Interviews

Michael Brennan is Publisher of the Month

Australian Book Review
07 May 2019

ABR: In your dealings with authors, what is the greatest pleasure – and challenge?

Having the opportunity to work with a diverse range of extremely talented writers and bring their books into t More

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
22 April 2019

Where are you happiest?

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching More

Emma Lew is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
22 April 2019

What circumstances are ideal for writing poetry?

A bit of space and peace are good for writing poetry. I like to feel warm, so a small electric heater should be blowing on my ankles.

More

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
26 December 2018

ABR: Where are you happiest?

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucaly More

Open Page with Debra Adelaide

Australian Book Review
25 February 2019

Where are you happiest?

Generally where I am right now, in my study writing, but also in the garden. It is very uncomplicated. 

More

Open Page with Anne Summers

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018
What is your favourite book?

Our reading needs change, and the books we revisit constantly grow in number, but if I must choose, I will nominate Kate Millett’s Sexual Politics (1970) for t More

Kevin Brophy is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018

ABR: Roughly how many drafts do you produce before ‘finishing’ a poem?

Hours on each line, weeks on a stanza, months on the whole poem, but with long breaks between. Most poets spend most of their More

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
26 October 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

Because you have to do something, and I’m no great shakes at anything else.

More

Open Page with Rose Tremain

27 July 2018

ABR: Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

RT: Lawrence Durrell. At fifteen, I loved his prose so much, I wanted to eat the book; now I want to chuck al More

Open Page with Kristina Olsson

Australian Book Review
26 September 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

It’s always about a question; the book is my attempt at answering it. The learning curve is what lures me to the desk each day.

More
Page 1 of 6