Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

Amy Baillieu

ABR Favourite Australian Novel poll

June–July 2019, no. 412 21 May 2019
Click here to enter the ABR FAN poll In 2009, ABR invited readers to nominate their Favourite Australian Novel (FAN) of any era (view the 2009 poll here). We received thousands of votes for nearly 300 novels. Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet was the overwhelming favourite – by a margin of three to one to its nearest rival, Henry Handel Richardson’s The Fortunes of ... (read more)

2019 Porter Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Judith Bishop is Director of Linguistic Services at a multinational language technology company. Her poems have won many awards, including the Peter Porter Poetry Prize (2006, 2011). Her first book, Event (Salt, 2007), won the FAW Anne Elder award and was shortlisted for the CJ Dennis Prize, the Judith Wright Calanthe Award, and the ASAL Mary Gilmore Prize. She has recently published a second coll ... (read more)

Index for 2017: Nos 388–397 & online features

Indexes 21 February 2018
ABR Index 2017 NB: this index includes material published in the print magazine and online in 2017.   2017 Book Review Index Subscribers can read these reviews online here.   AARONS, Mark and John Grenville, The Show: Another side of Santmaria’s Movement, Scribe, 394/17, Lyndon Megarrity ABBOTT, Sally, Closing Down, Hachette, 392/39, Piri Eddy ADAMSON, Robert, Flute of Milk, UW ... (read more)

2018 Porter Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
John Hawke is a Senior Lecturer, specialising in poetry, at Monash University. His books include Australian Literature and the Symbolist Movement, Poetry and the Trace (co-edited with Ann Vickery), and the volume of poetry Aurelia, which received the 2015 Anne Elder award.         Bill Manhire was New Zealand’s inaugural Poet Laureate. He founded the well-known creative ... (read more)

2017 Jolley Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 22 December 2014
Amy Baillieu completed a Masters of Publishing and Communications at the University of Melbourne in 2011 and holds a Bachelor of Arts from the same university with majors in English Literature and French. She also attended the Sorbonne in Paris, where she completed a Cours de Langue et Civilisation Français in 2007. Amy has been Deputy Editor of Australian Book Review since 2012.     ... (read more)

2017 Porter Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Ali Alizadeh's collection of poetry, Ashes in the Air (UQP, 2011) was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award. His latest book, Transactions (UQP, 2013), was described as 'twisted', 'vicious' and 'remarkable'. His new book, The Last Days of Jeanne d'Arc, will be published in 2017 by Giramondo Publishing. He lectures at Monash University.       Jill Jones has publishe ... (read more)

2015 Jolley Prize winner: Rob Magnuson Smith

Competitions and programs 01 September 2014
Announcing the 2015 Jolley Prize winner Australian Book Review is delighted to announce that Rob Magnuson Smith has won the 2015 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for his story 'The Elector of Nossnearly'. Award-winning author Steven Carroll announced Rob as the overall winner at the 2015 Brisbane Writers Festival. Michelle Cahill placed second for her story 'Borges and I' and Harriet McKnig ... (read more)

2016 Calibre Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Sophie Cunningham has been a writer and publisher in Australia for thirty years. A former publisher and editor, she is the author of two novels, Geography (2004) and Bird (2008). For the City Series, she wrote Melbourne (2011). Warning: The Story of Cyclone Tracy, her most recent book, was published by Text Publishing in 2014 and was long-listed for both a Walkley Award and the Kibble Prize. She i ... (read more)

2016 Porter Prize Judges

Competitions and programs 26 August 2014
Luke Davies is a poet, novelist, and screenplay writer. His first collection, Four Plots for Magnets, appeared in 1982, when he was twenty. His novel Candy (1997) was successfully filmed in 2006. He has won many awards, including the Grace Leven Prize for Poetry, the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal, the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards Judith Wright Prize, and the Age Book of the Year. ... (read more)
Page 1 of 5