Open Page

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty years – I finally admitted I would probably never read again. Among them were quite a few Paul Auster novels. I had a huge crush on his work when I was younger, but feel they have outlived their appeal for me.

... (read more)

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
Monday, 22 April 2019

Where are you happiest?

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching the sea eagles soar.

... (read more)

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 December 2018

ABR: Where are you happiest?

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucalypts and banksias, just a hundred paces away.

... (read more)

Open Page with Debra Adelaide

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 December 2018

Where are you happiest?

Generally where I am right now, in my study writing, but also in the garden. It is very uncomplicated. 

... (read more)

Open Page with Anne Summers

Australian Book Review
Tuesday, 27 November 2018
What is your favourite book?

Our reading needs change, and the books we revisit constantly grow in number, but if I must choose, I will nominate Kate Millett’s Sexual Politics (1970) for the way it forced me to confront the ugly fact that the works of so many of the (male) writers I admired – specifically Norman Mailer, D.H. Lawrence, and Henry Miller – were predicated on a deep hatred of women. This changed me forever.

... (read more)

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
Friday, 26 October 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

Because you have to do something, and I’m no great shakes at anything else.

... (read more)

Open Page with Rose Tremain

Friday, 27 July 2018

ABR: Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

RT: Lawrence Durrell. At fifteen, I loved his prose so much, I wanted to eat the book; now I want to chuck all that purple nonsense into the bin.

... (read more)

Open Page with Kristina Olsson

Australian Book Review
Friday, 27 July 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

It’s always about a question; the book is my attempt at answering it. The learning curve is what lures me to the desk each day.

... (read more)

Open Page with Ryan O'Neill

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 27 June 2018

ABR: What, if anything, impedes your writing?

The act of writing impedes my writing. The books I write in my head are perfect. Unfortunately, translating them onto the page ruins them.

... (read more)

Open Page with Justine Ettler

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 26 April 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

Because I love doing it and because at times I’ve been changed for the better as a result of reading great novels. Bohemia Beach is about a successful woman who is also an alcoholic. My love of Prague aside, I was inspired to challenge the novelistic cliché of the happy-go-lucky female drunk ...

... (read more)
Page 1 of 7