Hidden Author

2018 Calibre Essay Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Andrea Goldsmith is a Melbourne-based novelist, reviewer and essayist. Her literary essays have appeared in Heat, Meanjin, Australian Book Review, Best Australian Essays, as well as numerous anthologies. Her most recent novel, The Memory Trap, won the Melbourne Prize for best literary work in 2015. Her new novel, The Science of Departures is due out in 2018.       Phillipa ... (read more)

Write for ABR Arts

ABR Arts 20 September 2017
Write for ABR Arts
ABR Arts covers all the arts – film, theatre, music, art exhibitions, festivals, etc. We pay for everything we publish, and we are committed to increasing our rates when we can. All reviews appear promptly online; some later appear in the print edition. Reviews are open-access for the first fortnight, then paywalled. ABR is always looking for assured critics and arts journalists. This docu ... (read more)

#16 The 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize ceremony

The ABR Podcast 24 August 2017
Eliza Robertson won the 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story ‘Pheidippides’. Author David Malouf announced Eliza Robertson as the overall winner at a ceremony at Potts Point Bookshop, Sydney. Dominic Amerena placed second for his story ‘The Leaching Layer’ and Lauren Aimee Curtis came third for her story ‘Butter’. Subscribers can read all three shortlisted stories ... (read more)

#15 Peter Rose on the same-sex marriage debate

The ABR Podcast 18 August 2017
'The recent debate about same-sex marriage has been one of the most unseemly episodes in our recent history. A legal entitlement that has been endorsed by untold opinion polls has again been delayed because of internecine strife in the federal coalition. A postal ballot with dubious legal weight or status will further delay same-sex marriage and result in a divisive public debate – at quite a co ... (read more)

2017 Jolley Prize winner: Eliza Robertson

Competitions and programs 01 September 2014
Announcing the 2017 Jolley Prize winner Australian Book Review is delighted to announce that Eliza Robertson has won the 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story 'Pheidippides'. Ian Dickson announced Ms Robertson as the overall winner at a ceremony at the Potts Point Bookshop on 10 August 2017. Dominic Amerena placed second for his story 'The Leaching Layer' and Lauren Aimee Curt ... (read more)

2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize

Competitions and programs 29 July 2014
John Hawke, Morag Fraser, Nicholas Wong, and Peter RoseNicholas Wong is the winner of the 2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize, now worth a total of $8,500. This is Australia’s premier prize for an original poem. Louis Klee, the 2017 winner, made the announcement at a special event at fortyfivedownstairs on Monday, 19 March. Nicholas Wong, who flew from Hong Kong to attend the Porter ceremony, receive ... (read more)

ABR Cultural Tour to Germany 2018

Events 01 June 2017
Munich to Berlin: Art, music, & literature Australian Book Review in Germany June 2–15, 2018 ABR’s third international cultural tour, in partnership with Academy Travel, took us to Germany. Once again the tour was led by Peter Rose, ABR Editor and CEO, and Christopher Menz, ABR Development Consultant and former gallery director. The two week tour commenced in Munich at the beginning of ... (read more)

Letters to the Editor - June-July 2017

June-July 2017, no. 392 29 May 2017
Raging élites Dear Editor,Until the May 2017 issue, ABR had managed to keep its anti-Trump animus relatively subdued, but with James McNamara’s review of two satirical books on Trump, the levée has broken and the magazine has fed its tributary into the liberal élite’s torrent of rage and resentment at American voters for electing a bozo and/or fascist. When, after a flurry of ad hominem a ... (read more)