Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

2024 Peter Porter Poetry Prize

First prize: AU$6,000
Four other shortlisted poets: AU$1,000
Dates: Entries have now closed.
Judges: Lachlan Brown, Dan Disney and Felicity Plunkett

Entry has now closed for the twentieth Peter Porter Poetry Prize. The Porter Prize was open to all international poets from 3 July 2023 until midnight, 9 October 2023. This year the Porter Prize is worth a total of AU$10,000 – with a first prize of $6,000.

Entries must be an original single-authored poem of not more than 70 lines written in English. Poems must not have been previously published. The five shortlisted poems will be published in the January–February 2024 issue and the winner will be announced at a ceremony later that month.

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most lucrative and respected poetry awards. It honours the life and work of the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010), an honoured contributor to ABR for many years. All poets writing in English are eligible to enter.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their poems.

Before entering the Porter Prize, all poets must read the Terms and Conditions. Please read our Frequently Asked Questions before contacting us with queries about the Porter Prize.

Entry fees                                                 

Online entry (current ABR subscriber) - $20
Online entry (standard/non subscriber) - $30*

  • Non-subscribers will receive digital access to ABR free of charge for four months.

Special online entry + subscription bundles

Subsequent entries may be submitted at the subscriber rate

Online entry + digital ABR subscription - $100
Online entry + Print subscription (Australia) - $120
Online entry + Print subscription (NZ and Asia) - $200
Online entry + Print subscription (Rest of World) - $220

To stay updated on the Porter Prize and Australian Book Review’s other prizes, please sign up for our ‘Prizes and Programs’ newsletter.

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Morag Fraser AM and Andrew Taylor AM and support in memory of Kate Boyce.