Joan Fleming reviews 'Domestic Interior' by Fiona Wright and 'The Tiny Museums' by Carolyn Abbs

Joan Fleming reviews 'Domestic Interior' by Fiona Wright and 'The Tiny Museums' by Carolyn Abbs

Domestic Interior

by Fiona Wright

Giramondo, $24 pb, 93 pp, 9781925336566

Book Cover 2 Small

The Tiny Museums

by Carolyn Abbs

UWAP Poetry, $22.99 pb, 120 pp, 9781742589541

The classic lyric preoccupation with interiority, and how internal life touches and changes the outside world, finds expression in two recent collections of poetry: Fiona Wright’s Domestic Interior and Carolyn Abbs’s The Tiny Museums. In both collections, the speakers draw the shapes of their internal furniture, while building monuments to the intimate scenes and common spaces that define them.

The poems in Wright’s book have a confessional intensity, even if the particularities of the confession are mostly left off the page. While still in her thirties, Wright became an award-winning memoirist for a collection of essays probing the metaphysics of hunger. Self-analysing and revelatory, the essays in Small Acts of Disappearance (2015) do not shy away from the details of private shame and struggle. The poems in Domestic Interior were written around the same time; they are strong in feeling and light on narrative. Biographical details, and the triggering context of the speakers’ sorrow and heaviness, are rarely explicit. The poet instead describes with consummate skill the textural particularities of the touched and tasted world: the ‘pelts of peaches’ and the ‘lukewarm wheatgrass’, sampled while walking ‘past the bakery / where all the bread is cheesed and lurid’. The vulgar suburb-scape is finely observed and vividly described in terms of how it feels against the body.

Read the rest of this article by subscribing to ABR Online for as little as $10 a month.

We offer a range of subscription options, including print, which can be found by clicking here. If you are already a subscriber, enter your username and password in the ‘Log In’ section in the top right-hand corner of the screen.

If you require assistance, contact us or consult the Frequently Asked Questions page.

Published in May 2018, no. 401
Joan Fleming

Joan Fleming

Joan Fleming is the author of two books of poetry, both published by Victoria University Press, Failed Love Poems (2015) and The Same as Yes (2011), and the chapbook Two Dreams in Which Things Are Taken (Duets, 2010). She has recently completed a creative thesis in ethnopoetics, and currently lives in Madrid.

Photograph © Limbo Agency

Leave a comment

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.

NB: If you are an ABR Online subscriber or contributor, you will need to login to ABR Online in order to post a comment. If you have forgotten your login details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.