Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

Hidden Author

About Anna Jacobson | States of Poetry QLD - Series Two

States of Poetry Queensland - Series Two 20 October 2017
Anna Jacobson is a Brisbane-based poet, writer, and artist. Her poetry has been published in literary journals including Cordite, Rabbit, Australian Poetry Journal, Tincture, and Verity La, and it is forthcoming in Meanjin. Anna is currently shortlisted for two categories in the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards: her unpublished memoir How to Knit a Human, which weaves together poetry, photography, ... (read more)

About Zenobia Frost | States of Poetry QLD - Series Two

States of Poetry Queensland - Series Two 17 October 2017
Zenobia Frost is a writer from Brisbane, Australia. Her work has appeared in Overland, Cordite, Arc (Canada), Scum, Woolf Pack, and the Hunter Anthology of Contemporary Feminist Poetry. In 2015, an ArtStart grant allowed her to study poetry in Germany at the Black Forest Writing Seminars and through digital workshops with Warsan Shire. Her first collection, Salt and Bone, was published by Walleah ... (read more)

About Annamaria Weldon | States of Poetry WA - Series Two

States of Poetry Western Australia - Series Two 13 October 2017
Annamaria Weldon’s writing residency with Symbiotica UWA prompted the poems, essays, and photographs of Yalgorup National Park in her last book, The Lake’s Apprentice (UWAP, 2014). She has just completed her third poetry collection, inspired by Malta’s Neolithic temple culture. She researched and wrote during several visits to her birth island, most recently as 2016 Writer in Residence at St ... (read more)

2018 Calibre Essay Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Andrea Goldsmith is a Melbourne-based novelist, reviewer and essayist. Her literary essays have appeared in Heat, Meanjin, Australian Book Review, Best Australian Essays, as well as numerous anthologies. Her most recent novel, The Memory Trap, won the Melbourne Prize for best literary work in 2015. Her new novel, The Science of Departures is due out in 2018.       Phillipa ... (read more)

Write for ABR Arts

ABR Arts 20 September 2017
ABR Arts covers all the arts – film, theatre, music, art exhibitions, festivals, etc. We pay for everything we publish, and we are committed to increasing our rates when we can. All reviews appear promptly online; some later appear in the print edition. Reviews are open-access for the first fortnight, then paywalled. ABR is always looking for assured critics and arts journalists. This docu ... (read more)

#16 The 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize ceremony

The ABR Podcast 24 August 2017
Eliza Robertson won the 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story ‘Pheidippides’. Author David Malouf announced Eliza Robertson as the overall winner at a ceremony at Potts Point Bookshop, Sydney. Dominic Amerena placed second for his story ‘The Leaching Layer’ and Lauren Aimee Curtis came third for her story ‘Butter’. Subscribers can read all three shortlisted stories ... (read more)

#15 Peter Rose on the same-sex marriage debate

The ABR Podcast 18 August 2017
'The recent debate about same-sex marriage has been one of the most unseemly episodes in our recent history. A legal entitlement that has been endorsed by untold opinion polls has again been delayed because of internecine strife in the federal coalition. A postal ballot with dubious legal weight or status will further delay same-sex marriage and result in a divisive public debate – at quite a co ... (read more)

2017 Jolley Prize winner: Eliza Robertson

Competitions and programs 01 September 2014
Announcing the 2017 Jolley Prize winner Australian Book Review is delighted to announce that Eliza Robertson has won the 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story 'Pheidippides'. Ian Dickson announced Ms Robertson as the overall winner at a ceremony at the Potts Point Bookshop on 10 August 2017. Dominic Amerena placed second for his story 'The Leaching Layer' and Lauren Aimee Curt ... (read more)

2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize

Competitions and programs 29 July 2014
John Hawke, Morag Fraser, Nicholas Wong, and Peter RoseNicholas Wong is the winner of the 2018 Peter Porter Poetry Prize, now worth a total of $8,500. This is Australia’s premier prize for an original poem. Louis Klee, the 2017 winner, made the announcement at a special event at fortyfivedownstairs on Monday, 19 March. Nicholas Wong, who flew from Hong Kong to attend the Porter ceremony, receive ... (read more)