Interviews

Open Page with Geoffrey Lehmann

Australian Book Review
26 December 2018

ABR: Where are you happiest?

At night I sit on the brick patio of a beach house at Currarong with a garden of flannel flowers and kangaroo paws. I listen to the ocean through a windbreak of low eucaly More

Open Page with Debra Adelaide

Australian Book Review
25 February 2019

Where are you happiest?

Generally where I am right now, in my study writing, but also in the garden. It is very uncomplicated. 

More

Open Page with Anne Summers

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018
What is your favourite book?

Our reading needs change, and the books we revisit constantly grow in number, but if I must choose, I will nominate Kate Millett’s Sexual Politics (1970) for t More

Kevin Brophy is Poet of the Month

Australian Book Review
27 November 2018

ABR: Roughly how many drafts do you produce before ‘finishing’ a poem?

Hours on each line, weeks on a stanza, months on the whole poem, but with long breaks between. Most poets spend most of their More

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
26 October 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

Because you have to do something, and I’m no great shakes at anything else.

More

Open Page with Rose Tremain

27 July 2018

ABR: Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

RT: Lawrence Durrell. At fifteen, I loved his prose so much, I wanted to eat the book; now I want to chuck al More

Open Page with Kristina Olsson

Australian Book Review
26 September 2018

ABR: Why do you write?

It’s always about a question; the book is my attempt at answering it. The learning curve is what lures me to the desk each day.

More

Open Page with Ryan O'Neill

Australian Book Review
27 June 2018

ABR: What, if anything, impedes your writing?

The act of writing impedes my writing. The books I write in my head are perfect. Unfortunately, translating them onto the page ruins them.

More

Publisher of the Month with Rod Morrison

Australian Book Review
23 February 2018

ABR: What qualities do you look for in an author? RM: Imagination, tenacity, intelligence, and a sense of humour.

More

#18 Dilan Gunawardana in conversation with Greg Sestero

01 December 2017

ABR Deputy Editor Dilan Gunawardana spoke to Greg Sestero: actor, model, author and co-star of the 'best/worst film ever made', The Room (2003).

His award-winning memoir The Disaster Artist: My life inside The Room, the greatest bad ... More

Page 1 of 5