Interviews

Open Page with Gregory Day

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Why do you write? Because I get enjoyment out of it, and so do other people.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Louise Adler

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 26 July 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? As an English and Comparative Literature graduate whose childhood had been circumscribed by chronic asthma and excessive reading of Enid Blyton stories of naughty school girls, I was ill equipped for any other form of employment ...

... (read more)

Morag Fraser is Critic of the Month

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 31 May 2017

ABR: Which critics most impress you?

Ones who write memorably, whose language combines critical acuity with verve. I could name many, but Robert Hughes, Peter Porter, Kerryn Goldsworthy, and Brian Matthews are four Australians critics I read and reread, and from whom I have learned much, even when I’ve disagreed with, or been provoked by, them.

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Henry Rosenbloom

Australian Book Review
Wednesday, 31 May 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? I had been a writer and editor at school and university, I’d worked in the Whitlam government, I’d been a freelance journalist, and I was interested in politics, history, books, and writing, so it was a natural progression – though I didn’t realise it at the time.

... (read more)

Open Page with Louis Nowra

Australian Book Review
Sunday, 30 April 2017

Why do you write? If I knew the answer to that I probably wouldn’t write. Are you a vivid dreamer? I know I dream, but all I remember are my nightmares. Where are you happiest? Weekends in bed with my wife, Mandy, and Coco and Basil, our chihuahuas ...

... (read more)

Publisher of the Month with Phillipa McGuinness

Australian Book Review
Sunday, 30 April 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? I was about to land a cadetship with The Age, or so I thought. When I missed out, I applied for a job as a publishing assistant with Cambridge University Press. Before long I was working in CUP’s Sydney office, a terrace in Surry Hills. Bits of crumbling wall would fall onto our desks, so manuscripts were often covered in sand. It has always been a glamorous industry, but one I’m very glad I fell into.

... (read more)

Open Page with Ashley Hay

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 30 March 2017

Why do you write? It’s a hopeful or optimistic thing, I think, to try to catch bits of life, large or small, and explore them, understand them, then offer them up to readers who might also connect with them or for whom they might make sense.

... (read more)

Paul Hetherington is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 30 March 2017

Which poets have most influenced you? In the 1980s I read Emily Dickinson’s poetry intensively, and I suspect that her superbly compressed work is ingrained within me. In late adolescence I loved the musicality of W.B. Yeats, and later I grew to admire W.H. Auden’s complexities and clarity. I dwelt for a while in the evocations of New Zealander Lauris Edmond. Recently, I have been reading the tensile work of Tusiata Avia with great enjoyment. Many Australian poets, including Judith Wright and Rosemary Dobson, have influenced my writing.

... (read more)

Felicity Plunkett is Critic of the Month

Australian Book Review
Thursday, 30 March 2017

ABR: Which critics most impress you?

Some of Australia’s best writers are also reviewers. I always enjoy the beautifully crafted and perceptive work of Drusilla Modjeska, Mireille Juchau, James Bradley, Lisa Gorton, and Kerryn Goldsworthy, to name just a few. Anwen Crawford is wonderful on music, Kate Kellaway and a.j. carruthers on poetry.

... (read more)

Jonathan Galassi is Publisher of the Month

Tuesday, 28 February 2017

What was your pathway to publishing?

After university I knew I didn’t want to do deconstruction; I wanted to be involved with contemporary writing, so I looked for an editorial job and eventually found one, in Boston, which was no longer the Athens of America, in 1973.

...