Interviews

Open Page with Gideon Haigh

Australian Book Review
26 October 2018

Why do you write?

Because you have to do something, and I’m no great shakes at anything else.

More

Open Page with Rose Tremain

27 July 2018

ABR: Name an early literary idol or influence whom you no longer admire – or vice versa.

RT: Lawrence Durrell. At fifteen, I loved his prose so much, I wanted to eat the book; now I want to chuck al More

Open Page with Kristina Olsson

Australian Book Review
26 September 2018

Why do you write?

It’s always about a question; the book is my attempt at answering it. The learning curve is what lures me to the desk each day.

More

Open Page with Ryan O'Neill

Australian Book Review
27 June 2018

ABR: 'What, if anything, impedes your writing?'
RO: 'The act of writing impedes my writing. The books I write in my head are perfect. Unfortunately, translating them onto the page ruins them.'

More

Publisher of the Month with Rod Morrison

Australian Book Review
23 February 2018

ABR: What qualities do you look for in an author? RM: Imagination, tenacity, intelligence, and a sense of humour.

More

#18 Dilan Gunawardana in conversation with Greg Sestero

01 December 2017

ABR Deputy Editor Dilan Gunawardana spoke to Greg Sestero: actor, model, author and co-star of the 'best/worst film ever made', The Room (2003).

His award-winning memoir The Disaster Artist: My life inside The Room, the greatest bad ... More

Open Page with Roger McDonald

Australian Book Review
30 October 2017

Why do you write? Through a love of words. Are you a vivid dreamer? Awfully, but I was warned early not to put dreams in novels, at least nothing longer than half a line ...

More

Open Page with Josephine Wilson

Australian Book Review
22 September 2017

Australian Book Review spoke to Josephine Wilson, whose second novel, Extinctions (UWA Publishing, 2016) won the 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award after winning the inaugural Dor More

Open Page with Gregory Day

Australian Book Review
26 July 2017

Why do you write? Because I get enjoyment out of it, and so do other people.

More

Publisher of the Month with Louise Adler

Australian Book Review
26 July 2017

What was your pathway to publishing? As an English and Comparative Literature graduate whose childhood had been circumscribed by chronic asthma and excessive reading of Enid Blyton stories More

Page 1 of 5