2019 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

Entry for the 2019 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize, one of the world’s leading prizes for an original short story, has now closed.

The Jolley Prize is worth a total of $12,500. ABR will publish the three shortlisted stories in the 2019 September Fiction Issue and announce the overall winner later that month. Three commended stories will also be published later in the year.

The Prizes

First Prize: $5,000
Second Prize: $3,000
Third Prize: $2,000

Commended stories: The three commended stories will share the remaining $2,500 in prize money.

Entry is open to anyone in the world who is writing in English. Entries must be a single story of 2,000 to 5,000 words in length. Please read the Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Jolley Prize.

Click here for more information about past winners and to read their stories.

The Judges

The judges are Maxine Beneba Clarke, John Kinsella, and Beejay Silcox.

The Jolley Prize judges: Maxine Beneba Clarke, John Kinsella, and Beejay Silcox

Entry fees

Jolley Prize entry (current ABR subscriber) - $15
Jolley Prize entry (full-time student) - $15
Jolley Prize entry (standard/non subscriber) - $25*

* Non-subscribers will receive ABR Online free of charge for four months from entry.

Special online entry + subscription bundles

Subsequent entries may be submitted at the subscriber rate

Jolley Prize entry + ABR Online subscription - $65
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (Australia) - $100
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (NZ and Asia) - $150
Jolley Prize entry + Print subscription (Rest of World) - $170


ABR gratefully acknowledges Ian Dickson's generous support for the Jolley Prize.