The Porter Prize poems

As read by the shortlisted poets
The ABR Podcast 06 January 2022

The Porter Prize poems

As read by the shortlisted poets
The ABR Podcast 06 January 2022

Peter Porter

In today’s episode, listen to the shortlisted poets for the 2022 Peter Porter Poetry Prize – Chris Arnold, Dan Disney, Michael Farrell, Anthony Lawrence, and Debbie Lim – read their poems. This year, our judges Sarah Holland-Batt, Jaya Savige, and Anders Villani had 1,330 poems to assess. In their comments, they write: ‘The five accomplished shortlisted poems each share a narrative bent, a focus on form (four out of five are stanzaic), and a capacity to startle and surprise with vivid imagery, linguistic torque, humour, and juxtaposition.’

All poets are timestamped below in the audio player.

Join us to announce the winner

RSVP for an online ceremony at 6pm on January 19 as we reveal the winner of the 2022 Porter Prize. The night will feature the shortlisted poets introducing and reading their poems before a special guest announces the overall winner.

Simply email your interest to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to attend the ceremony. We will send you a Zoom link closer to the event.

Subscribe via iTunesGoogle, or Spotify, or your favourite podcast app.

From the New Issue

Comment (1)

  • This podcast was like rain in the desert of Covid. Wonderful poetry! I look forward to hearing the judges' overall choice of winner, though it seems irrelevant at the moment of listening. Thank you
    Posted by Gael Elliott
    10 January 2022

Leave a comment

If you are an ABR subscriber, you will need to sign in to post a comment.

If you have forgotten your sign in details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to ABR Comments. We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.