health Australia’s inaugural Mark Colvin Scholar. 

Recent writing for ABR:

Review of Stop Being Reasonable by Eleanor Gordon-Smith
Review of Delayed Response by Jason Farman
Review of Net Loss by Sebastian Smee

 

2019, Vic.

Sarah Walker 

Sarah Walker Sarah Walker is a Melbourne-based writer, photographer, and fine artist. In 2017 she won the Sydney Road Writer’s Cup and the Sydney Road Storytelling Prize, and was a runner-up in the Darebin Mayor’s Writing Award. She was runner-up in the 2019 Calibre Essay Prize.  

Recent writing for ABR:

Review of Sky Swimming: Reflection on auto/biography, people and place by Sylvia Martin
'Contested breath: The ethics of assembly in an age of absurdity' by Sarah Walker
2019 Calibre Essay Prize (runner-up): 'Floundering' by Sarah Walker
 

ABR Publishing Profile

04 April 2019 Written by Australian Book Review

Issue #1, June 1978Issue #1, June 1978Australian Book Review is one of the country’s leading cultural magazines. Founded in 1961 in Adelaide and revived in Melbourne in 1978, it is an independent, not-for-profit magazine committed to publishing critical and creative writing of the highest standard. Through its print and digital publishing, website, prizes, fellowships, events, and partnerships, ABR makes a major contribution to Australia’s culture of ideas. 

The magazine publishes in-depth literary and arts reviews as well as new poetry and fiction, essays, commentaries, and interviews. ABR also reviews films, television, music, theatre, opera, dance, festivals, and art exhibitions.

ABR is a strong advocate of proper support and remuneration for freelance reviewers. We pay for everything we publish – print and online – and we pay increasingly well.

ABR is a powerful generator of ideas and creative writing, and a key supporter of fresh talent. Few publications support writers and editors through such varied and lucrative programs.

 

Editors

ABR issue one 1961First issue, 1961 (series one)First Series

1961 to 1974 - Geoffrey Dutton, Max Harris, and Rosemary Wighton

Second series:

1978 to 1986 - John McLaren
1986 to 1987 - Kerryn Goldsworthy
1988 - Louise Adler
1989 to 1995 - Rosemary Sorensen
1995 to 2000 - Helen Daniel
2001 to present day - Peter Rose

 

Find out more about ABR Staff, the ABR Board and Editorial Advisory Board, the ABR Laureates, and contributors to the first and second series. A timeline of major events from ABR’s history can be found here and our annual reviews can be found here.

 

ABR Print Publishing

ABR publishes reviews, commentaries, interviews, essays, surveys, and creative writing. In general ABR publishes approximately 500 features in print each year by 300 contributors. Roughly 90 or 100 of these contributors will be new to the magazine. ABR is open to approaches from new contributors and you can find out more here. ABR publishes an annual index of our print content here (from 2017 we have also indexed our digital content). 

 

ABR Print Edition Statistics and Gender Breakdown 

Below is a gender breakdown from the print edition between 2014 and 2019. (NB this table only includes information about items published in the print edition. It does not include our wider digital content.)  

Year

Features published in the print edition

Percentage of those features written by men

Percentage of those features written by women

Number of new contributors

2014

457

56%

44%

91

2015

536

60%

40%

103

2016

501

61%

39%

74

2017

501

57%

43%

88

2018

530

54%

46%

93

2019

485

52%

48%

83

 

Interviews

We have published 124 interviews with a wide range of authors, critics, poets, and publishers including Tim Winton, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Geraldine Brooks, Hazel Rowley, Carmen Callil, and Sheila Fitzpatrick

 

Surveys

ABR regularly publishes surveys of groups of critics, publishers, and commentators on a range of subjects including the following: Books of the Year, Arts Highlights of the Year, and Publisher Picks

 

The ABR Favourite Australian Novel polls

Back in 2009, when we sought readers’ nominations for the ABR Favourite Australian Novel (any era, any genre), we anticipated goodly interest, ABR readers being a passionate and well-read bunch. But we hadn’t expected to be inundated with quite so many faxes and emails. In the end we received thousands of votes for some 290 Australian novels. Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet, a perennial favourite since its publication in 1991, was the overwhelming favourite – by a margin of three to one to its nearest rival, Henry Handel Richardson’s The Fortunes of Richard Mahony, which was closely followed by Patrick White’s Voss and Winton’s most recent novel, Breath. Particularly heartening was the large number of nineteenth-century novels and those published before the remarkable expansion of fiction publishing in the last quarter of the twentieth century. The following feature, which appeared in the February 2010 issue, lists the top twenty Favourite Australian Novels. 

In 2019 we asked readers to nominate their Favourite Australian Novel published since 2000.

 

Advocacy and engagement

ABR, though not politically aligned, is an engaged and responsive magazine. From time to time, we publish open letters on key social or political questions. These include an Open Letter on Marriage Equality and an Open Letter on the importance of saving the ABC. 

 

ABR Online Exclusives

Not all ABR’s publishing appears in the print magazine. We publish a wide range of online exclusives and previews including book and arts reviews, creative writing, essays and interviews, and podcasts. These appear online in ABR Arts, States of Poetry, Reading Australia, ABR Fiction, Book Talk, and ABR Online Exclusives.

 

Reading Australia

ABR commissioned and published twenty-six essays on major Australian writers as part of the Australia Council’s Reading Australia project. These essays are all available open access online.

 

States of Poetry

Between 2016 and 2018 ABR published nearly four hundred poems by eighty poets as part of States of Poetry, a federally arranged poetry anthology supported by Copyright Agency Limited that also included podcasts. Anthologies were published by poets from New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania, Queensland and the ACT. These anthologies are all open access. The poets and state editors are listed below.

  

Prizes and Programs

ABR presents three prestigious international literary prizes (for poetry, essays and short stories), a vibrant Fellowship program, and a prestigious Laureate’s program. We also offer regular paid Editorial Internships.

 

Laureates

To recognise the work of distinguished Australian artists, ABR has to date named two ABR Laureates.

  • David Malouf (2014)
  • Robyn Archer (2016)

 

Fellows

Since 2011 ABR has awarded twenty-one Fellowships to twelve women and nine men. The Fellows are listed below under the year of publication. Find out more about the Published and current Fellows and read their essays.

 

ABR Editorial Internships

Since 2009 ABR has awarded eight paid Editorial Internships as part of our highly successful program. The current ABR Editorial Intern is Jack Callil. Find out more about past Editorial Interns.

 

ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

Since 2010 ABR has awarded the Jolley Prize to eleven writers (the prize was shared in 2011). Thirty-five writers have been shortlisted for the prize. As with all our prizes the Jolley Prize is judged blind. Since 2010 ABR has shortlisted twenty-seven women and eight men. Since the prize was internationalised in 2014 we have shortlisted six writers from overseas. The winners and shortlisted authors are listed below. Find out more about the past winners of the Jolley Prize and read their stories via our Past Winners page.

 

Calibre Essay Prize

Since 2007 ABR has awarded the Calibre Essay Prize to seventeen writers (the prize was shared in 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011). Calibre was internationalised in 2015 and as with all our prizes it is judged blind. Since 2010 the Calibre Prize has been won by nine men and eight women. The winning authors are listed below. In 2017 ABR introduced a second prize and this has been won by two women and one man. Find out more about the past winners of the Calibre Prize via our Past Winners page

 

Peter Porter Poetry Prize

Since 2005 ABR has awarded the Peter Porter Poetry Prize to nineteen writers (the prize was shared in 2011, 2017, and 2019). Eighty-six poems have been shortlisted for the prize. As with all our prizes the Porter Prize is judged blind. Since 2010 ABR has shortlisted forty-five poems by men and forty-one poems by women. Since the prize was internationalised in 2014 we have shortlisted six writers from overseas. The winners and shortlisted authors are listed below. Find out more about the past winners of the Porter Prize and read their poems via our Past Winners page.

 

From Prize to Publication

Many past ABR prize shortlisted entrants have gone on to publish full-length works (novels, short story collections, films etc) based on, or including, their shortlisted or winning works. We have listed some of these below.

 


Editorial note

The statistics listed above are correct as at January 2020. The information on this page will continue to be updated and expanded over time.

ABR Photos

06 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

The following photos record key events, prizes, ceremonies, tours, and personalities since 2001. Australian Book Review holds copyright in all these photos but no permission is required to reproduce them. We seek acknowledgment that Australian Book Review is the copyright holder. For higher resolution versions of the images, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

 

 

A. Frances Johnson wins the 2020 Peter Porter Poetry Prize (photograph by David Johns)A. Frances Johnson wins the 2020 Peter Porter Poetry Prize (photograph by David Johns)

Peter Rose interviews ABR Laureate David Malouf  in Adelaide, 2019Peter Rose interviews ABR Laureate David Malouf in Adelaide, 2019

Lisa Gorton speaks at an ABR function, 2019Lisa Gorton speaks at an ABR function, 2019

Billy Griffiths speaks at an ABR function, 2019Billy Griffiths speaks at an ABR function, 2019

(L-R): Peter Rose with Rae Frances (centre) and Calibre Essay Prize winners David Hansen and Grace Karskens, August 2019(L-R): Peter Rose with Rae Frances (centre) and Calibre Essay Prize winners David Hansen and Grace Karskens, August 2019

Helen Daniel (Editor of ABR 1995–2000) with Robert Dessaix, a contributor since 1981Helen Daniel (Editor of ABR 1995–2000) with Robert Dessaix, a contributor since 1981

Judge Maxine Beneba Clarke and Jolley Prize winner Sonja Dechian at the 2019 Jolley Prize ceremony (photograph by Daniel O'Brien)Judge Maxine Beneba Clarke and Jolley Prize winner Sonja Dechian at the 2019 Jolley Prize ceremony (photograph by Daniel O'Brien)

2019 Jolley Prize shortlist (L-R): Morgan Nunan, Sonja Dechian, Raaza Jamshed (photograph by Daniel O'Brien)2019 Jolley Prize shortlist (L-R): Morgan Nunan, Sonja Dechian, Raaza Jamshed (photograph by Daniel O'Brien)

Peter Rose interviews George Megalogenis at Clunes Booktown Festival, 2019Peter Rose interviews George Megalogenis at Clunes Booktown Festival, 2019


The 2019 Porter Prize shortlist: Ross Gillett, Mark Tredinnick, Belle Ling, Andy Kissane, and John FoulcherThe 2019 Porter Prize shortlist: Ross Gillett, Mark Tredinnick, Belle Ling, Andy Kissane, and John Foulcher


Porter two winnersThe 2019 Porter Prize joint winners: Belle Ling and Andy Kissane


ABR Fellow Beejay Silcox in Cairo, Egypt (November, 2018)ABR Fellow Beejay Silcox in Cairo, Egypt (November, 2018)


John Hawke Morag Fraser Nicholas Wong Peter Rose Porter Prize event 2018John Hawke Morag Fraser Nicholas Wong Peter Rose Porter Prize event 2018


Peter Rose and Sarah Holland Batt at Writers Week 2018Peter Rose and Sarah Holland Batt at Writers Week 2018 


Peter Rose and Pam Brown at Writers Week 2018Peter Rose and Pam Brown at Writers Week 2018


Porter Prize 2017Porter Prize 2017


2017 UK tour CJM at the Wallace CollectionChristopher Menz leads the 2017 ABR UK tour.


Michael Adams and Darius Sepehri at Calibre Essay Prize event 2017Michael Adams and Darius Sepehri at Calibre Essay Prize event 2017


2017 States of Poetry Tasmania2017 States of Poetry Tasmania


Peter Rose and Robert Silvers at NYRB 2016Peter Rose and Robert Silvers at NYRB 2016


ABR Jolley ALABJRMBCID


ABR US cultural tour at the Clark Institute 2016ABR US cultural tour at the Clark Institute 2016


Geraldine Brooks Ambassador Caroline Millar Anna Funder ABR US tour 2016Geraldine Brooks Ambassador Caroline Millar Anna Funder ABR US tour 2016


ABR US tour at Concord 2016ABR US tour at Concord 2016


ABR team with Rae Frances at Monash launch 2ABR team with Rae Frances at Monash launch 2


Robyn Archer launches the Arts issue 2016Robyn Archer launches the Arts issue 2016


2016 Porter Prize Amanda Joy2016 Porter Prize Amanda Joy


ABR Patrons Annual Lecture with Kim Williams 2016ABR Patrons Annual Lecture with Kim Williams 2016


ABR Patrons Annual Lecture 2016 Kim WilliamsABR Patrons Annual Lecture 2016 Kim Williams


Ashley Hay 2015Ashley Hay visits the ABR office in 2015


2015 Birth of the ABR PodcastABR Deputy Editor Amy Baillieu edits the first ABR Podcast in 2015.


Jonathan Galassi and Peter Rose at the 2015 Brisbane Writers' FestivalJonathan Galassi and Peter Rose at the 2015 Brisbane Writers' Festival


Calibre Essay prize winner Christine Piper signs the guestbook at Boyd YEAR2014 Calibre Essay Prize winner Christine Piper signs the guestbook at ABR.


2014 ABR Patrons' Fellow Shannon Burns2014 ABR Patrons' Fellow Shannon Burns


ABR Eucalypt Australia (formerly known as the Dahl Trust) Fellow Danielle Clode at the launch of the Environment issue, 2014ABR Eucalypt Australia (formerly known as the Dahl Trust) Fellow Danielle Clode at the launch of the Environment issue, 2014


ABR Laureate David Malouf speaks at an ABR event, 2014ABR Laureate David Malouf speaks at an ABR event, 2014


Morag Fraser speaks at an ABR event, 2014Morag Fraser speaks at an ABR event, 2014


Jennifer Down wins the 2014 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story PrizeJennifer Down wins the 2014 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


Andy Griffiths and Gerald Murnane at an event at Boyd, 2013Andy Griffiths and Gerald Murnane at an event at Boyd, 2013


Lisa Gorton and Ian Donaldon speak at the first Fireside Chat at Boyd, 2012Lisa Gorton and Ian Donaldon speak at the first Fireside Chat at Boyd, 2012


Peter Rose, Morag Fraser, and Rodney Hall at opening of Boyd in 2012Peter Rose, Morag Fraser, and Rodney Hall at opening of Boyd in 2012


ABR moved to Boyd Community Hub in Southbank in 2012ABR moved to Boyd Community Hub in Southbank in 2012


Ian Dickson, Carrie Tiffany, and Gregory Day at the 2011 Jolley Prize ceremonyIan Dickson, Carrie Tiffany, and Gregory Day at the 2011 Jolley Prize ceremony


Ian Donaldson gives the ABR Fiftieth Birthday Lecture at the National Library of Australia in 2011Ian Donaldson gives the ABR Fiftieth Birthday Lecture at the National Library of Australia in 2011


The 2003 National Biography Award was shared by Don Watson and Peter RoseThe 2003 National Biography Award was shared by Don Watson and Peter Rose


Peter Rose and Peter Porter 2002Peter Rose and Peter Porter 2002


Current Editor and CEO of Australian Book Review, Peter RoseCurrent Editor and CEO of Australian Book Review, Peter Rose


Peter Rose and Terry Cutler at the launch of the 2001 Summer issuePeter Rose and Terry Cutler at the launch of the 2001 Summer issue

Media releases

03 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

2020

August 2020

pdfAugust issue

pdfGeorgina Arnott on legacies of British slavery

pdfKieran Pender on law's #MeToo moment

pdfJames Ley on the federal government's attitude towards the arts, the ABC and the humanities

pdfDeclan Fry is ABR's third Rising Star

June 2020

pdfJune issue

pdfYves Rees wins the 2020 Calibre Essay Prize

pdfSarah Walker on losing a parent during the pandemic

May 2020

pdfMay Issue

pdfPoetry for troubled times

pdfHessom Razavi - Notes from a pandemic

April 2020

pdfSarah Holland-Batt appointed Chair of Australian Book Review

pdfJenny Hocking on the Palace Letters

March 2020

pdfMessage to Publishers from Australian Book Review

pdfMarch issue

January 2020

pdfPorter Prize winner announced

pdfJanuary-February issue

 

2019

December 2019

pdfDecember issue

November 2019

pdfNovember issue

October 2019

pdfOctober issue

pdfKieran Pender on the war on journalists and whistleblowers

September 2019

pdfSeptember issue

pdfABR announces winner of the 2019 Jolley Prize

August 2019

pdfAugust issue

June 2019

pdfJune-July issue

May 2019

pdfMay issue

pdfFelicity Plunkett available for interview - Nick Cave

April 2019

pdfApril issue

pdfKieran Pender available for interview - Moneyland

pdfDaniel Halliday available for interview - Tax Justice

pdfPeter Rose available for interview - Nam Le On David Malouf

March 2019

pdf March issue

pdfAnnouncing the Porter Prize winner

pdfBarney Zwartz available for interview - The Vatican

pdfAlicia Simmonds available for interview - Married At First Sight

February 2019

pdf Announcing the 2019 ABR Patrons' Fellow

pdfAnnouncing the Peter Porter Poetry Prize shortlist

pdfDominic Kelly available for interview - Trouble at MUP

January 2019

pdfJanuary-February issue

2018

December 2018

pdfABR December issue

November 2018

pdfJoy Damousi and academics respond to ARC controversy

pdfBeejay Silcox on the rise of Misery Literature

pdfABR November issue

October 2018

pdfABR October issue 

pdfLouise Adler available for interview - Benjamin Netanyahu

September 2018

pdfABR September issue

August 2018

pdfABR announces the winner of the 2018 Jolley Prize

pdfBeejay Silcox on MFA programs

pdfABR August Fiction issue

July 2018

pdfShortlist announced for the ABR 2018 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

pdfABR's Open Letter on the ABC

June 2018

pdfABR July Film and Television issue

pdfJames McNamara, guest editor of the JuneJuly Film and Television issue, available for interview

pdfFelicity Chaplin available for interview – the #MeToo movement in Hollywood

pdfSally Grant available for interview – The book and film adaptation of The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie

pdfDilan Gunawardana available for interview – On Black Panther

May 2018

pdfMay issue

pdfKirsten Tranter available for interview – 2018 Calibre Essay Prize (runner-up): 'Once Again: Outside in the House of Art'

pdfAlan Atkinson available for interview – The Bible in Australia: A cultural history by Meredith Lake

April 2018

pdfApril issue

pdfKirsten Tranter available for interview

March 2018

pdfMarch issue

pdfAustralian Book Review turns forty

pdfBeejay Silcox on Australian magazine culture

pdfLucas Grainger-Brown wins the 2018 Calibre Essay Prize

pdfNicholas Wong wins the 2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize

February 2018

pdfABR's Fortieth Birthday Fellow

pdf2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize shortlist

pdfThe ABR Film Survey

pdfDavid Brophy on Clive Hamilton's

pdfPaul Collins available for interview

pdfGideon Haigh available for interview

January 2018

pdfJanuary-February issue

pdf Publisher Picks

pdfMichael Winkler available for interview

Media Contact

03 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

For all media enquiries please contact Peter Rose: (03) 9699 8822 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For arts companies, galleries, and film distributors

03 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

How do arts companies have their productions reviewed in ABR?

ABR publishes timely, extended, knowledgeable reviews of plays, operas, films, concerts of all sorts, dance, festivals and art exhibitions - most of them in Australia, with some from overseas. All reviews appear open-access at ABR Arts. Some later appear in the print edition.

If you would like a production from your company to be considered for review in ABR Arts, please send the relevant information by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Due to the volume of submissions and our small staff, we cannot guarantee a review and nor do we contact you personally to advise on the commissioning status. If a review is commissioned, a link to the review will be sent to you upon publication.

For publishers

03 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

Message for publishers regarding Covid-19

At this exacting time, Australian Book Review is more resolute and adaptive than ever.

As a former publisher and bookshop manager and as an author myself, I am acutely aware of the difficulties facing Australian authors and publishers with new books but no access to traditional events, festivals, and launches. ABR is determined to go on providing Australian readers with good literary journalism – ever more important in these cloistered times. Most importantly, we are intent on supporting our writers, especially freelance reviewers. Accordingly, we are accelerating our commissioning and our digital programs.

ABR will do everything in its power to support the sector. Our new website, our digital edition, and our podcast equip us well to reach readers. We are actively commissioning future issues and much online content.

I welcome ideas from publishers for podcast features or for commentaries that might appear online in our Book Talk column or in the magazine. Contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

                                                                                                                                                Peter Rose, Editor and CEO 

 

Review copies

Please go on sending books to ABR:

Australian Book Review
Studio 2, 207 City Road
Southbank, VIC 3006

We may ask you for PDFs of certain titles that are especially time-sensitive or that are destined for reviewers in distant locations. Publishers no longer sending printed books or who wish to send digital review copies on spec should email:

Peter Rose (non-fiction and poetry) | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Amy Baillieu (fiction) | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Advertising

Inexpensive digital advertising options are available – for the website, the podcast, and the several EDMs we send out each week. Please visit our website for more information or contact Amy Baillieu: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Book Talk, Podcasts and Interviews

Popular highlights of the magazine include our Book Talk series, our regular interviews (Poet of the Month, Publisher of the Month, and Open Page) and our new ABR Podcast series. While we commission most of this content, we are very open to pitches from publishers.

 

How do publishers have their books reviewed in ABR?

We encourage publishers of all genres to make submissions for review in the magazine.

If you would like a book from your publishing house or independent press to be considered for review, please fill out the form below and send it with a copy of the book to the ABR postal address. Due to the volume of submissions and our small staff, we cannot guarantee a review and nor do we contact you personally to advise on the commissioning status. If a review is commissioned, a PDF of the review will be sent to you upon publication.

• Review submission form

About Australian Book Review

03 April 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

Australian Book Review (ABR), one of Australia’s major cultural magazines, presents high-quality journalism and new writing for the widest possible audience. It engages with all the arts, not just literature. It is diverse in terms of content, writers, and partners. It provides a needed forum for new Australian writers and reviewers, and it is committed to raising the standard of arts criticism in Australia.

ABR is an independent, not-for-profit monthly magazine, governed by an independent Board, managed by a small, skilled editorial and management team, and committed to the publication and promotion of creative and critical writing of the highest standard.

Created in 1961, it lapsed in 1974 and was revived in 1978.

Peter Rose is the Editor; and Sarah Holland-Batt is Chairperson of the Board.

ABR publishes reviews, essays, commentaries, interviews and new creative writing. The magazine is national in readership, authorship, distribution, events and partners. It is available in print and online.

Through ABR Arts, ABR engages with all the arts and publishes timely, extended reviews of new films, plays, operas, concerts, dance, festivals, and art exhibitions.

ABR’s diverse programs include three prestigious international prizes, writers’ fellowships worth as much as $10,000, themed issues, national events, cultural tours, and paid editorial internships.

ABR is committed to highlighting the strengths of critical and creative writing around Australia and presenting them to an international audience. We pay for everything we publish – print and online – and our rates have almost trebled in recent years.

ABR is a bona fide Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR). All donations of $2 or more are tax deductible. We have a successful philanthropy program which has helped to transform this magazine in recent years. Our many Patrons are listed elsewhere on the website.

ABR Timeline - Highlights

29 March 2018 Written by Australian Book Review

1961

Australian Book Review is founded in Adelaide by Max Harris and Geoffrey Dutton. This first series, edited by Max Harris and Rosemary Wighton, ran until 1974.

1978

Australian Book Review is revived, with John McLaren as Editor

1982

John Gorton writes about six Australian prime ministers

1986

Kerryn Goldsworthy becomes the second Editor

1988

In the 100th issue Manning Clark reviews Kate Grenville’s Joan Makes History

1989

Rosemary Sorensen becomes the fourth Editor, succeeding Louise Adler

1991

David Malouf reviews David Marr’s biography of Patrick White
Robert Dessaix’s influential essay on multiculturalism, ‘Nice Work If You Can Get It’

1995

Helen Daniel becomes the fifth Editor; forum on the Helen Demidenko controversy

1998

With the closure of the National Book Council,  ABR becomes fully independent
Publication of the 200th issue in the second series
ABR moves to Richmond from Carlton

2000

Tributes to Helen Daniel in the November issue
Aviva Tuffield wins the ABR Reviewing Competition

2001

Peter Rose becomes the sixth Editor
ABR begins publishing new poems
Peter Porter writes at length about Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes

2002

La Trobe University becomes principal sponsor

2003

Former Editor Kerryn Goldsworthy reflects on the early years of ABR for the 250th issue in the second series

2005

Flinders University becomes a sponsor
Stephen Edgar wins the first ABR Poetry Prize for his poem 'Man on the Moon'

2007

Elisabeth Holdsworth wins the first Calibre Essay Prize for her essay 'An die nachgeborenen: For those who come after'

2008

Publication of the 300th issue in the second series. The issue includes a birthday feature with an Editorial from Peter Rose and tributes from contributors including Inga Clendinnen, Kerryn Goldsworthy, Richard Walsh, and Clive James.

2009

Michelle de Kretser is our first subject on Open Page
Mark Gomes becomes the first of many full-time paid interns

2010

Maria Takolander wins the first ABR Short Story Prize for her story ‘A Roānkin Philosophy of Poetry

2011

ABR Online is launched
Gregory Day and Carrie Tiffany share the renamed ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for their stories 'The Neighbour's Beans' and 'Before He Left the Family'
Patrick Allington is the inaugural ABR Patrons’ Fellow, his Fellowship essay 'What is Australia Anyway?: The Glorious Limitations of the Miles Franklin Literary Award’ appears in the June 2011 issue
Judith Bishop wins the renamed Peter Porter Poetry Prize for her poem 'Openings'

2012

ABR moves to Boyd Community Hub in Southbank

2013

Martin Thomas wins the Calibre Essay Prize for his essay “Because it’s your country”: Bringing Back the Bones to West Arnhem Land’ – our best-read online feature to date
Brian Matthews is our first Critic of the Month
Launch of ABR Arts, formerly Arts Update

2014

Inaugural Environment issue, with the first ABR Eucalypt Fellowship essay by Danielle Clode
Robert Adamson is the first Poet of the Month
David Malouf is named ABR Laureate

2015

Colin Golvan QC succeeds long-time Chair Morag Fraser
First Film & Television issue

2016

New partnership with Monash University
First ABR cultural tour (USA)
Robyn Archer becomes the second ABR Laureate
States of Poetry is launched

2017

Four-year funding from the Australia Council
Four ABR Fellowships
Prominent role in the marriage equality campaign including our Open Letter
Michael Heyward is our first Publisher of the Month

2018

ABR celebrates its fortieth birthday
Beejay Silcox becomes the ABR Fortieth Birthday Fellow
ABR again increases payments to writers
Third ABR Cultural Tour (Germany)
ABR Open Letter in support of the ABC signed by 100 writers/commentators/artists/public figures

2019

Felicity Plunkett becomes the 2019 ABR Patrons’ Fellow
Andy Kissane and Belle Ling share the Peter Porter Poetry Prize.
Grace Karskens wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Sonja Dechian wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

2020

A. Frances Johnson wins Peter Porter Poetry Prize
Sarah Holland-Batt replaces Colin Golvan QC as Chair
ABR Behrouz Boochani Fellow Hessom Razavi writes about the pandemic
Yves Rees wins the Calibre Essay Prize
Mykaela Saunders wins the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

Support ABR

16 March 2017 Written by Australian Book Review

Support the magazine that supports Australian writers!

ABR champions literature and the arts at a time when many writers’ and artists’ earnings are low. Our support for writers and reviewers takes many forms: increased payments, scrupulous editing, public advocacy, talks and workshops, and exposure to our international audience.

ABR seeks donations to further increase payments to writers, to expand our programs, and to foster brilliant new writing. Your donation – large or small – will help Australian writers.

ABR is an independent not-for-profit organisation fully dependent on money raised from subscribers, donors, foundations, government, and advertising. ABR is a bona-fide Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR). All donations of $2 or more are tax deductible and are much appreciated. Private support is essential for the continued growth of ABR

What do donations support?

Better payments for writers
Three annual literary prizes
Literary fellowships
Fiction and poetry in the magazine
Discounted subscriptions for young readers
National arts coverage through ABR Arts

To donate to ABR, click here.

To find out more about the ABR Patrons Program, click here.

To subscribe to ABR, click here.

Page 1 of 2