#14 The 2017 Peter Porter Poetry Prize Ceremony

Thursday, 20 April 2017 18:22
Published in The ABR Podcast

On Thursday, March 23, 2017, Australian Book Review held a ceremony at the Collected Works Bookshop to announce the winner of the 2017 Peter Porter Poetry Prize. The joint winners were - Louis Klee (Vic) for his poem ‘Sentence to Lilacs’ and Damen O’Brien (Qld) for ‘pH’

The winners were chosen from a field of nearly 1000 entries from twenty-two countries. Other shortlisted poets were Ronald Dzerigian (USA), Anthony Lawrence (NSW), Michael Lee Phillips (USA), Jen Saunders (NSW), and Jessie Tu (NSW). The seven shortlisted poems appear in ABR’s March 2017 issue.

Thanks again to our judges – Ali Alizadeh, Jill Jones and Felicity Plunkett – and to all the poets who entered the 2017 Porter Prize.

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Ms Morag Fraser AM, and the support of ABR Patrons.

Published in The ABR Podcast