2020 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

Prize money: $12,500

Closed: 1 May 2020, 11:59 pm

Judges: Gregory Day, Josephine Rowe and Ellen van Neerven 

Entries are currently open for the 2020 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize, worth a total of AU$12,500. The Jolley Prize is open to all short story writers writing in English. We seek original short stories of between 2,000 and 5,000 words.

First place will receive $6,000, second place will receive $4,000, and third place will receive $2,500.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their stories

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions before contacting us with queries about the Jolley Prize.

Before entering the Jolley Prize, all entrants must read the Terms and Conditions.


Entries may be offered elsewhere during the judging of the Jolley Prize. If an entrant is longlisted and has their story offered elsewhere, the entrant will have 24 hours to decide if they wish to withdraw their story on offer elsewhere or from the Jolley Prize. Exclusivity is essential for longlisted stories to remain in contention for shortlisting. The three shortlisted stories will be published in the Fiction issue of the magazine in August or September 2020, with the overall winner to be announced later in the month of publication.

Entry fees

Jolley Prize entry (current ABR subscriber) - $15
Jolley Prize entry (full-time student) - $15
Jolley Prize entry (standard/non subscriber) - $25*
* Non-subscribers will receive a digital subscription to ABR free of charge for four months from entry.

Special online entry + one-year subscription bundles

Subsequent entries may be submitted at the subscriber rate
Jolley Prize entry + digital subscription - $65
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (Australia) - $100
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (NZ and Asia) - $150
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (Rest of World) - $170

To keep up to date with ABR prizes and news, sign up to our newsletters.

ABR gratefully acknowledges Mr Ian Dickson's generous support for the Jolley Prize.