Reading Australia Resources

Christos Tsiolkas

Tuesday, 30 June 2015

Christos Tsiolkas (1965–) is a Melbourne author, playwright, and screen writer. His début novel Loaded (1995) was made into the film Head-On (1998). Since then he has written five novels, including Dead Europe (2005), which won the Age Book of the Year fiction award, The Slap (2008), which won the 2009 Commonwealth Writer's Prize,

... (read more)

Germaine Greer

Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Germaine Greer (1939), is an Australian academic, author and theorist. She was born in Melbourne, completed an arts degree at Melbourne University in 1959 and a Masters degree at Sydney University in 1962, before going as a Commonwealth Scholar to Newn ...

John Romeril

Thursday, 11 June 2015

John Romeril (1945–) is a contemporary Australian playwright. He was born in Melbourne and attended Monash University, during which time he wrote his first plays, I Don't Know Who To Feel Sorry For (1969) and Chicago, Chicago (1970). He went on to become a founding member of the Australian Performing Group and he has written over forty works, includi ...

Kenneth Slessor

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Kenneth Slessor (1901–1971) was an Australian poet, war correspondent and journalist. Born in Orange NSW, he began writing poetry as a child with his first publication appearing in the Bulletin. He began his career as a journalist at The Sun in 1920 before later becoming a war correspondent to the Commonwealth in 1940. He was highly critica ...

Isobelle Carmody

Wednesday, 03 June 2015

Isobelle Carmody (1958- ) is an Australian writer of science fiction, fantasy, children's literature, and young adult literature. She began the first book in the Obernewtyn Chronicles when she was fourteen and continued to work on the series while completing a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in literature and philosophy. While she is perhaps best ...

Alex Miller

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

Alex Miller (1936–), is an Australian novelist. His first novel, Watching the Climbers on the Mountain was published in 1988. Since then, he has won many awards for his fiction. He has twice won the Miles Franklin award, for The Ancestor Game (1993) and for Journey to the Stone Country (2003), and also twice won the Christina Stead Prize for ...

Tim Flannery

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Tim Flannery is an internationally acclaimed scientist, explorer, and conservationist. He has written over a dozen books, including Here On Earth; the award winning bestsellers 

... (read more)

Raimond Gaita

Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Raimond GaitaRaimond Gaita

Raimond Gaita was born in Germany in 1946. He is Emeritus Professor of moral philosop ...

Elizabeth Jolley

Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Elizabeth Jolley photo Photo credit Tanya YoungElizabeth Jolley (photog ...

Helen Garner

Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Helen Garner (1942–) is an Australian novelist and non-fiction writer. Garner’s first novel, Monkey Grip, was published in 1977 and was adapted for film in 1981. Since then she has written many works of fiction, including The Children’s Bach (1984), Cosmo Cosmolino (1992), and The Spare Room (2008), as well as non-fiction, including ...

Page 2 of 3