May 2015, issue no. 371

General (14)

Friday, 27 April 2012 14:49

ABR FEBRUARY 2013, NO. 348

Written by

 

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

Features

The outlook for America in Obama’s second term Morag Fraser

Fit audience of readers Bernadette Brennan

The cult of Rupert Murdoch Joel Deane

A copious biography of J.M. Coetzee Gillian Dooley

Shapes of feelings in Brian Castro Francesca Sasnaitis

When Nettie Palmer visited Henry Handel Richardson Brenda Niall

Asian Australian fiction in the Asian Century Alison Broinowski

The life of David Foster Wallace Shannon Burns


Biography

Artur Domosławski: Ryszard Kapuściński Sheila Fitzpatrick

Diana Wyndham: Norman Haire and the Study of Sex John Rickard


Anthology

Sonya Hartnett (ed.): The Best Australian Stories 2012 Cassandra Atherton


Fiction

Anthony Macris: Great Western Highway Patrick Allington

Graeme Simsion: The Rosie Project Jo Case

Jessie Cole: Darkness on the Edge of Town Romy Ash

Annabel Smith: Whisky Charlie Foxtrot Stephen Mansfield

Matthew Condon: The Toe Tag Quintet Simon Collinson


Australian History

Ross Gibson: 26 Views of the Starburst World Andy Lloyd James


Letters

Valerie Eliot and John Haffenden (eds): The Letters of T.S. Eliot James McNamara

William Shawcross (ed.): Counting One’s Blessings Michael Shmith


Music

Charles Rosen: Freedom and the Arts Michael Morley


Art

Kelly Gellatly (ed.): 101 Contemporary Australian Artists Doug Hall


Film

Lincoln Morag Fraser


Essays

Nikki Gemmell: Honestly Gillian Dooley


Indigenous Studies

Jon Altman and Seán Kerins (eds): People on Country Richard J. Martin


Nuclear Studies

Richard Broinowski: Fallout from Fukushima Gillian Terzis


Poems

‘Life Cycle of the Eel’ Sarah Holland-Batt

‘Fragile Pranks’ Emma Lew


Young Adult Fiction

James Roy: City Laura Elvery

Alison Croggon: Black Spring Bec Kavanagh


Literary Studies

Glyn Maxwell: On Poetry David McCooey


Memoir

Simon Armitage: Walking Home Bronwyn Lea


Poetry

Don Share and Christian Wiman (eds): The Open Door Stephen Edgar

Jennifer Maiden: Liquid Nitrogen Kate Middleton

Graeme Kinross-Smith: Available Light Mike Ladd

Alan Wearne: Prepare the Cabin for Landing Peter Kenneally


Journal

Julianne Schultz (ed.): Griffith Review 38 Imogen Smith


History

J.H. Elliott: History in the Making Norman Etherington


Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, 23 February 2012 09:47

ABR E-NEWS

Written by

Enter your details below to receive ABR's E-NEWS bulletin.

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:32

Privacy & Security

Written by

australianbookreview.com.au and its owner Australian Book Review (hereinafter collectively 'ABR') recognise that your privacy is very important to you. We will not sell, trade, give or rent any information obtained from you to a third party. ABR may from time to time amend, update, or change this Statement. You should check this page periodically for changes to this Privacy Statement.

We acknowledge that we will collect and store information about you as part of offering services on the australianbookreview.com.au website. In this regard, we will act ethically and as evidence of this commitment, we will take reasonable steps to comply with the following principles in relation to the information you give to us about you.

1. Collection
ABR collects the personal data that you volunteer on registering online with australianbookreview.com.au, or through other forms, or by email. This information will only be collected by lawful and fair means.
In order to register with australianbookreview.com.au we require some basic information about you. We also allow you to provide additional non-required information on registration and at other times. Only information marked, as ‘required’ during registration is needed to use services on australianbookreview.com.au. This information is used for identification purposes and to contact you when necessary.

2. Use and disclosure
ABR requires you to provide certain information about yourself in order to provide services to you. We will not rent, sell or exchange information about you to third parties (other than related parties) except where you consent, or except where you would expect the information to be disclosed, or except where we have indicated we may disclose; or except where we are legally obliged to disclose such information.

3. Data quality
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that information we have about you is accurate, complete and up to date when we collect and use it.

4. Data security
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that the personal information we hold about you is kept secure at all times.
ABR will limit access to your personal information to employees and data processors that need it to carry out the service provided by us except where we inform you otherwise. Our employees and data processors are obliged to respect the confidentiality of clients' and website visitors' personal data. ABR will reinforce with other employees the policies and practices in relation to safeguarding personal information of clients and visitors, preventing its unauthorised access, use or disclosure, and ensuring its proper handling.

5. Openness
ABR will be honest and open with you about the type of personal information that is collected about you and the actual use of any such information. By giving out your personal information, or filling in the entry or application form, you have consented to the use of this information in future, for marketing campaigns that ABR feels you may be interested in. At any time you have the option to opt out from receiving any future marketing material by simply sending an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. stating your name and the email address you wish to have removed from future mailings.

6. Anonymity
You can access the australianbookreview.com.au and browse that website without disclosing personal information. ABR will, wherever it is lawful and practicable, give you the option of not identifying yourself to us except where it is necessary to use our website services.

7. Transfer of Data
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that if any information you give us about you will remain subject to the protection given by our Privacy Statement or another statute or binding scheme which is substantially similar to this Privacy Statement.

8. Sensitive information
ABR will not collect information that is considered highly personal or highly sensitive about you. For example, information relating to your racial or ethnic origin, religious or philosophical beliefs, sexual orientation or in relation to your health will not be collected by us.

9. Credit Card Processing
Credit Card processing for online purchases via australianbookreview.com.au is provided by the eWAY® payment gateway service (eway.com.au). eWAY is a Tier 1 Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliant, the highest level achievable. eWAY is externally audited by an approved QSA to ensure that all policies and standards set by the PCI Security Standards Council are upheld. By being fully approved under the highest level of compliance you can be assured that your details remain secure throughout your purchase.

australianbookreview.com.au also uses industry standard Secure Socket Layer (SSL 3.0) encryption technology to secure communication sessions with customers and merchants. australianbookreview.com.au SSL Certificates are provided by rapidssl.com, a leading global Certification Authority.

10. Coverage and Complaints
Our Privacy Statement covers Australian Book Review ABN 21176539338 ARBN A0037102z and the website at australianbookreview.com.au.

If you would like to make a complaint on the basis that you feel your privacy has been breached because we have failed to comply with this Privacy Statement, you should contact us using the following methods:

Postal Address:
australianbookreview.com.au
Australian Book Review
PO Box 2320
Richmond, South, Victoria, 3121
Telephone: (03) 9429 6700
Fax: (03) 9429 2288
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Primary contact: Mark Gomes

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:24

Terms & Conditions

Written by

GENERAL TERMS & CONDITIONS
Pictures are for illustration purposes only - not all pictures are an exact representation of the product listed.
All care is taken to ensure that pricing is current and accurate at time of upload, however we take no responsibility for typographical errors.
Any incorrect pricing will be immediately corrected upon notification to australianbookreview.com.au.

COMMENTS POLICY
Australian Book Review
welcomes discussion and debate through its Comments facility. We encourage readers to comment on reviews and articles published in ABR. When doing so please bear the following in mind:

  • Comments are pre-moderated by staff before publication
  • Comments will not be edited, apart from misspellings
  • We encourage commenters to state their full name, in the interest of openness
  • Please keep comments reasonably brief and pertinent to the topic
  • We do not publish comments that incite hatred or violence
  • We do not publish comments that are legally dubious, i.e. those that contain defamatory material or that infringe copyright laws
  • Gratuitous abuse of authors, critics or commentators is not acceptable
  • Do not use our comments section for spam or commercial purposes
  • Comments may be published in the print edition, subject to editing

REFUND POLICY – australianbookreview.com.au MERCHANDISE
Please choose carefully as we do not give refunds simply because you changed your mind or made a wrong decision. You can choose between a refund, exchange or credit where goods are found on receival to be faulty, wrongly described, or different from a sample shown. Please retain your receipt for proof of purchase.

REFUNDS & WARRANTIES – OTHER PRODUCTS
australianbookreview.com.au may from time to time offer products for sale from other publishers, manufacturers and distributors and may update this Terms & Conditions page accordingly. You should check this page periodically for changes to Terms & Conditions.

FREIGHT COSTS & TIMES
All freight and delivery costs within Australia, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the address nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Victoria – 3 to 5 days.
Australian States other than Victoria – 3 to 10 days.
All goods will be sent via standard freight or postal services unless prior arrangements have been made with australianbookreview.com.au and any additional costs for other delivery methods agreed.
All international freight and delivery costs, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the regions nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Asia and New Zealand – 7 to 10 days.
Rest of the World – 7 to 10 days.

PAYMENT METHODS
The australianbookreview.com.au online store accepts online real-time payment via credit cards including VISA and MASTERCARD. Unfortunately we cannot accept COD (cash on delivery). By prior arrangement we can accept money orders, cheques and/or direct deposits, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
All prices listed in the australianbookreview.com.au online store are in Australian Dollars ($AUD) and include GST.
See also our Privacy and Security Statement here for more details on our secure online credit card processing provided via SSL and the eWAY® payment gateway service.

REFUND & WARRANTY INFORMATION
For further details or assistance regarding refunds or warranties, contact:

Postal Address:
Australian Book Review
Studio 2, 207–229 City Road
Southbank, Victoria 3006
Telephone: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  
Primary contact: Amy Baillieu

 

FOR ABR ONLINE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE CLICK HERE

Tuesday, 26 February 2013 05:02

Online Store

Written by
Online store content to come...
Monday, 12 May 2014 10:25

Website news

Written by

We last redesigned our website in March 2013, and the increase in usage and appreciation was immediate. But all websites need to evolve, and ours is no different. We realise that the current website isn’t meeting all our high standards for ABR Online (e.g. certain pages take too long to load). We have listened to feedback from subscribers, survey respondents, and those who have emailed us or contacted us over social media. We are most grateful for your feedback.

Our trusty web developer is hard at work on a new, speedier version of ABR Online. The revamped website will feature a newsier home page and contents pages that are quicker to load and that will make it easier for you to locate the features that interest you. We will also make sure that logging in to ABR Online is more intuitive for individual subscribers. Arts Update will be much more prominent and well ordered.

The new ABR website will be launched in June – the next step in our digital expansion.

Best wishes

ABR

Wednesday, 11 February 2015 12:48

About Reading Australia

Written by

Australian Book Review welcomes, and is pleased to contribute, to Reading Australia, a visionary new initiative of Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. Reading Australia will publish online resources for the teaching and study of Australian literature in Australian schools and universities. Distinguished Australian, scholars and commentators will appraise 200 major Australian books in stylish, helpful, accessible 2000-word essays, all intended to heighten our appreciation of Australian writing.

ABR will commission and publish some of these essays (and refers our readers to the Reading Australia website for the others). Some of the ABR essays will appear in print. All of them will appear on our website. Students and general readers will learn much from these succinct essays.

Reading Australia essays commissioned and published by Australian Book Review:

Kerryn Goldsworthy on Jessica Anderson's Tirra Lirra by the River

Susan Sheridan on Thea Astley's It's Raining in Mango

Danielle Clode on Tim Flannery's Here on Earth

Kári Gíslason on Raimond Gaita's Romulus, My Father

Bernadette Brennan on Helen Garner's The Children's Bach

Delys Bird on Elizabeth Jolley's Miss Peabody's Inheritance

Wednesday, 11 February 2015 13:27

Jessica Anderson

Written by

Jessica Anderson (25 September 1916 – 9 July 2010) was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Anderson’s first novel, An Ordinary Lunacy was published in 1963. Since then she has received many awards for her work including winning the prestigious Miles Franklin award, twice (for Tirra Lirra By the River in 1978 and for The Impersonators in 1980).

Jessica Anderson 1986 (photograph by Alec Bolton National Library of Australia)Jessica Anderson 1986 (photograph by Alec Bolton National Library of Australia)

Reading Australia

Kerryn Goldsworthy has written about Tirra Lirra by the River as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read her essay.

Further reading and links

Susan Sheridan's essay 'Tirra Lirra and Beyond - Jessica Anderson’s truthful fictions', published in the September 2010 issue of ABR.

Claire Corbett's essay ‘Jessica Anderson's Tirra Lirra by the River published in Overland.

Jane Gleeson-White’s ‘Farewell Jessica Anderson (1916–2010) – and thanks’ published in Overland.

Reading Australia's Teaching Resources

Monday, 16 February 2015 16:14

Thea Astley

Written by

Thea Astley (25 August 1925–17 August 2004) was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Her first novel, Girl with a Monkey, was published in 1958. She was a prolific and multi-award-winning writer who published fifteen novels and two short story collections and won the Miles Franklin award four times (for The Well Dressed Explorer in 1962, for The Slow Natives in 1965, for The Acolyte in 1972, and then for her last novel, Drylands, in 2000). Other awards she Thea Astley photograph courtesy of Penguinreceived include: The Patrick White Award in 1989, The Age Book of the Year Award for A Kindness Cup in 1975, the 1980 James Cook Foundation of Australian Literature Studies Award for Hunting the Wild Pineapple, the 1986 ALS Gold Medal for Beachmasters, the 1988 Steele Rudd Award for It's Raining in Mango, the 1990 NSW Premier's Prize for Reaching Tin River, and the 1996 Age Book of the Year Award and the FAW Australian Unity Award for The Multiple Effects of Rainshadow.

Reading Australia

Susan Sheridan has written about It’s Raining in Mango (1987) as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read her essay.

Further reading and links

Susan Wyndham’s ‘Literary World Mourns Thea Astley’ published in the Sydney Morning Herald, 18 August 2004.

Valerie Miner’s review of It’s Raining in Mango ‘Four Generations Down Under’ published in the LA Times, 22 November 1987.

Tuesday, 24 March 2015 10:42

Helen Garner

Written by

Helen Garner (1942–) is an Australian novelist and non-fiction writer. Garner’s first novel, Monkey Grip, was published in 1977 and was adapted for film in 1981. Since then she has written many works of fiction, including The Children’s Bach (1984), Cosmo Cosmolino (1992), and The Spare Room (2008), as well as non-fiction, including The First Stone (1995), Joe Cinque’s Consolation (2004), and most recently The House of Grief (2014). She has won numerous literary awards and in 2006 she won the inaugural Melbourne Prize for Literature.

Helen GarnerHelen Garner

Reading Australia

Bernadette Brennan has written about The Children's Bach (1984) as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read her essay.

Further reading and links

Peter Rose reviews Joe Cinque's Consolation (2004) in the September 2004 issue of ABR

Peter Rose reviews The Spare Room (2008) in the May 2008 issue of ABR

Felicity Plunkett reviews This House of Grief (2014) in the September 2014 issue of ABR

Jennifer Byrne interviews Helen Garner for The Book Club (aired 23/09/2014)

'Helen Garner visits the dark side of humanity'. Interview with Jennifer Byrne for ABC's Big Ideas (published 8/3/2010)

'A Pleasant DiscordKathryn Kramer reviews The Children's Bach and Postcards from Surfers in the New York Times, December 7, 1986

Australian Book Review Logo

Studio 2
207-229 City Road
Southbank VIC 3006

Tel: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Close Panel

ABR Online Login