December 2016, issue no. 387

General (9)

Tuesday, 11 August 2015 10:20

ABR Online FAQ

Written by

What is ABR Online?
ABR Online is the digital version of Australian Book Review. It is published ten times a year to coincide with the publication of the print edition. It also includes a growing archive of digital editions of the magazine which are accessible to subscribers.

How do I subscribe?
You can subscribe by visiting this page and choosing the subscription option that suits you. If you are interested in subscribing for an institution please visit this page or contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . If you are a current individual subscriber to the print edition please contact us so that we can set up your complimentary access to ABR Online: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

How do I login to ABR Online?
You can log in to your ABR Online individual subscription by clicking on the ‘Log in’ button in the top right-hand corner of the website and entering your username and password. Alternatively, you can log in by clicking on the link that appears when you try to read an article that is behind a paywall.

If you have difficulty logging in or forget your password or user name, you can follow the prompts to have them reset or emailed to you. Otherwise, contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will let you know your log in details.

I bought a $10 30-day subscription – what can I access?
Purchasing a $10 30-day subscription entitles you to read the current issue of ABR Online. If you purchase a $10 subscription in the middle of March (for example), you will thus be able to read the March issue until the April issue is published and then you will be able to read the April issue until your 30-day subscription runs out. You will not be able to access archive material unless you purchase a $20 30-day subscription or an annual subscription ($40).

I want to comment on an article but I’m having trouble. What can I do?
If you are accessing ABR Online via a computer that is logged in to an institutional subscription (for example at the National Library of Australia), you will not be able to comment directly on articles. Instead you can email your comment (along with the details of the article you would like to comment on) to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and, subject to approval of the comment as per our guidelines, we will post the comment under your name.

If you are (or have been) an ABR Online subscriber or a contributor to the magazine, you may receive the following message when attempting to comment on an article: ‘The Name or Email Address you typed is already in use!’ In order to comment, you will need to log in to ABR Online (see above), even if your subscription is no longer current.

I want to renew my personal subscription to ABR Online, but I am accessing ABR Online at an institution with an ABR Online institutional subscription – what do I do?
Individual subscriptions cannot be renewed on computers that are already logged-in to ABR Online via an institutional subscription. Instead, you can renew your personal subscription from your computer at home or on a personal device not logged into the institution’s ABR Online subscription. If this is not convenient, call us on (03) 9699 8822 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will help you to renew your subscription.

I subscribe to the print magazine – am I entitled to access ABR Online for free?
Yes, all individual subscribers to the print magazine are entitled to access ABR Online for free for the duration of their print subscription. To do so, however, you need a user name and password. If you have not been set up with access to ABR Online, or if you have forgotten your log in details, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will send them through to you.

I subscribe to e-News but when I click on the articles to read them they are often behind a paywall. Why can’t I read them?
A subscription to e-News is not the same as a subscription to ABR Online. Arts Update and e-News are our two free e-bulletins. Arts Update is sent out every two weeks and includes links to open-access arts reviews published on the website in Arts Update. e-News is sent out to coincide with the launch of each new issue of the magazine and includes links to some open-access content and some restricted content.

If you are a current ABR Online subscriber and you don’t receive e-News or Arts Update and would like to do so, please click here to subscribe.

If you are an e-News subscriber and you are interested in subscribing to ABR Online and having access to all the content on our website, please click here to find out more about subscribing to ABR Online.

Will you notify me when new issues are published?
You can assume that each new issue will be published in ABR Online on the first day of the month. We send out e-News, a free e-bulletin, to correspond with the publication of each new issue. You can sign up to receive this here. We also highlight each new issue on social media via Facebook  and Twitter.

I want to read an older article, where do I look?
Our digital archive is growing all the time. To see which articles and issues are available, please click on the ABR Online menu tab and then select the ‘ABR Online Archive’ option. Most of the articles in our archive are behind a paywall, so you may wish to purchase an ABR Online subscription to read them.

We also sell past issues of the print magazine and you can purchase these here or by contacting us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

I’ve logged in but can’t access articles – why?
Most likely this is because your subscription has expired. Please contact us via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will let you know if your subscription needs to be renewed.

When you are logged in, you can also check on the status of your subscription by clicking on any page containing ABR Online content and then scrolling down until you see the menu on the right hand side titled ‘Subscriber Info’. Clicking on the third option, ‘Your OE Subscription’ will allow you to see when your subscription will expire.

How  do I change my password or update my login details?
Log in to ABR Online if you can. If you have forgotten your user name or password, you can follow the prompts to have them reset or sent to you. Alternatively, you can email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will reset them for you.

If you are already logged in but would like to update your email, user name, or password, you can do so by clicking on any ABR Online link and then scrolling down the page until you see the ‘Subscriber Info’ tab on the right-hand side. Click on the fourth option ‘Your Details’ and then click on the ‘Update Your Profile’ link that appears at the top of the main page underneath the main menu bars. This will allow you to edit and save your email, user name, password, and user details. Please note that if you are a print subscriber you will still need to let us know if your postal address changes as at the moment our online and print subscriber databases are not connected.

I purchased a print subscription  online and I want to access ABR Online – how do I get my login details?
We process all complimentary ABR Online subscriptions manually for print subscribers and email subscribers with their login details once we have done so. If you are not sure if you have been sent this information, if you have lost the login details, or if you are a new subscriber and are particularly keen to get access to ABR Online, please contact us via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (03) 9699 8822.

I work for an institution that might be interested in subscribing to ABR Online – what information is available for me?
We are always delighted to hear from institutions interested in subscribing to ABR Online. Please email Amy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and she will send you a copy of our pdfcurrent institutional brochure as well as information about setting up a free trial access period for your institution. Access via IP address authentication is available.

I have a subscriber number – can I use that to login?
No. Subscriber numbers are not the same as user names and you will still need to be set up with access to ABR Online in order to log in and read complete articles.

I made a mistake with online purchasing  - what do I do?
Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (03) 9699 8822.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:24

Terms & Conditions

Written by

GENERAL TERMS & CONDITIONS
Pictures are for illustration purposes only - not all pictures are an exact representation of the product listed.
All care is taken to ensure that pricing is current and accurate at time of upload, however we take no responsibility for typographical errors.
Any incorrect pricing will be immediately corrected upon notification to australianbookreview.com.au.

COMMENTS POLICY
Australian Book Review
welcomes discussion and debate through its Comments facility. We encourage readers to comment on reviews and articles published in ABR. When doing so please bear the following in mind:

Comments are pre-moderated by staff before publication
Comments will not be edited, apart from misspelling
We encourage commenters to state their full name, in the interest of openness
Please keep comments reasonably brief and pertinent to the topic
We do not publish comments that incite hatred or violence
We do not publish comments that are legally dubious, i.e. those that contain defamatory material or that infringe copyright laws
Gratuitous abuse of authors, critics or commentators is not acceptable
Do not use our comments section for spam or commercial purposes
Comments may be published in the print edition, subject to editing

REFUND POLICY – australianbookreview.com.au MERCHANDISE
Please choose carefully as we do not give refunds simply because you changed your mind or made a wrong decision. You can choose between a refund, exchange or credit where goods are found on receival to be faulty, wrongly described, or different from a sample shown. Please retain your receipt for proof of purchase.

REFUNDS & WARRANTIES – OTHER PRODUCTS
australianbookreview.com.au may from time to time offer products for sale from other publishers, manufacturers and distributors and may update this Terms & Conditions page accordingly. You should check this page periodically for changes to Terms & Conditions.

FREIGHT COSTS & TIMES
All freight and delivery costs within Australia, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the address nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Victoria – 3 to 5 days.
Australian States other than Victoria – 3 to 10 days.
All goods will be sent via standard freight or postal services unless prior arrangements have been made with australianbookreview.com.au and any additional costs for other delivery methods agreed.
All international freight and delivery costs, including packaging and handling, are either included in the price of each item listed for sale in the australianbookreview.com.au online store or are listed separately with each item. Goods will be delivered to the regions nominated by the purchaser within the estimated timeframes as follows (all 'days' are working days):
Asia and New Zealand – 7 to 10 days.
Rest of the World – 7 to 10 days.

PAYMENT METHODS
The australianbookreview.com.au online store accepts online real-time payment via credit cards including VISA and MASTERCARD. Unfortunately we cannot accept COD (cash on delivery). By prior arrangement we can accept money orders, cheques and/or direct deposits, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
All prices listed in the australianbookreview.com.au online store are in Australian Dollars ($AUD) and include GST.
See also our Privacy and Security Statement here for more details on our secure online credit card processing provided via SSL and the eWAY® payment gateway service.

REFUND & WARRANTY INFORMATION
For further details or assistance regarding refunds or warranties, contact:

Postal Address:
Australian Book Review
Studio 2, 207 City Road
Southbank, Victoria 3006
Telephone: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
Primary contact: Amy Baillieu

 

FOR ABR ONLINE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE CLICK HERE

Friday, 27 April 2012 14:49

ABR FEBRUARY 2013, NO. 348

Written by

 

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

Features

The outlook for America in Obama’s second term Morag Fraser

Fit audience of readers Bernadette Brennan

The cult of Rupert Murdoch Joel Deane

A copious biography of J.M. Coetzee Gillian Dooley

Shapes of feelings in Brian Castro Francesca Sasnaitis

When Nettie Palmer visited Henry Handel Richardson Brenda Niall

Asian Australian fiction in the Asian Century Alison Broinowski

The life of David Foster Wallace Shannon Burns


Biography

Artur Domosławski: Ryszard Kapuściński Sheila Fitzpatrick

Diana Wyndham: Norman Haire and the Study of Sex John Rickard


Anthology

Sonya Hartnett (ed.): The Best Australian Stories 2012 Cassandra Atherton


Fiction

Anthony Macris: Great Western Highway Patrick Allington

Graeme Simsion: The Rosie Project Jo Case

Jessie Cole: Darkness on the Edge of Town Romy Ash

Annabel Smith: Whisky Charlie Foxtrot Stephen Mansfield

Matthew Condon: The Toe Tag Quintet Simon Collinson


Australian History

Ross Gibson: 26 Views of the Starburst World Andy Lloyd James


Letters

Valerie Eliot and John Haffenden (eds): The Letters of T.S. Eliot James McNamara

William Shawcross (ed.): Counting One’s Blessings Michael Shmith


Music

Charles Rosen: Freedom and the Arts Michael Morley


Art

Kelly Gellatly (ed.): 101 Contemporary Australian Artists Doug Hall


Film

Lincoln Morag Fraser


Essays

Nikki Gemmell: Honestly Gillian Dooley


Indigenous Studies

Jon Altman and Seán Kerins (eds): People on Country Richard J. Martin


Nuclear Studies

Richard Broinowski: Fallout from Fukushima Gillian Terzis


Poems

‘Life Cycle of the Eel’ Sarah Holland-Batt

‘Fragile Pranks’ Emma Lew


Young Adult Fiction

James Roy: City Laura Elvery

Alison Croggon: Black Spring Bec Kavanagh


Literary Studies

Glyn Maxwell: On Poetry David McCooey


Memoir

Simon Armitage: Walking Home Bronwyn Lea


Poetry

Don Share and Christian Wiman (eds): The Open Door Stephen Edgar

Jennifer Maiden: Liquid Nitrogen Kate Middleton

Graeme Kinross-Smith: Available Light Mike Ladd

Alan Wearne: Prepare the Cabin for Landing Peter Kenneally


Journal

Julianne Schultz (ed.): Griffith Review 38 Imogen Smith


History

J.H. Elliott: History in the Making Norman Etherington


Purchase the February 2013 print edition

Purchase the February 2013 print edition

 

 

 

 

 

Monday, 12 May 2014 10:25

Website news

Written by

We last redesigned our website in March 2013, and the increase in usage and appreciation was immediate. But all websites need to evolve, and ours is no different. We realise that the current website isn’t meeting all our high standards for ABR Online (e.g. certain pages take too long to load). We have listened to feedback from subscribers, survey respondents, and those who have emailed us or contacted us over social media. We are most grateful for your feedback.

Our trusty web developer is hard at work on a new, speedier version of ABR Online. The revamped website will feature a newsier home page and contents pages that are quicker to load and that will make it easier for you to locate the features that interest you. We will also make sure that logging in to ABR Online is more intuitive for individual subscribers. Arts Update will be much more prominent and well ordered.

The new ABR website will be launched in June – the next step in our digital expansion.

Best wishes

ABR

Wednesday, 11 February 2015 12:48

About Reading Australia

Written by

Australian Book Review welcomes, and is pleased to contribute, to Reading Australia, a visionary new initiative of Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. Reading Australia will publish online resources for the teaching and study of Australian literature in Australian schools and universities. Distinguished Australian, scholars and commentators will appraise 200 major Australian books in stylish, helpful, accessible 2000-word essays, all intended to heighten our appreciation of Australian writing.

ABR will commission and publish some of these essays (and refers our readers to the Reading Australia website for the others). Some of the ABR essays will appear in print. All of them will appear on our website. Students and general readers will learn much from these succinct essays.

Reading Australia essays commissioned and published by Australian Book Review:

Kerryn Goldsworthy on Jessica Anderson's Tirra Lirra by the River

Susan Sheridan on Thea Astley's It's Raining in Mango

Ruth Starke on Isobelle Carmody's The Gathering

Brian Matthews on Marcus Clarke's For the Term of His Natural Life

Kerryn Goldsworthy on Robert Dessaix's A Mother's Disgrace

Kerryn Goldsworthy on Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Danielle Clode on Tim Flannery's Here on Earth

Kári Gíslason on Raimond Gaita's Romulus, My Father

Bernadette Brennan on Helen Garner's The Children's Bach

Miriam Cosic on Germaine Greer's The Female Eunuch

Peter Craven on Kate Grenville's Lilian's Story

Judith Rodriguez on Jack Hibberd's Dimboola

Delys Bird on Elizabeth Jolley's Miss Peabody's Inheritance

Tony Birch on Thomas Keneally's The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith

Morag Fraser on Alex Miller's Journey to the Stone Country

Susan Lever on John Romeril's The Floating World

Patrick Allington on Kim Scott's That Deadman Dance

Peter Kirkpatrick on Kenneth Slessor's One Hundred Poems: 1919–1939

Kerryn Goldsworthy on Christos Tsiolkas's The Slap

Billy Griffiths on David Unaipon's Legendary Tales of the Australian Aborigines

James McNamara on David Williamson's The Removalists

Thursday, 23 February 2012 09:47

ABR E-NEWS

Written by

Enter your details below to receive ABR's E-NEWS bulletin.

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:32

Privacy & Security

Written by

australianbookreview.com.au and its owner Australian Book Review (hereinafter collectively 'ABR') recognise that your privacy is very important to you. We will not sell, trade, give or rent any information obtained from you to a third party. ABR may from time to time amend, update, or change this Statement. You should check this page periodically for changes to this Privacy Statement.

We acknowledge that we will collect and store information about you as part of offering services on the australianbookreview.com.au website. In this regard, we will act ethically and as evidence of this commitment, we will take reasonable steps to comply with the following principles in relation to the information you give to us about you.

1. Collection
ABR collects the personal data that you volunteer on registering online with australianbookreview.com.au, or through other forms, or by email. This information will only be collected by lawful and fair means.
In order to register with australianbookreview.com.au we require some basic information about you. We also allow you to provide additional non-required information on registration and at other times. Only information marked, as ‘required’ during registration is needed to use services on australianbookreview.com.au. This information is used for identification purposes and to contact you when necessary.

2. Use and disclosure
ABR requires you to provide certain information about yourself in order to provide services to you. We will not rent, sell or exchange information about you to third parties (other than related parties) except where you consent, or except where you would expect the information to be disclosed, or except where we have indicated we may disclose; or except where we are legally obliged to disclose such information.

3. Data quality
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that information we have about you is accurate, complete and up to date when we collect and use it.

4. Data security
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that the personal information we hold about you is kept secure at all times.
ABR will limit access to your personal information to employees and data processors that need it to carry out the service provided by us except where we inform you otherwise. Our employees and data processors are obliged to respect the confidentiality of clients' and website visitors' personal data. ABR will reinforce with other employees the policies and practices in relation to safeguarding personal information of clients and visitors, preventing its unauthorised access, use or disclosure, and ensuring its proper handling.

5. Openness
ABR will be honest and open with you about the type of personal information that is collected about you and the actual use of any such information. By giving out your personal information, or filling in the entry or application form, you have consented to the use of this information in future, for marketing campaigns that ABR feels you may be interested in. At any time you have the option to opt out from receiving any future marketing material by simply sending an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. stating your name and the email address you wish to have removed from future mailings.

6. Anonymity
You can access the australianbookreview.com.au and browse that website without disclosing personal information. ABR will, wherever it is lawful and practicable, give you the option of not identifying yourself to us except where it is necessary to use our website services.

7. Transfer of Data
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that if any information you give us about you will remain subject to the protection given by our Privacy Statement or another statute or binding scheme which is substantially similar to this Privacy Statement.

8. Sensitive information
ABR will not collect information that is considered highly personal or highly sensitive about you. For example, information relating to your racial or ethnic origin, religious or philosophical beliefs, sexual orientation or in relation to your health will not be collected by us.

9. Credit Card Processing
Credit Card processing for online purchases via australianbookreview.com.au is provided by the eWAY® payment gateway service (eway.com.au). eWAY is a Tier 1 Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliant, the highest level achievable. eWAY is externally audited by an approved QSA to ensure that all policies and standards set by the PCI Security Standards Council are upheld. By being fully approved under the highest level of compliance you can be assured that your details remain secure throughout your purchase.

australianbookreview.com.au also uses industry standard Secure Socket Layer (SSL 3.0) encryption technology to secure communication sessions with customers and merchants. australianbookreview.com.au SSL Certificates are provided by rapidssl.com, a leading global Certification Authority.

10. Coverage and Complaints
Our Privacy Statement covers Australian Book Review ABN 21176539338 ARBN A0037102z and the website at australianbookreview.com.au.

If you would like to make a complaint on the basis that you feel your privacy has been breached because we have failed to comply with this Privacy Statement, you should contact us using the following methods:

Postal Address:
australianbookreview.com.au
Australian Book Review
PO Box 2320
Richmond, South, Victoria, 3121
Telephone: (03) 9429 6700
Fax: (03) 9429 2288
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Primary contact: Mark Gomes

Tuesday, 26 February 2013 05:02

Online Store

Written by
Online store content to come...
Monday, 21 December 2015 13:43

Podcasts

Written by

Australian Book Review recently launched two podcasts –  Poem of the Week and The ABR Podcast. Both podcasts can be found on iTunes and SoundCloud and can also be listened to on the ABR website. Shownotes are available for every episode.

The ABR Podcast

The ABR Podcast is a monthly podcast which will feature extended interviews and major features from the magazine, such as essays, reviews and short stories, recorded and discussed by their authors. Each episode will focus on a different subject or author reflecting the rich variety of content published in the magazine.


 

 Click here to listen via iTunes

Click here to listen on SoundCloud

Click here to find out more about the ABR Podcast or to read shownotes for individual episodes.

Poem of the Week

Poem of the Week is a weekly podcast in which a poet reflects on and reads a new poem.


 

Click here to listen via iTunes

Click here to listen on SoundCloud

Click here for more information about Poem of the Week or to read shownotes for individual episodes.

Australian Book Review Logo

Studio 2
207 City Road
Southbank VIC 3006

Tel: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Close Panel

ABR Online Login