Highlights from the current issue

General (5)

Friday, 27 April 2012 14:49

ABR FEBRUARY 2013, NO. 348

Written by

 

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

Features

The outlook for America in Obama’s second term Morag Fraser

Fit audience of readers Bernadette Brennan

The cult of Rupert Murdoch Joel Deane

A copious biography of J.M. Coetzee Gillian Dooley

Shapes of feelings in Brian Castro Francesca Sasnaitis

When Nettie Palmer visited Henry Handel Richardson Brenda Niall

Asian Australian fiction in the Asian Century Alison Broinowski

The life of David Foster Wallace Shannon Burns


Biography

Artur Domosławski: Ryszard Kapuściński Sheila Fitzpatrick

Diana Wyndham: Norman Haire and the Study of Sex John Rickard


Anthology

Sonya Hartnett (ed.): The Best Australian Stories 2012 Cassandra Atherton


Fiction

Anthony Macris: Great Western Highway Patrick Allington

Graeme Simsion: The Rosie Project Jo Case

Jessie Cole: Darkness on the Edge of Town Romy Ash

Annabel Smith: Whisky Charlie Foxtrot Stephen Mansfield

Matthew Condon: The Toe Tag Quintet Simon Collinson


Australian History

Ross Gibson: 26 Views of the Starburst World Andy Lloyd James


Letters

Valerie Eliot and John Haffenden (eds): The Letters of T.S. Eliot James McNamara

William Shawcross (ed.): Counting One’s Blessings Michael Shmith


Music

Charles Rosen: Freedom and the Arts Michael Morley


Art

Kelly Gellatly (ed.): 101 Contemporary Australian Artists Doug Hall


Film

Lincoln Morag Fraser


Essays

Nikki Gemmell: Honestly Gillian Dooley


Indigenous Studies

Jon Altman and Seán Kerins (eds): People on Country Richard J. Martin


Nuclear Studies

Richard Broinowski: Fallout from Fukushima Gillian Terzis


Poems

‘Life Cycle of the Eel’ Sarah Holland-Batt

‘Fragile Pranks’ Emma Lew


Young Adult Fiction

James Roy: City Laura Elvery

Alison Croggon: Black Spring Bec Kavanagh


Literary Studies

Glyn Maxwell: On Poetry David McCooey


Memoir

Simon Armitage: Walking Home Bronwyn Lea


Poetry

Don Share and Christian Wiman (eds): The Open Door Stephen Edgar

Jennifer Maiden: Liquid Nitrogen Kate Middleton

Graeme Kinross-Smith: Available Light Mike Ladd

Alan Wearne: Prepare the Cabin for Landing Peter Kenneally


Journal

Julianne Schultz (ed.): Griffith Review 38 Imogen Smith


History

J.H. Elliott: History in the Making Norman Etherington


Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, 23 February 2012 09:47

ABR E-NEWS

Written by

Enter your details below to receive ABR's E-NEWS bulletin.

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:32

Privacy & Security

Written by

australianbookreview.com.au and its owner Australian Book Review (hereinafter collectively 'ABR') recognise that your privacy is very important to you. We will not sell, trade, give or rent any information obtained from you to a third party. ABR may from time to time amend, update, or change this Statement. You should check this page periodically for changes to this Privacy Statement.

We acknowledge that we will collect and store information about you as part of offering services on the australianbookreview.com.au website. In this regard, we will act ethically and as evidence of this commitment, we will take reasonable steps to comply with the following principles in relation to the information you give to us about you.

1. Collection
ABR collects the personal data that you volunteer on registering online with australianbookreview.com.au, or through other forms, or by email. This information will only be collected by lawful and fair means.
In order to register with australianbookreview.com.au we require some basic information about you. We also allow you to provide additional non-required information on registration and at other times. Only information marked, as ‘required’ during registration is needed to use services on australianbookreview.com.au. This information is used for identification purposes and to contact you when necessary.

2. Use and disclosure
ABR requires you to provide certain information about yourself in order to provide services to you. We will not rent, sell or exchange information about you to third parties (other than related parties) except where you consent, or except where you would expect the information to be disclosed, or except where we have indicated we may disclose; or except where we are legally obliged to disclose such information.

3. Data quality
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that information we have about you is accurate, complete and up to date when we collect and use it.

4. Data security
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that the personal information we hold about you is kept secure at all times.
ABR will limit access to your personal information to employees and data processors that need it to carry out the service provided by us except where we inform you otherwise. Our employees and data processors are obliged to respect the confidentiality of clients' and website visitors' personal data. ABR will reinforce with other employees the policies and practices in relation to safeguarding personal information of clients and visitors, preventing its unauthorised access, use or disclosure, and ensuring its proper handling.

5. Openness
ABR will be honest and open with you about the type of personal information that is collected about you and the actual use of any such information. By giving out your personal information, or filling in the entry or application form, you have consented to the use of this information in future, for marketing campaigns that ABR feels you may be interested in. At any time you have the option to opt out from receiving any future marketing material by simply sending an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. stating your name and the email address you wish to have removed from future mailings.

6. Anonymity
You can access the australianbookreview.com.au and browse that website without disclosing personal information. ABR will, wherever it is lawful and practicable, give you the option of not identifying yourself to us except where it is necessary to use our website services.

7. Transfer of Data
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that if any information you give us about you will remain subject to the protection given by our Privacy Statement or another statute or binding scheme which is substantially similar to this Privacy Statement.

8. Sensitive information
ABR will not collect information that is considered highly personal or highly sensitive about you. For example, information relating to your racial or ethnic origin, religious or philosophical beliefs, sexual orientation or in relation to your health will not be collected by us.

9. Credit Card Processing
Credit Card processing for online purchases via australianbookreview.com.au is provided by the eWAY® payment gateway service (eway.com.au). eWAY is a Tier 1 Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliant, the highest level achievable. eWAY is externally audited by an approved QSA to ensure that all policies and standards set by the PCI Security Standards Council are upheld. By being fully approved under the highest level of compliance you can be assured that your details remain secure throughout your purchase.

australianbookreview.com.au also uses industry standard Secure Socket Layer (SSL 3.0) encryption technology to secure communication sessions with customers and merchants. australianbookreview.com.au SSL Certificates are provided by rapidssl.com, a leading global Certification Authority.

10. Coverage and Complaints
Our Privacy Statement covers Australian Book Review ABN 21176539338 ARBN A0037102z and the website at australianbookreview.com.au.

If you would like to make a complaint on the basis that you feel your privacy has been breached because we have failed to comply with this Privacy Statement, you should contact us using the following methods:

Postal Address:
australianbookreview.com.au
Australian Book Review
PO Box 2320
Richmond, South, Victoria, 3121
Telephone: (03) 9429 6700
Fax: (03) 9429 2288
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Primary contact: Mark Gomes

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:24

Terms & Conditions

Written by

GENERAL TERMS & CONDITIONS
Pictures are for illustration purposes only - not all pictures are an exact representation of the product listed.
All care is taken to ensure that pricing is current and accurate at time of upload, however we take no responsibility for typographical errors.
Any incorrect pricing will be immediately corrected upon notification to australianbookreview.com.au.

COMMENTS POLICY
Australian Book Review
welcomes discussion and debate through its Comments facility. We encourage readers to comment on reviews and articles published in ABR. When doing so please bear the following in mind:

  • Comments are pre-moderated by staff before publication
  • Comments will not be edited, apart from misspellings
  • Please keep comments reasonably brief and pertinent to the topic
  • We do not publish comments that incite hatred or violence
  • We do not publish comments that are legally dubious, i.e. those that contain defamatory material or that infringe copyright laws
  • Gratuitous abuse of authors, critics or commentators is not acceptable
  • Do not use our comments section for spam or commercial purposes
  • Comments may be published in the print edition, subject to editing

REFUND POLICY – australianbookreview.com.au MERCHANDISE
Please choose carefully as we do not give refunds simply because you changed your mind or made a wrong decision. You can choose between a refund, exchange or credit where goods are found on receival to be faulty, wrongly described, or different from a sample shown. Please retain your receipt for proof of purchase.

REFUNDS & WARRANTIES – OTHER PRODUCTS
australianbookreview.com.au may from time to time offer products for sale from other publishers, manufacturers and distributors and may update this Terms & Conditions page accordingly. You should check this page periodically for changes to Terms & Conditions.

FREIGHT COSTS & TIMES
All freight and delivery costs within Australia, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the address nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Victoria – 3 to 5 days.
Australian States other than Victoria – 3 to 10 days.
All goods will be sent via standard freight or postal services unless prior arrangements have been made with australianbookreview.com.au and any additional costs for other delivery methods agreed.
All international freight and delivery costs, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the regions nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Asia and New Zealand – 7 to 10 days.
Rest of the World – 7 to 10 days.

PAYMENT METHODS
The australianbookreview.com.au online store accepts online real-time payment via credit cards including VISA and MASTERCARD. Unfortunately we cannot accept COD (cash on delivery). By prior arrangement we can accept money orders, cheques and/or direct deposits, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
All prices listed in the australianbookreview.com.au online store are in Australian Dollars ($AUD) and include GST.
See also our Privacy and Security Statement here for more details on our secure online credit card processing provided via SSL and the eWAY® payment gateway service.

REFUND & WARRANTY INFORMATION
For further details or assistance regarding refunds or warranties, contact:

Postal Address:
Australian Book Review
Studio 2, 207–229 City Road
Southbank, Victoria 3006
Telephone: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  
Primary contact: Amy Baillieu

 

FOR ABR ONLINE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE CLICK HERE

Tuesday, 26 February 2013 05:02

Online Store

Written by
Online store content to come...
Australian Book Review Logo

Studio 2
207-229 City Road
Southbank VIC 3006

Tel: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Close Panel

ABR Online Login