Open Page

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
23 May 2019

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty years – I finally admitted I would probably never read again. Among them were quite a few Paul Auster novels. I had a huge crush on his work when I was younger, but feel they have outlived their appeal for me.

... (read more)

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
22 April 2019

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching the sea eagles soar.

... (read more)

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
26 December 2018

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucalypts and banksias, just a hundred paces away.

... (read more)

Open Page with Debra Adelaide

Australian Book Review
26 December 2018

Generally where I am right now, in my study writing, but also in the garden. It is very uncomplicated. 

... (read more)

Open Page with Anne Summers

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018

Our reading needs change, and the books we revisit constantly grow in number, but if I must choose, I will nominate Kate Millett’s Sexual Politics (1970) for the way it forced me to confront the ugly fact that the works of so many of the (male) writers I admired – specifically Norman Mailer, D.H. Lawrence, and Henry Miller – were predicated on a deep hatred of women. This changed me forever.

... (read more)

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
26 October 2018

When young, I was smitten with the cricket writing of Neville Cardus. I’m bound to say that his sickly sentimentality and special pleading have not aged well.

... (read more)

Lawrence Durrell. At fifteen, I loved his prose so much, I wanted to eat the book; now I want to chuck all that purple nonsense into the bin.

... (read more)

Open Page with Kristina Olsson

Australian Book Review
27 July 2018

It’s always about a question; the book is my attempt at answering it. The learning curve is what lures me to the desk each day.

... (read more)

Open Page with Ryan O'Neill

Australian Book Review
27 June 2018

The act of writing impedes my writing. The books I write in my head are perfect. Unfortunately, translating them onto the page ruins them.

... (read more)

Open Page with Justine Ettler

Australian Book Review
26 April 2018

I’m in a Austen, Brontë, Eliot phase. Probably Elizabeth Gaskell, though, because of North and South (1855): so topical given the way the digital revolution has impoverished so many and enriched so few.

... (read more)