About Australian Book Review (23)

Patrons

11 July 2013 Written by Amy Baillieu

ABR gratefully acknowledges the support of its Patrons  

Generous donations from Patrons have transformed Australian Book Review in recent years, with major benefits for Australian writers and readers. These donations have enabled us to expand our programs, to diversify the magazine, and to be more ambitious and outward-looking. Most importantly, we have increased our payments to contributors at a time when paid freelance opportunities are relatively few. Our three literary prizes, our Fellowship program, and ABR Arts are only possible because of cultural philanthropy. With support from Patrons we look forward to preserving and improving the magazine for another forty years. In recognition of our Patrons’ continuing generosity, ABR records multiple donations cumulatively.

Parnassian ($100,000 or more)

Ian Dickson

Acmeist ($75,000 to $99,999)

 

Olympian ($50,000 to $74,999)

Morag Fraser AM
Colin Golvan AM QC
Maria Myers AC
Anonymous (1)

 

Augustan ($25,000 to $49,999)

Anita Apsitis and Graham Anderson
Dr Steve and Mrs TJ Christie
Peter Corrigan AM (1941–2016)
Peter McLennan and Mary-Ruth Sindrey
Pauline Menz
Ruth and Ralph Renard
Kim Williams AM
Anonymous (1)

Imagist ($15,000 to $24,999)

Emeritus Professor David Carment AM
Professor Glyn Davis AC and Professor Margaret Gardner AC
Lady Potter AC CMRI
Anonymous (1)

Vorticist ($10,000 to $14,999)

Peter Allan
Helen Brack
Professor Ian Donaldson and Dr Grazia Gunn
Emeritus Professor Anne Edwards AO
Peter McMullin
Allan Murray-Jones
Professor Colin and Ms Carol Nettelbeck
Margaret Plant
David Poulton
Peter Rose and Christopher Menz
John Scully
Emeritus Professor Andrew Taylor AM
Anonymous (1)

Futurist ($5,000 to $9,999)

Geoffrey Applegate OBE and Sue Glenton
Gillian Appleton
Professor The Hon. Kevin Bell AM QC and Tricia Byrnes
Dr Neal Blewett AC
John Button (1932–2008)
Des Cowley
Professor The Hon. Gareth Evans AC QC
Helen Garner
Cathrine Harboe-Ree
Professor Margaret Harris
The Hon. Peter Heerey AM QC
Dr Alastair Jackson AM
Neil Kaplan CBE QC and Su Lesser
Dr Susan Lever
Susan Nathan
Professor John Rickard
Ilana Snyder and Ray Snyder AM
Noel Turnbull
Mary Vallentine AO
Susan Varga and Anne Coombs
Bret Walker SC
Nicola Wass
Ruth Wisniac OAM and Dr John Miller AO
Anonymous (1)

Modernist ($2,500 to $4,999)

Jan Aitken
Helen Angus
Kate Baillieu
Professor Frank Bongiorno AM
John Bryson AM
Professor Jan Carter AM
Donna Curran and Patrick McCaughey
Emeritus Professor Helen Ennis
Reuben Goldsworthy
Dr Joan Grant
Tom Griffiths 
Mary Hoban
Claudia Hyles OAM
Dr Kerry James
Dr Barbara Kamler
Linsay and John Knight
Professor John Langmore AM
Geoffrey Lehmann and Gail Pearson
Dr Stephen McNamara
Don Meadows
Stephen Newton AO
Jillian Pappas
Dr Trish Richardson and Andy Lloyd James
Dr Jennifer Strauss AM
Robert Session AM
Lisa Turner
Dr Barbara Wall
Jacki Weaver AO
Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby AM
Lyn Williams AM
Anonymous (5)

Romantic ($1,000 to $2,499)

Nicole Abadee and Rob Macfarlan
Samuel Allen and Beejay Silcox
Professor Dennis Altman AM
Australian Communities Foundation (JRA Support Fund)
Judith Bishop and Petr Kuzmin
John Bugg
Jean Dunn
Johanna Featherstone
Professor Sheila Fitzpatrick
Roslyn Follett
Professor Paul Giles
Professor Russell Goulbourne
Professor Nick Haslam
Dr Michael Henry AM
Associate Professor Sarah Holland-Batt
Professor Grace Karskens
Pamela McLure
Muriel Mathers
Rod Morrison
Angela Nordlinger
Professor Michael L. Ondaatje
Diana and Helen O'Neil
Judith Pini (honouring Agnes Helen Pini, 1939-2016)
Estate of Dorothy Porter
Mark Powell
Emeritus Professor Roger Rees
Professor David Rolph
Dr Della Rowley (in memory of Hazel Rowley, 1951–2011)
Professor Lynette Russell AM
Emerita Professor Susan Sheridan and Emerita Professor Susan Magarey AM
Michael Shmith
Professor Janna Thompson
Natalie Warren
Ursula Whiteside
Kyle Wilson
Anonymous (7)

Symbolist ($500 to $999)

Damian and Sandra Abrahams
Professor Michael Adams
Lyle Allan
Paul Anderson
Dr Georgina Arnott
Douglas Batten
Professor Nicholas Brown
Donata Carrazza
Blanche Clark
Alex Cothren
Robyn Dalton
Jason Drewe
Allan Driver
Dr Peter Goldsworthy AM
Steve Gome
Anne Grindrod
Dilan Gunawardana
Dr Benjamin Huf
Professor Ronan McDonald
Dr Brian McFarlane OAM
Emeritus Professor Peter McPhee AM
Peter Mares
Felicity St John Moore
Patricia Nethery
Professor Anne Pender
J.W. de B. Persse
Emeritus Professor Wilfrid Prest
Dr Jan Richardson
Libby Robin
Stephen Robinson
Francesca Jurate Sasnaitis
Peter Stanford
Dr Josephine Taylor
Emeritus Professor Ian Tyrrell
Dr Helen Tyzack
Emeritus Professor James Walter
Professor Jen Webb
Professor Rita Wilson
Dr Diana and Mr John Wyndham
Anonymous (2)

Realist ($250 to $499)

Jean Bloomfield
Philip Brown and Penny Adams
Andrew Freeman FACS
Dr Anna Goldsworthy
Associate Professor Michael Halliwell
Robyn Hewitt
Barbara Hoad
Penelope Johns
Margaret Robson Kett
Robyn Lansdowne
Michael Macgeorge
Dr Lyndon Megarrity
Emeritus Professor Michael Morley
Dr Lucy Neave
Penelope Nelson
Gillian Pauli
Lesley Perkins
Ann Marie Ritchie
Margaret Smith
Anonymous (2)

ABR Bequest Program

Gillian Appleton
Ian Dickson
John Button
Peter Corrigan AM
Dr Kerryn Goldsworthy
Peter Rose
Francesca Jurate Sasnaitis
Anonymous (3)

Advertising with us

15 February 2013 Written by Australian Book Review

Advertising in Australian Book Review is the perfect way for you to promote your books, festivals, performances, exhibitions, events and other products to our discerning, affluent, arts-loving, book-buying readers.

There has never been a better time to advertise with Australian Book Review. Thanks to our suite of highly regarded prizes and programs, our vibrant events program, our popular new website and elegant online edition, and our themed issues, our profile has never been higher. Our circulation and readership are steadily growing.

Media Kit

For rates, specifications, and more about our readers, download our pdfABR Media Kit

For all advertising enquiries, please contact:

Amy Baillieu, Deputy Editor
(03) 9699 8822
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Jack Callil, Digital Editor
(03) 9699 8822
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Terms and Conditions

Australian Book Review reserves the right to refuse or withdraw from publication any advertising at any time that, in the opinion of Australian Book Review, is illegal, defamatory, offensive, obscene and/or contrary to the business interest, goodwill and/or reputation of Australian Book Review. No responsibility will be taken for delayed publication due to outside factors, such as printing or shipping. Cancellations must be made by the booking date of the month prior to publication; bookings cancelled after this date will be charged the full advertising fee. Payment for bookings is strictly 30 days net, unless otherwise arranged with ABR.

Support Us

18 February 2013 Written by Nathan Morrow
Content to come

Will Power

08 July 2010 Written by Amy Baillieu

Australian Book Review (founded in 1961) was revived in 1978. In 2018 we celebrated the fortieth birthday of the second series – a milestone for any literary magazine. No other magazine covers Australian writing in such detail. We want ABR to thrive for the next forty years – and beyond.

You can help to entertain and edify generations of new readers. Have you considered making a gift in your will to ABR? What better way is there to make a long-term contribution to our literary culture? Bequests help us to offer literary prizes, to commission more new writing and literary journalism, to fund  literary fellowships, to increase payments to writers, and to broaden our internship program for bright young writers and editors.

If you would like to discuss making a gift in your will to ABR please contact the Editor, Peter Rose: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or telephone (03) 9699 8822.

Board

06 April 2010 Written by Amy Baillieu

Chairperson

Sarah Holland BattSarah Holland-Batt is Chair of ABR. Sarah, who joined the Board in 2017, is the first Queenslander to hold this position – and our youngest Chair to date. Her most recent book of poems is The Hazards (UQP, 2015), which received the 2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry. She is the recipient of a Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship, fellowships at MacDowell and Yaddo colonies in the United States, and an Australia Council Literature Residency at the B.R. Whiting Studio Library in Rome, among other honours. She presently works as an Associate Professor in the Creative Industries Faculty at QUT.

Deputy Chair

Ian Dickson

Treasurer

Peter McLennan

Board Members

Graham Anderson
Professor Rae Frances AM
Colin Golvan AM QC
Dr Billy Griffiths
Professor Vanessa Lemm
Professor Sharon Pickering
Robert Sessions AM 
Professor Ilana Snyder

Editorial Advisers

Frank Bongiorno
Dr Danielle Clode
Dr Clare Corbould
Des Cowley
Professor Mark Edele
Dr Kári Gíslason
Professor Tom Griffiths AO
Professor Sue Kossew
Johanna Leggatt
Dr Bruce Moore
Dr Rachel Robertson
Professor Lynette Russell
Alison Stieven-Taylor
Professor Alistair Thomson
Dr Peter Tregear
Dr Ben Wellings
Professor Rita Wilson

For writers

23 January 2010 Written by Australian Book Review

Contact

Peter Rose, Editor of ABR: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Please read all information below before getting in touch.

 

Is ABR open to new writers?

Australian Book Review has a proud history of publishing new and younger writers and critics. Each year we publish around 300 writers/critics. Of them, usually 80–100 are completely new to the magazine – a measure of our openness to new voices and talent.

If you want to write for ABR, please read this pdfAdvice for New Reviewers in which Peter Rose, our Editor, summarises what we look for in reviewers and describes how best to approach the magazine for work. This is intended to be a practical and encouraging document.

In a separate document – pdfAdvice for ABR Contributors – Peter Rose sets out what we offer contributors and what we need from them.

Before you approach ABR, get to know the magazine. Find out if its style and content suit your work. If you don't subscribe, buy a few issues or think about subscribing. In our new contributors we look for many things – wide reading, excellent grammar, punctuality, professionalism – but we are also looking for people with a real understanding of our style, our direction, and our content.

 

Is ABR Arts looking for new contributors?

ABR Arts covers all the arts – film, theatre, music, dance, art exhibitions, festivals, etc. We pay for everything we publish, and we are publicly committed to increasing our rates when we can. All reviews appear promptly online; some later appear in the print edition.

ABR is always looking for discerning critics and arts journalists. This document – pdfAdvice for new ABR Arts contributors – sets out what we offer our journalists, how we work with them, and what we require from them in return.

We welcome expressions of interest from arts journalists.

 

Does ABR pay its writers?

ABR pays for everything it publishes – print or online. ABR is a proud advocate for young writers and a keen defender of critical standards.

 

Does ABR accept poetry submissions?

ABR is not currently accepting poetry submissions. 

The next Peter Porter Poetry Prize (worth a total of $10,000) will open in July 2020. 

 

Does ABR accept short story submissions?

ABR is not currently accepting submissions of non-Jolley short stories.

The ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize (worth a total of $12,500) will open again in early 2021.

ABR Patrons Program

23 September 2009 Written by Hidden Author

The ABR Patrons Program has transformed the magazine and greatly benefited Australian writers and freelance writers. At a time of real financial difficulty for many writers and diminishing paid freelance work elsewhere, our generous Patrons have enabled us to increase our payments substantially, to diversify our programs, and to foster brilliant new writing. We pay for everything we publish, and we are committed to increasing our current rates.

ABR – Australia’s leading literary magazine since 1961 – is a stylish and dynamic publication. Our support for writers and reviewers takes many forms: increased payments, scrupulous editing, public advocacy, talks and workshops, active marketing and PR, and exposure to our international audience.

ABR is an independent not-for-profit organisation fully dependent on money raised from subscribers, donors, foundations, government, and advertising. ABR is a bona-fide Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR). All donations of $2 or more are tax deductible and are much appreciated. Private support is essential for the continued growth of ABR.

In recognition of our Patrons’ continuing generosity, ABR records multiple donations cumulatively.

What do ABR Patrons support?

Better payments for writers
Three annual literary prizes
Literary fellowships
Fiction and poetry in the magazine
Discounted subscriptions for young readers
National arts coverage through ABR Arts

ABR acknowledges its generous Patrons at the following levels:

Realist: $250 to $499
Symbolist: $500 to $999
Romantic: $1,000 to $2,499
Modernist: $2,500 to $4,999
Futurist: $5,000 to $9,999

To donate to ABR click here.

To view our current list of ABR Patrons click here

Alternatively, you can download a Patrons donation form and post or fax it: (03) 9699 8803

If you would like more information about the Patrons Program, please contact the Editor, Peter Rose: (03) 9699 8822 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Staff

01 August 2009 Written by Amy Baillieu

PeterEditor and CEO

In 2001 Peter Rose became the Editor of Australian Book Review. Previously he was a publisher at Oxford University Press throughout the 1990s. His reviews and essays appear in various publications. He has published several books of poetry, a family memoir, Rose Boys, and two novels, the most recent being Roddy Parr (Fourth Estate, 2010). He edited the 2007 and 2008 editions of The Best Australian Poems (Black Inc.). His most recent publication is a volume of poems, The Subject of Feeling (UWA Publishing, 2015). Peter Rose’s long experience in publishing and the literary world complement the magazine’s history of central involvement in Australian letters.

 


Amy

Deputy Editor

Amy Baillieu completed a Masters of Publishing and Communications at the University of Melbourne in 2011 and holds a Bachelor of Arts from the same university with majors in English Literature and French. She also attended the Sorbonne in Paris, where she completed a Cours de Langue et Civilisation Français in 2007. She was Junior Editor for two years before becoming Philanthropy Manager and then Deputy Editor in 2012.

 

  


IMG 4336

Digital Editor

Jack Callil became Digital Editor in 2020 after being Assistant Editor for two years. He is also a freelance copyeditor, proofreader, and podcast producer, and has worked editorially with both Meanjin and Voiceworks. His writing spans journalism, reviews, non-fiction, and fiction, and has featured in Vice Australia, The Lifted Brow, Junkee, Imprint, Voiceworks, and Australian Book Review, among others. In 2017, his creative nonfiction piece 'When Everything Goes Shit For A Bit' was winner of the Lord Mayor's Creative Writing Award. In 2018, he was an Express Media judge for the John Marsden & Hachette Australia Prize. His twitter is @jackcallil

  


ABR 35

Business Manager

Grace Chang holds a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Arts (Linguistics) and has worked in various roles including government, finance and insurance.

 

 

 


John Hawke ABR Online

Poetry Editor

John Hawke is a Senior Lecturer, specialising in poetry, at Monash University. His books include Australian Literature and the Symbolist Movement, Poetry and the Trace (co-edited with Ann Vickery), and the volume of poetry Aurelia, which received the 2015 Anne Elder award.

 

 


Christopher Menz ABR website

Development Consultant

Christopher Menz commenced working at Australian Book Review in 2010. Prior to that, he had a twenty-five year career in Australian art museums, specialising in the decorative arts. From 2005 to 2010 he was Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia. In addition to reviewing for ABR he has published extensively on European and Australian decorative arts, in particular on the design work of William Morris. He also leads cultural tours for ABR and Academy Travel.

Contact

Contact

Australian Book Review
Studio 2, 207 City Road, Southbank VIC 3006
T: (03) 9699 8822 F: (03) 9699 8803

 

Advertising

For information about advertising with ABR, please visit our advertising page.
For our Media Kit, please contact Amy Baillieu at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

 

Media

For all media enquiries please contact Peter Rose at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Submissions

For information about submitting to ABR, please visit our Submissions page

 

Staff

Editor and CEO
Peter Rose
Editorial
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 9699 8822

Deputy Editor
Amy Baillieu
Editorial, Advertising, Publicity, General Enquiries
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 9699 8822

Digital Editor
Jack Callil
Editorial, Advertising, ABR Arts
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 9699 8822

Business Manager
Grace Chang
Subscriptions, Bookshops, Accounts
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 9699 8822

Development Consultant
Christopher Menz
Patrons, Donations, Bequests
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 9699 8822

 

Letters to the Editor

We welcome succinct letters and website comments. All letters and online comments are edited before publication in the magazine. Time and space permitting, we will print any reply from the reviewer with the original letter or comment. Correspondents must provide a telephone number or email address for verification.

Send all letters and inquiries to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Location

ABR’s office is located within Boyd, the Southbank community hub. Boyd is at 207 City Road, near the intersection of Queensbridge Street and proximate to the Kings Way overpass. It is a large, distinctive Victorian building, and is the heritage-listed site of the former J.H. Boyd Girls’ High School. Boyd is easily accessible by tram, the closest routes being the 58 (Stop 114, City Road/Queensbridge Street) and the 12 (Stop 126, City Road). It is approximately a fifteen-minute walk from Flinders Street Station. On-street metered parking is available on Balston Street and Kavanagh Street, and there are several paid carparks in the area.

View Larger Map

 

Page 2 of 2