



2023 Peter Porter Poetry Prize Shortlist

Australian Book Review is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2023 Peter Porter Poetry Prize shortlist. First presented in 2005, the Porter Prize is one of the world's leading prizes for a new poem in English. It is worth a total of \$10,000, of which the overall winner will receive \$6,000.

This year our judges are Sarah Holland-Batt (Chair of *ABR* and an award-winning poet), Des Cowley (poetry publisher and former Rare Books Librarian at the State Library of Victoria), and James Jiang (literary critic and Assistant Editor at *Griffith Review*). They chose the five shortlisted poems from a field of 1,132 entries. Poets from 34 different countries entered the Prize.

The shortlisted poets are **Chris Andrews** (NSW), **Chris Arnold** (WA), **Michelle Cahill** (NSW), **Dan Disney** (South Korea), and **Raisa Tolchinsky** (USA).



(From left to right): Chris Andrews, Chris Arnold, Michelle Cahill, Dan Disney and Raisa Tolchinsky

From the Judges' Report:

'The judges were pleased to consider a rich and deep field of entries to the Peter Porter Poetry Prize this year, reflecting both the variety and strength of contemporary poetry, and many of its stylistic and thematic concerns. The five shortlisted poems engage with pressing subjects such as mining, colonial place naming, abortion, environmental degradation and the relationship between the human and nonhuman worlds, but do so with subtlety, wit, and linguistic charge, rather than didacticism.'

The shortlisted poems will appear in the January–February 2023 issue of *Australian Book Review*. The official ceremony will take place via Zoom at 6pm on **Thursday, 19 January** (AEDT). To register your interest in this online event, please email <u>rsvp@australianbookreview.com.au</u>

About the shortlisted poets

Chris Andrews is the author of two collections of poems: *Cut Lunch* (Indigo, 2002) and *Lime Green Chair* (Waywiser, 2012).

Chris Arnold is completing a PhD in Creative Writing at the University of Western Australia.

Michelle Cahill is the author of *Daisy & Woolf* (Hachette, 2022) and *Letter to Pessoa* (Giramondo, 2016), which was awarded the NSW Premier's Literary Award for New Writing.

Dan Disney's most recent books are *accelerations & inertias* (Vagabond Press, 2021) and the anthology *New Directions in Contemporary Australian Poetry* (co-edited with Matthew Hall; Palgrave, 2021).

Raisa Tolchinsky is the author of *Number One Deadliest* (Under Review, 2021) and the George Bennett Writer-in-Residence at Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire.

Further information

The shortlisted poets and the Editor are available for interview. There is more information about the prize on the *ABR* website. Media enquiries should be directed to Holly Hendry-Saunders: <u>publicity@australianbookreview.com.au</u> or 0413 628 175. *ABR* gratefully acknowledges generous support from *ABR* Patrons Morag Fraser AM and Andrew Taylor AM.

www.australianbookreview.com.au