Reading Australia Resources

Thea Astley

16 February 2015

Thea Astley (25 August 1925–17 August 2004) was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Her first novel, Girl with a Monkey, was published in 1958. She was a prolific and multi-award-winning writer who published fifteen novels and two short story collections and won the Miles Franklin award four times (for The Well Dressed Explorer in 1962, fo ... More

Kim Scott

Amy Baillieu
27 May 2015

Professor Kim Scott (1957-) is an award-winning indigenous author. His books include True Country (1993), Benang (1999), Kayang and Me (with Hazel Brown, 2005), and That Deadman Dance (2010). He has won the Miles Franklin Literary Award twice (for Benang and That Deadman Dance) and has also been awarded th ... More

Kate Grenville

27 May 2015

Kate Grenville (1950–) is an award-winning Australia author of fiction, memoir and non-fiction, Kate’s first publication was the short story collection Bearded Ladies (1984). She has gone on to publish a total of thirteen books in the last thirty years including her most recent one, One Life (2015). Several of Kate’s works have been adapted f ... More

Marcus Clarke

Amy Baillieu
28 May 2015

Marcus Clarke (1846–1881) was an Australian journalist, novelist, and poet, best known for the novel For the Term of His Natural Life (1874) which was originally serialised as His Natural Life in the Australasian Journal.


Thomas Keneally

28 May 2015

Thomas Keneally (1935–) is an award-winning Australian novelist and historian.. Keneally won the 1982 Booker Prize for Schindler’s Ark, which would go on to win Oscars as the 1993 film Schindler’s List. Keneally has won the Miles Franklin Award twice for Bring Larks and Heroes in 1967 and Three Cheers for the Paraclete in 19 ... More

Jessica Anderson

11 February 2015

Jessica Anderson (25 September 1916 – 9 July 2010) was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Anderson’s first novel, An Ordinary Lunacy was published in 1963. Since then she has received many awards for her work including winning the prestigious Miles Franklin award, twice (for Tirra Lirra By the River in 1978 and for The Impe ... More

''Tirra Lirra' and Beyond - Jessica Anderson’s truthful fictions' by Susan Sheridan

Susan Sheridan
11 February 2015
‘Everyone I talk to remembers Tirra Lirra by the River as a wonderful book, sometimes even as a life-changing one. But why don’t we hear anything about it today?’ This was a youn More
Page 3 of 3