2016 Calibre Prize

Australian Book Review is delighted to announce that Michael Winkler has won the 2016 Calibre Essay Prize for his essay 'The Great Red Whale' which appears in the June-July 2016 issue. The judges – Sophie Cunningham (winner of the 2015 Calibre Prize) and Peter Rose – chose Mr Winkler's essay from a field of almost 200 entries submitted from thirteen different countries. Michael Winkler receives $5,000.

The Calibre Prize is for new essays of between 3,000 and 7,000 words on any non-fiction subject. It is open to all essayists writing in English.

The Calibre Prize was first presented in 2007 and entries will open for the 2017 Calibre Prize in December 2016. Please click here for more information about past winners and to read their winning essays.

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Calibre Essay Prize.

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Mr Colin Golvan QC.

Australian Book Review Logo

Studio 2
207 City Road
Southbank VIC 3006

Tel: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Close Panel

ABR Online Login