August 2016, issue no. 383

General (24)

Wednesday, 20 May 2015 11:36

Alex Miller

Written by

Alex Miller (1936–), is an Australian novelist. His first novel, Watching the Climbers on the Mountain was published in 1988. Since then, he has won many awards for his fiction. He has twice won the Miles Franklin award, for The Ancestor Game (1993) and for Journey to the Stone Country (2003), and also twice won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, for Conditions of Faith (2001) and Lovesong (2011).

Reading Australia

Alex Miller photograph by John TsiavisAlex Miller (photograph by John Tsiavis)

 

Morag Fraser has written about Journey to the Stone Country (2002) as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read her essay.

Further Reading and Links

Brenda Walker reviews Alex Miller: The Ruin of Time (2014) in the December 2014 issue of ABR

Jane Goodall reviews The Novels of Alex Miller: An Introduction (2012) in the June 2012 issue of ABR

Brian Matthews reviews Coal Creek (2013) in the October 2013 issue of ABR

Morag Fraser reviews Autumn Laign (2011) in the October 2011 issue of ABR

Open Page with Alex Miller in the October 2009 issue of ABR

Alex Miller's website featuring photographs of the people who inspired Journey to the Stone Country

Jane Sullivan, Interview: Alex Miller, Sydney Morning Herald, 5 October 2013

Andrea Streeton reviews Journey to the Stone Country, Sydney Morning Herald, 16 November 2002

‘Miles author hits out at ‘‘dud’’ Rudd’, Jason Steger, The Age, 22 April 2010

Tuesday, 11 August 2015 10:20

ABR Online FAQ

Written by

What is ABR Online?
ABR Online is the digital version of Australian Book Review. It is published ten times a year to coincide with the publication of the print edition. It also includes a growing archive of digital editions of the magazine which are accessible to subscribers.

How do I subscribe?
You can subscribe by visiting this page and choosing the subscription option that suits you. If you are interested in subscribing for an institution please visit this page or contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . If you are a current individual subscriber to the print edition please contact us so that we can set up your complimentary access to ABR Online: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

How do I login to ABR Online?
You can log in to your ABR Online individual subscription by clicking on the ‘Log in’ button in the top right-hand corner of the website and entering your username and password. Alternatively, you can log in by clicking on the link that appears when you try to read an article that is behind a paywall.

If you have difficulty logging in or forget your password or user name, you can follow the prompts to have them reset or emailed to you. Otherwise, contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will let you know your log in details.

I bought a $10 30-day subscription – what can I access?
Purchasing a $10 30-day subscription entitles you to read the current issue of ABR Online. If you purchase a $10 subscription in the middle of March (for example), you will thus be able to read the March issue until the April issue is published and then you will be able to read the April issue until your 30-day subscription runs out. You will not be able to access archive material unless you purchase a $20 30-day subscription or an annual subscription ($40).

I want to comment on an article but I’m having trouble. What can I do?
If you are accessing ABR Online via a computer that is logged in to an institutional subscription (for example at the National Library of Australia), you will not be able to comment directly on articles. Instead you can email your comment (along with the details of the article you would like to comment on) to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and, subject to approval of the comment as per our guidelines, we will post the comment under your name.

If you are (or have been) an ABR Online subscriber or a contributor to the magazine, you may receive the following message when attempting to comment on an article: ‘The Name or Email Address you typed is already in use!’ In order to comment, you will need to log in to ABR Online (see above), even if your subscription is no longer current.

I want to renew my personal subscription to ABR Online, but I am accessing ABR Online at an institution with an ABR Online institutional subscription – what do I do?
Individual subscriptions cannot be renewed on computers that are already logged-in to ABR Online via an institutional subscription. Instead, you can renew your personal subscription from your computer at home or on a personal device not logged into the institution’s ABR Online subscription. If this is not convenient, call us on (03) 9699 8822 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will help you to renew your subscription.

I subscribe to the print magazine – am I entitled to access ABR Online for free?
Yes, all individual subscribers to the print magazine are entitled to access ABR Online for free for the duration of their print subscription. To do so, however, you need a user name and password. If you have not been set up with access to ABR Online, or if you have forgotten your log in details, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will send them through to you.

I subscribe to e-News but when I click on the articles to read them they are often behind a paywall. Why can’t I read them?
A subscription to e-News is not the same as a subscription to ABR Online. Arts Update and e-News are our two free e-bulletins. Arts Update is sent out every two weeks and includes links to open-access arts reviews published on the website in Arts Update. e-News is sent out to coincide with the launch of each new issue of the magazine and includes links to some open-access content and some restricted content.

If you are a current ABR Online subscriber and you don’t receive e-News or Arts Update and would like to do so, please click here to subscribe.

If you are an e-News subscriber and you are interested in subscribing to ABR Online and having access to all the content on our website, please click here to find out more about subscribing to ABR Online.

Will you notify me when new issues are published?
You can assume that each new issue will be published in ABR Online on the first day of the month. We send out e-News, a free e-bulletin, to correspond with the publication of each new issue. You can sign up to receive this here. We also highlight each new issue on social media via Facebook  and Twitter.

I want to read an older article, where do I look?
Our digital archive is growing all the time. To see which articles and issues are available, please click on the ABR Online menu tab and then select the ‘ABR Online Archive’ option. Most of the articles in our archive are behind a paywall, so you may wish to purchase an ABR Online subscription to read them.

We also sell past issues of the print magazine and you can purchase these here or by contacting us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

I’ve logged in but can’t access articles – why?
Most likely this is because your subscription has expired. Please contact us via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will let you know if your subscription needs to be renewed.

When you are logged in, you can also check on the status of your subscription by clicking on any page containing ABR Online content and then scrolling down until you see the menu on the right hand side titled ‘Subscriber Info’. Clicking on the third option, ‘Your OE Subscription’ will allow you to see when your subscription will expire.

How  do I change my password or update my login details?
Log in to ABR Online if you can. If you have forgotten your user name or password, you can follow the prompts to have them reset or sent to you. Alternatively, you can email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will reset them for you.

If you are already logged in but would like to update your email, user name, or password, you can do so by clicking on any ABR Online link and then scrolling down the page until you see the ‘Subscriber Info’ tab on the right-hand side. Click on the fourth option ‘Your Details’ and then click on the ‘Update Your Profile’ link that appears at the top of the main page underneath the main menu bars. This will allow you to edit and save your email, user name, password, and user details. Please note that if you are a print subscriber you will still need to let us know if your postal address changes as at the moment our online and print subscriber databases are not connected.

I purchased a print subscription  online and I want to access ABR Online – how do I get my login details?
We process all complimentary ABR Online subscriptions manually for print subscribers and email subscribers with their login details once we have done so. If you are not sure if you have been sent this information, if you have lost the login details, or if you are a new subscriber and are particularly keen to get access to ABR Online, please contact us via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (03) 9699 8822.

I work for an institution that might be interested in subscribing to ABR Online – what information is available for me?
We are always delighted to hear from institutions interested in subscribing to ABR Online. Please email Amy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and she will send you a copy of our pdfcurrent institutional brochure as well as information about setting up a free trial access period for your institution. Access via IP address authentication is available.

I have a subscriber number – can I use that to login?
No. Subscriber numbers are not the same as user names and you will still need to be set up with access to ABR Online in order to log in and read complete articles.

I made a mistake with online purchasing  - what do I do?
Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (03) 9699 8822.

Tuesday, 24 March 2015 12:19

Elizabeth Jolley

Written by

Elizabeth Jolley (photograph byTanya Young)Elizabeth Jolley (photograph by Tanya Young)

Elizabeth Jolley AO (4 June 1923–13 February 2007) was an English-born writer who moved to Western Australia in 1959 with her husband Leonard Jolley and their three children. She was fifty-three when her first book, Five Acre Virgin and Other Stories (1976), was published, and she went on to publish fifteen novels (including an autobiographical trilogy), four short story collections and three non-fiction books. She won The Age Book of the Year Award three times (for Mr Scobie's Riddle (1983), My Father's Moon (1989)and The Georges' Wife(1993)) and she won the Miles Franklin Award for The Well (1986). She was recognised in Australia with an AO for services to literature and was awarded Honorary Doctorates from Curtin University (1986); Macquarie (1995), Queensland (1997) and The University of New South Wales (2000).

Reading Australia

Delys Bird wrote about Miss Peabody's Inheritance as part of Copyright Agency's Reading Australia project. Click here to read her essay.

Further reading and Links

 Francesca Rendle-Short's review of The House of Fiction by Susan Swingler published in the May 2012 issue of ABR.

'The Jolley Deception' by Susan Wyndham, published in The Age 28

'Fiction and lies: what we learn from Elizabeth Jolley’s love letters' by Elizabeth Webby, published in The Conversation 29 October 2013

Monday, 08 February 2016 15:00

David Williamson

Written by

David Williamson (1942–) is one of Australia's most decorated playwrights. Writer of award-winning theatre, film and television, David's works have remained consistently relevant, with new seasons performed yearly. He has won awards in both film and theatre, with The Removalists earning him the George Devine Award as well as the prestige of being the first foreigner to win the award. The Removalists was the first of Williamson's plays to head abroad, being performed in London in the early 1970's. Later being adapted for the screen by Williamson, staring Jacki Weaver and Peter Cummins, the film was shown at the Cannes Film Festival, receiving critical praise. Williamson continues to produce works for stage and screen with his recent successes including Balibo (2009) and Rupert (2013).

David Williamson - from his websiteDavid Williamson

Reading Australia

James McNamara has written about The Removalists as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read his essay.

Further reading and links

'40 years on, The Removalists is still asking big questions', Natalie Bochenski, The Brisbane Times, 12 August 2014

'Still facing the brutal reality', Elissa Blake, Sydney Morning Herald,

David Williamson's website

Video interview with David Williamson for Brisbane Powerhouses' 2013 season performance of The Removalists

Monday, 22 November 2010 15:32

Privacy & Security

Written by

australianbookreview.com.au and its owner Australian Book Review (hereinafter collectively 'ABR') recognise that your privacy is very important to you. We will not sell, trade, give or rent any information obtained from you to a third party. ABR may from time to time amend, update, or change this Statement. You should check this page periodically for changes to this Privacy Statement.

We acknowledge that we will collect and store information about you as part of offering services on the australianbookreview.com.au website. In this regard, we will act ethically and as evidence of this commitment, we will take reasonable steps to comply with the following principles in relation to the information you give to us about you.

1. Collection
ABR collects the personal data that you volunteer on registering online with australianbookreview.com.au, or through other forms, or by email. This information will only be collected by lawful and fair means.
In order to register with australianbookreview.com.au we require some basic information about you. We also allow you to provide additional non-required information on registration and at other times. Only information marked, as ‘required’ during registration is needed to use services on australianbookreview.com.au. This information is used for identification purposes and to contact you when necessary.

2. Use and disclosure
ABR requires you to provide certain information about yourself in order to provide services to you. We will not rent, sell or exchange information about you to third parties (other than related parties) except where you consent, or except where you would expect the information to be disclosed, or except where we have indicated we may disclose; or except where we are legally obliged to disclose such information.

3. Data quality
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that information we have about you is accurate, complete and up to date when we collect and use it.

4. Data security
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that the personal information we hold about you is kept secure at all times.
ABR will limit access to your personal information to employees and data processors that need it to carry out the service provided by us except where we inform you otherwise. Our employees and data processors are obliged to respect the confidentiality of clients' and website visitors' personal data. ABR will reinforce with other employees the policies and practices in relation to safeguarding personal information of clients and visitors, preventing its unauthorised access, use or disclosure, and ensuring its proper handling.

5. Openness
ABR will be honest and open with you about the type of personal information that is collected about you and the actual use of any such information. By giving out your personal information, or filling in the entry or application form, you have consented to the use of this information in future, for marketing campaigns that ABR feels you may be interested in. At any time you have the option to opt out from receiving any future marketing material by simply sending an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. stating your name and the email address you wish to have removed from future mailings.

6. Anonymity
You can access the australianbookreview.com.au and browse that website without disclosing personal information. ABR will, wherever it is lawful and practicable, give you the option of not identifying yourself to us except where it is necessary to use our website services.

7. Transfer of Data
ABR will take reasonable steps to ensure that if any information you give us about you will remain subject to the protection given by our Privacy Statement or another statute or binding scheme which is substantially similar to this Privacy Statement.

8. Sensitive information
ABR will not collect information that is considered highly personal or highly sensitive about you. For example, information relating to your racial or ethnic origin, religious or philosophical beliefs, sexual orientation or in relation to your health will not be collected by us.

9. Credit Card Processing
Credit Card processing for online purchases via australianbookreview.com.au is provided by the eWAY® payment gateway service (eway.com.au). eWAY is a Tier 1 Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliant, the highest level achievable. eWAY is externally audited by an approved QSA to ensure that all policies and standards set by the PCI Security Standards Council are upheld. By being fully approved under the highest level of compliance you can be assured that your details remain secure throughout your purchase.

australianbookreview.com.au also uses industry standard Secure Socket Layer (SSL 3.0) encryption technology to secure communication sessions with customers and merchants. australianbookreview.com.au SSL Certificates are provided by rapidssl.com, a leading global Certification Authority.

10. Coverage and Complaints
Our Privacy Statement covers Australian Book Review ABN 21176539338 ARBN A0037102z and the website at australianbookreview.com.au.

If you would like to make a complaint on the basis that you feel your privacy has been breached because we have failed to comply with this Privacy Statement, you should contact us using the following methods:

Postal Address:
australianbookreview.com.au
Australian Book Review
PO Box 2320
Richmond, South, Victoria, 3121
Telephone: (03) 9429 6700
Fax: (03) 9429 2288
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Primary contact: Mark Gomes

Tuesday, 26 February 2013 05:02

Online Store

Written by
Online store content to come...
Monday, 21 December 2015 13:43

Podcasts

Written by

Australian Book Review recently launched two podcasts –  Poem of the Week and The ABR Podcast. Both podcasts can be found on iTunes and SoundCloud and can also be listened to on the ABR website. Shownotes are available for every episode.

The ABR Podcast

The ABR Podcast is a monthly podcast which will feature extended interviews and major features from the magazine, such as essays, reviews and short stories, recorded and discussed by their authors. Each episode will focus on a different subject or author reflecting the rich variety of content published in the magazine.


 

 Click here to listen via iTunes

Click here to listen on SoundCloud

Click here to find out more about the ABR Podcast or to read shownotes for individual episodes.

Poem of the Week

Poem of the Week is a weekly podcast in which a poet reflects on and reads a new poem.


 

Click here to listen via iTunes

Click here to listen on SoundCloud

Click here for more information about Poem of the Week or to read shownotes for individual episodes.

Thursday, 28 May 2015 17:47

Thomas Keneally

Written by

Thomas Keneally (1935–) is an award-winning Australian novelist and historian.. Keneally won the 1982 Booker Prize for Schindler’s Ark, which would go on to win Oscars as the 1993 film Schindler’s List. Keneally has won the Miles Franklin Award twice for Bring Larks and Heroes in 1967 and Three Cheers for the Paraclete in 1968. Keneally wrote The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith in 1972.

Thomas Keneally (Random House)Thomas Keneally (Random House)

Reading Australia

Academic and author Tony Birch has written on The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith for ABR as part of the Reading Australia project. Click here to read his essay.

Further reading and links

An ABC Radio recording of an interview with Phillip Adams and Thomas Keneally ‘Should “the Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith” have been written?’ (broadcast 28 May 2001)

The transcripts of an interview by the Screen Australia Digital Learning website for the Australian Biography Project. Robin Hughes interviews Thomas Keneally, 9-11 September 2002 http://www.australianbiography.gov.au/subjects/keneally/interview1.html

Luke Buckmaster rewatches the film for The Guardian 'The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith re-watched - beautiful but savage' 12 September 2014

The Australian Screen Organisation archives website notes on the film

Open Page with Tom Keneally from the October 2010 issue of Australian Book Review

Luke Slattery reviews Australians Volume 3 by Thomas Keneally in the March 2015 issue of Australian Book Review

Alex O'Brien reviews A Country Too Far: Writings on Asylum Seekers edited by Rosie Scott and Tom Keneally for the March 2014 issue of Australian Book Review.

Phil Brown reviews The Daughters Of Mars by Tom Keneally for the June 2012 issue of Australian Book Review

Tuesday, 31 March 2015 12:06

Raimond Gaita

Written by

Raimond GaitaRaimond Gaita

Raimond Gaita was born in Germany in 1946. He is Emeritus Professor of moral philosophy at Kings College London and a Professorial fellow at the Melbourne Law School and the faculty of Arts of the University of Melbourne.

His books have been published in many translations. They include: Good and Evil: An Absolute Conception (1991), Romulus, My Father (1998), A Common Humanity, The Philosopher’s Dog (2002) and After Romulus (2011). A feature film of Romulus, My Father was released in 2007, and won the AFI award for Best Film, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor and Best Young Actor.

Reading Australia

Kári Gíslason has written about Romulus, My Father as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read his essay.

Further Reading and Links

Paul Morgan reviews After Romulus by Raimond Gaita for the October 2011 issue of Australian Book Review

Jean Curthoys reviews A Sense for Humanity: The Ethical Thought of Raimond Gaita edited by Craig Taylor with Melinda Graeffe for the October 2014 issue of Australian Book Review

Craig Taylor reviews The Antipodean Philosopher, Volume 2: Interviews with Australian and New Zealand Philosophers edited by Graham Oppy and N.N. Trakakis for the December 2012 - January 2013 issue of Australian Book Review

'From Frogmore, Victoria: Understanding Raimond Gaita' by Helen Garner, published in The Monthly, May 2007

Maria Tumarkin reviews After Romulus by Raimond Gaita for the Australian, 10September 2011

'The ethical thought of Raimond Gaita' an interview on Radio National, 5 August 2014

'Raimond Gaita speaks about After Romulus' an interview on Radio National, 29 August 2011

 'Truth, writing and national belonging in Romulus, My Father' by Brigitta Olubas, published in Australian Humanities ReviewIssue 43, December 2007

Thursday, 11 June 2015 10:54

John Romeril

Written by

John Romeril (1945–) is a contemporary Australian playwright. He was born in Melbourne and attended Monash University, during which time he wrote his first plays, I Don't Know Who To Feel Sorry For (1969) and Chicago, Chicago (1970). He went on to become a founding member of the Australian Performing Group and he has written over forty works, including scripts for film and television. He has won numerous awards, including the Canada-Australia Literary Award in 1976, the Victorian Government Drama Fellowship in 1988 and the Asialink Playwrighting Competition in 2004. In 2008 he won the Patrick White Award for creative services to Australian literature.

Romeril by Jessie Boylan smallerJohn Romeril (photograph by Jessie Boylan)

Reading Australia

Susan Lever has written about The Floating World as part of the Reading Australia initiative. Click here to read her essay.

Further reading and links

James Waites reviews Hamlet and The Floating World in the November 2013 issue of ABR

Pram factory interview with Bruce Spence who played Les Harding in the 1974 production of The Floating World

Griffin Theatre Company's 2013 production of The Floating World

YouTube videos made for Griffin Theatre Company's 2013 production

Humour Cannot Hide Horror of an Old World’. Steven Dow, Sydney Morning Herald, September 16, 2013 

The Floating World’. Simon Blnns, Time Out Sydney, October 4, 2013

Review: The Floating World, Griffin Theatre, Sydney’. Regina Botros, Crikey, October 17, 2013

Margaret Throsby interviews John Romeril, Radio National, October 14, 2013

Page 1 of 2
Australian Book Review Logo

Studio 2
207 City Road
Southbank VIC 3006

Tel: (03) 9699 8822
Fax: (03) 9699 8803

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Close Panel

ABR Online Login