#16 The 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize ceremony

Thursday, 24 August 2017 15:17
Published in The ABR Podcast

Eliza Robertson won the 2017 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story ‘Pheidippides’. Author David Malouf announced Eliza Robertson as the overall winner at a ceremony at Potts Point Bookshop, Sydney. Dominic Amerena placed second for his story ‘The Leaching Layer’ and Lauren Aimee Curtis came third for her story ‘Butter’.

Subscribers can read all three shortlisted stories in the August 2017 Fiction issue.

The ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize is one of the country’s most prestigious awards for short fiction. This year the Jolley Prize attracted almost 1,200 entries from forty-two different countries. The 2017 Jolley Prize was judged by ABR Deputy Editor Amy Baillieu, and authors Ellen van Neerven and Chris Flynn.

Peter Rose: 0:00 – 7:55
David Malouf: 7:56 – 12:45
Amy Bailleu: 14:15 – 18:22
Dominic Amerena: reads ‘The Leaching Layer’: 20:00 – 24:24
Lauren Aimee Curtis: reads ‘Butter’: 24:55 – 31:00
Eliza Robertson reads ‘Pheidippides’: 31:47 – 36:25
David Malouf announces the winner of the 2017 Jolley Prize: 36:56

Published in The ABR Podcast

Leave a comment

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.

NB: If you are an ABR Online subscriber or contributor, you will need to login to ABR Online in order to post a comment. If you have forgotten your login details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to comments@australianbookreview.com.au. We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.