Publisher of the Month

Carmen Callil is Publisher of the Month

27 July 2018

ABR: What qualities do you look for in an author?

CC: Someone anxious to say something to a reader, hopefully something they want to hear. Good writing, great writing, great use of words and imaginati More

Publisher of the Month with Nathan Hollier

Australian Book Review
27 March 2018

ABR: Do you write yourself? If so, has it informed your work as a publisher? NH: Mostly I plan to write and then console myself I didn’t have time. Having written the odd thing, More

Publisher of the Month with Rod Morrison

Australian Book Review
23 February 2018

ABR: What qualities do you look for in an author? RM: Imagination, tenacity, intelligence, and a sense of humour.

More

Publisher of the Month with Richard Walsh

Australian Book Review
30 August 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? In 1971 I founded the weekly newspaper that became Nation Review. Soon afterwards my proprietor, Gordon Barton, acquired Angus & Robertson More

Publisher of the Month with Louise Adler

Australian Book Review
26 July 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? As an English and Comparative Literature graduate whose childhood had been circumscribed by chronic asthma and excessive reading of Enid Blyton stories More

Publisher of the Month with Henry Rosenbloom

Australian Book Review
31 May 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? I had been a writer and editor at school and university, I’d worked in the Whitlam government, I’d been a freelance journalist, and I was intereste More

Publisher of the Month with Phillipa McGuinness

Australian Book Review
30 April 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? I was about to land a cadetship with The Age, or so I thought. When I missed out, I applied for a job as a publishing assistant with Camb More

Jonathan Galassi is Publisher of the Month

28 February 2017

What was your pathway to publishing?

After university I knew I didn’t want to do deconstruction; I wanted to be involved with contemporary writing, so I looked for an editorial job and eventually found one, in Boston, which was no longer the Athens of America, in 1973.

... More

Michael Heyward is Publisher of the Month

Australian Book Review
21 December 2016

What was your pathway to publishing? In 1979, when I was twenty, I took Vincent Buckley’s poetry seminar at Melbourne University. He introduced us to the work ...

More