Politics

Peter Mares reviews 'Frontier Justice' by Andy Lamey and 'Contesting Citizenship' by Anne McNevin

Peter Mares
21 March 2012

Australian advocates of a harsh line against asylum seekers arriving by boat often base their arguments on a concern for the protection of human life. Unless we deter boat people, so the r More

Matthew Lamb reviews 'The Australian Moment: How We Were Made for These Times' by George Megalogenis

Matthew Lamb
21 March 2012

In The Australian Moment: How We Were Made for These Times, George Megalogenis tries to explain how, in spite of ourselves, we managed to survive the last three ‘super crashes o More

Angus Roxburgh: The Strongman

Geoff Winestock
21 March 2012

A portrait of the Vladimir Putin from inside the Kremlin

Geoff Winestock

 

The Strongman: Vladimir Putin and the Struggle for Russia
by Angus Roxburgh
I.B. Tauris (Palgrave Macmillan), $39.95 hb, 338 pp, 9781780760162

 

The Western stereotype of the Russ ... More

Neal Blewett on 'After Words: The Post-Prime Ministerial Speeches' by P.J. Keating

Neal Blewett
23 January 2012

As of writing, Australia has six living ex-prime ministers – not quite a record. Of these, one, of course, is still in parliamentary harness, and may still aspire to the top job. Of the More

Nick Hordern reviews 'The Hall of Uselessness: Collected Essays' by Simon Leys

Nicholas Hordern
21 January 2012

Simon Leys is the pen name of the distinguished academic Pierre Ryckmans, who came to notice, first as a sinologist, then as a critic and author. The essays in this collection, composed ov More

Sally Heath (ed.): Meanjin, Vol. 70, No. 4

William Heyward
21 January 2012

Forthright politics

William Heyward

 

Meanjin, Vol. 70, No. 4
edited by Sally Heath
Melbourne University Publishing, $24.99 pb, 208 pp, 0025-6293

 

The current issue of Meanjin is a forthright one. In her editorial, Sally Heath singles out the ... More

Frank Jackson reviews 'The Poor Relation' by Stuart Macintyre

Frank Jackson
23 December 2011

During the lead-up to the last United States presidential election, I found myself waiting for a train at the Princeton railway station with nothing to read. I picked up a copy of the student newspaper. Much of it was standard Bush bashing, intermingled with unrealistic expectations of what Obama might achieve. But one sentence in an editorial caught my eye: ‘It i ... More

Joel Deane reviews 'The Sweet Spot' by Peter Hartcher and 'The Fog On The Hill' by Frank Sartor

Joel Deane
25 November 2011

On 7 November, Paul Keating appeared on ABC TV’s 7.30 to promote his new book of speeches,  After Words. Keating’s response to Leigh Sales’s first question abo More

David Day reviews 'Joseph Lyons: The people’s Prime Minister' by Anne Henderson

David Day
24 November 2011

This book is long overdue. It is eighty years since affable Joseph Lyons, often depicted by cartoonists as a koala, was elected as Australia’s tenth prime minister. He would be re-electe More

Bruce Grant reviews 'Why Leaders Lie: The Truth about Lying in International Politics' by John Mearsheimer

Bruce Grant
24 November 2011

Politics is a demanding profession that calls for skills of leadership and oratory, as well as management, analysis, and even theatre. Asking a politician to be truthful as well may be loo More

Page 16 of 19