Open Page

Open Page with Tom Griffiths

Australian Book Review
26 July 2016

Australian scholars – at least in my field of history – are very good at reflecting on intellectual traditions. It helps one feel part of a long-term conversation that goes beyond individual reputations or achievements.

... (read more)

Open Page with Toni Jordan

Australian Book Review
26 April 2016

I feel for reviewers – they can't win. If they review seriously, with gravitas and responsibility, it's difficult to find enough readers. If they shake things up with a bit of drama, they're sledged for being gimmicky. If they say nice things about someone they know (and in Australia everyone is someone you know), they're dismissed as sucks. If they deliver difficult judgements, they're attacked by the thin-skinned. All the while, spaces for intelligent engagement are shrinking.

... (read more)

Open Page with George Megalogenis

Australian Book Review
31 March 2016

Writing is the best excuse I've found to play music all day. And to understand my country.

... (read more)

Open Page with Drusilla Modjeska

Australian Book Review
26 February 2016

I wouldn't mind being a fly on the wall when Ta-Nehisi Coates has dinner with James Baldwin and Chinua Achebe – and, as long as I'm out of range, up on the ceiling when Rudyard Kipling joins them.

... (read more)

Open Page with Mireille Juchau

Australian Book Review
23 December 2015

I have a recurring dream about discovering an enticing space in my own home – a basement or garden – always just out of reach. Its residue is an elated sense of creative possibility. I like the sign the symbolist poet Saint-Pol-Roux put on his door before sleep: Poet at work.

... (read more)

Future Tense with Michelle Michau-Crawford

Australian Book Review
21 December 2015

I admire everyone who puts their heart and soul into creating something beautiful with words. But in no particular order, a by no means comprehensive list: Gillian Mears, Gail Jones, Joan London, Helen Garner, Kate Grenville, Cate Kennedy, Charlotte Wood, Brenda Walker, David Malouf, Luke Davies, Kim Scott, Amanda Curtin ... I'm currently utterly absorbed in Elena Ferrante's Neapolitan stories. In my fantasy writing life, like her I'd remain anonymous to everyone but my publisher.

... (read more)

Open Page with Don Watson

Australian Book Review
30 November 2015

Though I doubt a critic ever improved a writer's work, a good one makes a difference to a culture. They are rare and valuable. Bad critics are worse than bad writers, but I know from trying years ago that they have an equally good excuse. It is for this reason that I have avoided answering the question.

... (read more)

Open Page with Elizabeth Harrower

Australian Book Review
28 October 2015

I always felt I had urgent news to deliver. I wanted to do that more than anything else.

... (read more)

Open Page with Tim Flannery

25 September 2015

For me, writing is the beginning of so much. It’s how I methodise my thoughts. How I explore issues. My books really are co-explorations with my readers.

... (read more)

Open Page with Charlotte Wood

Australian Book Review
25 August 2015

I hate the words ‘bitch’ and ‘pimp’ and ‘porn’ used – even ironically – for everything from cookery to cars to home décor. I think we should all say ‘thrice’ again.

... (read more)