Poetry

Geoff Page reviews 'The River in the Sky' by Clive James

Geoff Page
26 October 2018

For admirers of Clive James’s poetry written since he became terminally ill in 2011 (and this reviewer is certainly one), The River in the Sky will pose something of a quandary. More

David McCooey reviews three poets at the height of their powers

David McCooey
26 October 2018

Sarah Day’s début collection, A Hunger to Be Less Serious (1987), married lightness of touch with depth of insight. In Towards Light & Other Poems (Puncher & W More

David Dick reviews 'Satan Repentant' by Michael Aiken

David Dick
17 September 2018

It is time to repent my sins. Recently, I have been asking myself if poetry is exempt from a need to entertain. Is the act of reading a poem or a book of poetry an escapist, amusing, joyou More

Joan Fleming reviews 'Look at the Lake' by Kevin Brophy

Joan Fleming
24 August 2018

Kevin Brophy’s latest book is a record of the year he spent living in the remote Aboriginal community of Mulan. The community is home to predominantly Walmajarri people, and is on the ed More

Judith Bishop reviews 'Sun Music: New and selected poems' by Judith Beveridge

Judith Bishop
24 August 2018

The appearance of a New and Selected Poems by a widely loved and admired poet has all the pleasures of a major retrospective, but viewed alone, without the clamour of a gallery event. It More

'Dalgety Dalgety' by Duncan Hose

Duncan Hose
23 August 2018

There’s the Bunny
Flashin his Bunny.

Yr seriousness has spread over the parlour
   Like a goddam Cumulonimbus Incus
I stare at your broken heroes Nose
    &n More

Gig Ryan reviews 'Selected Poems 1967–2018' by Jennifer Maiden

Gig Ryan
27 July 2018

Jennifer Maiden’s first books, Tactics (1974) and The Problem of Evil (1975), introduced a fantastically complex and enquiring poetry, with strangely fragmentary assemb More

Tim Wright reviews 'click here for what we do' by Pam Brown

Tim Wright
26 June 2018

A few pages into this collection we read the line: ‘all of it is lies’. ‘It’ signals the irritation that motivates much of Pam Brown’s writing in click here for what we doMore

Dennis Haskell reviews 'Hard Horizons' by Geoff Page and 'The Left Hand Mirror' by Ron Pretty

Dennis Haskell
25 May 2018

I have no idea if Pitt Street Poetry is located in Pitt Street, in the centre of Sydney’s CBD, but it has certainly made itself central to poetry publishing in Australia. Its list includ More

Judith Bishop reviews 'Zanzibar Light' by Philip Mead

Judith Bishop
25 May 2018

There is a shimmering, ludic intelligence to this collection of poems, Philip Mead’s first since 1984. The word ‘comeback’ is apt, with its grace note of gladness for renewed possibi More

Page 2 of 24