Poetry

'The Cave of Bliss' by Ali Cobby Eckermann

Ali Cobby Eckermann
23 August 2018

I want to climb back
into the cave of bliss
to be with you
the way you make me feel
strong arms to hold
wise words to listen ...

More

Gig Ryan reviews 'Selected Poems 1967–2018' by Jennifer Maiden

Gig Ryan
27 July 2018

Jennifer Maiden’s first books, Tactics (1974) and The Problem of Evil (1975), introduced a fantastically complex and enquiring poetry, with strangely fragmentary assemb More

Tim Wright reviews 'click here for what we do' by Pam Brown

Tim Wright
26 June 2018

A few pages into this collection we read the line: ‘all of it is lies’. ‘It’ signals the irritation that motivates much of Pam Brown’s writing in click here for what we doMore

Dennis Haskell reviews 'Hard Horizons' by Geoff Page and 'The Left Hand Mirror' by Ron Pretty

Dennis Haskell
25 May 2018

I have no idea if Pitt Street Poetry is located in Pitt Street, in the centre of Sydney’s CBD, but it has certainly made itself central to poetry publishing in Australia. Its list includ More

Judith Bishop reviews 'Zanzibar Light' by Philip Mead

Judith Bishop
25 May 2018

There is a shimmering, ludic intelligence to this collection of poems, Philip Mead’s first since 1984. The word ‘comeback’ is apt, with its grace note of gladness for renewed possibi More

David Dick reviews 'Archipelago' by Adam Aitken and 'Present' by Elizabeth Allen

David Dick
26 April 2018

Both Adam Aitken’s Archipelago and Elizabeth Allen’s Present examine the establishment and mutability of identity in the worlds of objects, histories, literature, and More

Benjamin Ivry reviews 'Our Life Grows' by Ryszard Krynicki, translated by Alissa Valles

Benjamin Ivry
26 April 2018

This poem, cited in its entirety, is ‘My Poor Son’ by the Polish writer Ryszard Krynicki, who will be seventy-five years old in June 2018. Likely the finest poet in the generation afte More

David McCooey reviews 'Who Reads Poetry: 50 views from Poetry Magazine' edited by Fred Sasaki and Don Share

David McCooey
26 April 2018

So, who reads poetry? American military cadets, that’s who. And medical specialists. Also, songwriters, journalists, and philosophers. And don’t forget (ex-) poets, priests, and politi More

Joan Fleming reviews 'Domestic Interior' by Fiona Wright and 'The Tiny Museums' by Carolyn Abbs

Joan Fleming
03 April 2018

The classic lyric preoccupation with interiority, and how internal life touches and changes the outside world, finds expression in two recent collections of poetry: Fiona Wright’s ...

More

'The Boathouse' by Judith Beveridge

Judith Beveridge
27 March 2018

ending on a line by John Burnside

No one on the boats, just cats – thin, furtive.
There’s the blown cry of terns and the wheedling
embarkations of crows, but you will not slip

More
Page 2 of 24