The Peter Porter Poetry Prize

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia's most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – now open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010). The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter's death. Past winners include Tracy Ryan, Judith Beveridge, and Anthony Lawrence. To date, Judith Bishop is the only poet to win the Prize twice.

Each year all the shortlisted poems are published in the magazine, giving them equal prominence. The overall winner (who receives $7,000) is then named at a subsequent ceremony along with four shortlisted poets who each receive $500. 

Entries are now closed for the 2020 Porter Prize (worth $9,000)

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Porter Prize.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their poems.

Click here for more information about the 2020 judges.

Peter Porter portrait 1

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Morag Fraser AM and Andrew Taylor AM.