Porter Prize

2018 Porter Prize Shortlist

22 February 2018

'101, Taipei' by Nicholas Wong, 'Compass' by Eileen Chong, 'The Abstract Blue Background' by LK Holt, 'Decoding Paul Klee’s Mit Grünen Strümpfen (With Green Stockings) 1939' by Katherine Healy, and 'breat More

News from the Editor's Desk - January-February 2018

Australian Book Review
18 December 2017

With this double issue, Australian Book Review enters its fortieth year. ABR was of course founded in Adelaide in 1961 as a monthly magazine. Max Harris and Rosemary Wigh More

News from the Editor's Desk - August 2017

Australian Book Review
23 July 2017

Jolley Prize, Fay Zwicky (1933-2017), Miles Franklin Award shortlist, Porter Prize, Conversational Calibre, Memoirs of historians, Philip Roth ...

More

News from the Editor's Desk - May 2017

Australian Book Review
21 April 2017

In late March, one of our larger Porter Prize audiences gathered at More

News from the Editor's Desk - March 2017

Australian Book Review
28 February 2017

Porter Prize

We received almost 1,000 entries in this year’s Peter Porter Poetry Prize – by far our biggest field to date. Entries came from twenty-two countries. The judges – Ali Alizadeh, Jill Jones, Felicity Plunkett – have now shortlisted More

2017 Porter Prize Shortlist

Michael Lee Phillips et al
23 February 2017

Drone

Someone says drone and I see the cell phone it tracks, see the hand holding the cell phone
Being tracked by the drone, see the arm connected to the hand holding the cell phone
Being tracked by the drone, see the shoulder manoeuvring the arm connected to the hand
Holding the cell phone being tracked by the drone, see the person attached to the shoulder
Manoeuv ... More

News from the Editor's Desk - April 2016

01 April 2016

Porter Prize winner

Amanda Joy, from Western Australia, was named overall winner of the Peter Porter Poetry Prize at a Boyd ceremony on 9 March. Her poem is entitled 'Tailings'. All five shortlisted poets introduced and read their poems – two of them disembodiedly (More

News from the Editor's Desk - March 2016

26 February 2016

Porter Prize

Five poems have been shortlisted in the 2016 Peter Porter Poetry Prize. The poets are Dan Disney, Anne Elvey, Amanda Joy, Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet, and Campbell Thomson; their poems can be read More

Poem of the Week - 'As Wasps Fly Upwards' by Judith Beveridge (2015 Peter Porter Poetry Prize Winner)

Australian Book Review
13 May 2015

In ABR's sixth 'Poem of the Week' Judith Beveridge discusses and reads her poem 'As Wasps Fly Upwards'

More

Danger: Lantana

Ross Clark
21 November 2014
sampling Jeffrey Harrison’s ‘Danger: Tulip’,
from Ploughshares, Winter 2006–07

Was I hoping to find my way to the creek, loud
with unseasonal rain, and to see, perhaps,
a few winter wattles, and catch a magpie or two
warbling in a melaleuca, when I took a track
I’d never taken before, through light scrub first
and then a sc ... More

Page 1 of 3