Interviews

Publisher of the Month with Sam Cooney

Australian Book Review
23 May 2019

What was your pathway to publishing?

I completed a writing degree, then was published in Voiceworks magazine, then joined its editorial committee, there discovering that editing is a More

Open Page with Chris Womersley

Australian Book Review
23 May 2019

Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

Cleaning out my flat recently I offloaded quite a few books that – after carrying them around for twenty More

Michael Brennan is Publisher of the Month

Australian Book Review
07 May 2019

ABR: In your dealings with authors, what is the greatest pleasure – and challenge?

Having the opportunity to work with a diverse range of extremely talented writers and bring their books into t More

Open Page with Judith Brett

Australian Book Review
22 April 2019

Where are you happiest?

Camping at Thurra River in the Croajingalong National Park, swimming in its tannin estuary, cooking fresh fish, gossiping while walking its long white beaches, watching More

Emma Lew is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
22 April 2019

What circumstances are ideal for writing poetry?

A bit of space and peace are good for writing poetry. I like to feel warm, so a small electric heater should be blowing on my ankles.

More

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
26 December 2018

ABR: Where are you happiest?

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucaly More

Open Page with Debra Adelaide

Australian Book Review
25 February 2019

Where are you happiest?

Generally where I am right now, in my study writing, but also in the garden. It is very uncomplicated. 

More

Open Page with Anne Summers

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018
What is your favourite book?

Our reading needs change, and the books we revisit constantly grow in number, but if I must choose, I will nominate Kate Millett’s Sexual Politics (1970) for t More

Kevin Brophy is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018

ABR: Roughly how many drafts do you produce before ‘finishing’ a poem?

Hours on each line, weeks on a stanza, months on the whole poem, but with long breaks between. Most poets spend most of their More

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
26 October 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

Because you have to do something, and I’m no great shakes at anything else.

More
Page 1 of 6