Open Page

Open Page with John Kinsella

Australian Book Review
27 May 2013

Writing can bring change. I think of myself as an activist writer. I try to act as witness, and convey and interpret what I see.

... (read more)

Open Page with Matthew Condon

Australian Book Review
27 April 2013

My middle-aged dreams are somehow linked to the assorted day-to-day anxieties that come with the territory. When I was young, I had a recurring dream in which a man dressed in black and wearing a fedora stepped out of the cupboard at the end of the bed and stood over me. Years later a psychic told me it was my grandfather, signwriter and poet George Baker, who died when I was eight months old.

... (read more)

Open Page with Marion May Campbell

Australian Book Review
25 March 2013

For me Genet’s phrase sums it up: to write is to undergo ‘horizontal vertigo’, exhilarating and perilous, to enter language as adventure. With all that slumbering immensity that is etymology, languages are humankind’s great works in progress. To write is to take up this terrifying and beautiful challenge, in which one must inevitably fail.

... (read more)

Open Page with Nicolas Rothwell

Australian Book Review
07 March 2013

How vast the world’s scale is; what splendour it holds. Is it not our task to respond to it, to answer it, to make designs and patterns of our own? We live so briefly, from one night to another – and, in our life, such light. It passes through us, it gives us the gleam in our words: to write is to make a mirror.

... (read more)

Open Page with Gillian Mears

Australian Book Review
09 July 2012

Because of a profound love of language and what was once a near addiction to the thrill of opening a dictionary. I would look up a word, then study all the words and their meanings on that double page. Often I would happen upon a word that would assist the ending of whatever it was I’d been working on.

... (read more)

When I was young I tried different things: drawing, painting, music, poetry, short stories, journalism, reviewing, but poetry turned out to be what I was best at.

... (read more)

Open Page with Tony Birch

Tony Birch
23 April 2012

I become preoccupied with images and memory pictures. Eventually, if they hang around long enough, these images become the cornerstone of a short story or a scene in a novel. If I did not write, I would never be able to make sense of them.

... (read more)

Open Page with Brenda Niall

Australian Book Review
20 March 2012

Writing has always seemed an easy, natural thing to do. But it was a long time before I thought of myself as a writer rather than an academic.

... (read more)

Open Page with Peter Conrad

Australian Book Review
25 February 2012

My specialty is ghastly nightmares. In order to dream, I’d probably need to sleep more hours than I usually manage. I hate the sight of the digital clock announcing three a.m.

... (read more)

Storytelling in all its forms is one way of having something curious, strange, and comforting to say to others and ourselves when we are faced with the malaise of the real.

... (read more)