Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

Angelo Loukakis

Angelo Loukakis

Angelo Loukakis has been a writer, teacher, scriptwriter, editor, and publisher. He is the author of the fiction titles For the Patriarch, Vernacular Dreams, Messenger, The Memory of Tides, and, most recently, Houdini’s Flight (2010). His non-fiction works include a book for children, The Greeks, and the book of the SBS television series, Who Do You Think You Are? His collection of short stories, For the Patriarch, was winner of a New South Wales Premier’s Literary Award. He was Executive Director of the Australian Society of Authors, 2010–16.

Angelo Loukakis reviews 'A Single Tree: Voices from the bush' compiled by Don Watson

January–February 2017, no. 388 19 December 2016
In The Bush (2014), Don Watson explored notions of what that most variegated of terms, ‘the bush’, meant to earlier generations, including his own family. In A Single Tree, he presents extracts from writings of all kinds for what he calls ‘a fragmentary history of humans in the Australian bush’. He takes as given the diverse applications of the word ‘bush’ over time and chooses pieces ... (read more)