Essays and Commentary

‘A mutinous and ferocious grace: Nick Cave and trauma’s aftermath' by Felicity Plunkett

Felicity Plunkett
23 May 2019

It begins with a projected haze of ocean horizon. In this blurry liminal space, silence is misted with anticipation, like the moment before an echo comes back empty, right across the s More

2019 Calibre Essay Prize (runner-up): 'Floundering' by Sarah Walker

Sarah Walker
23 May 2019

I swim at night, carving through water full of chlorine and tasting of mould, turning lap after lap before the pool closes down, while cells inside me hurry into being like bubbles under a More

Ryan Cropp reviews Practice: Journalism, essays and criticism by Guy Rundle

Ryan Cropp
22 April 2019

Not long into the Obama era, the American comedians Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert hosted a high-profile ‘Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear’ in Washington, DC. In front of an enormo More

Keegan O’Connor reviews This Young Monster by Charlie Fox

Keegan O'Connor
21 April 2019

In his début collection of essays, This Young Monster, Charlie Fox pays homage to a range of artistic icons (or ‘monsters’) who revel in freakish and reckless play. His creat More

'Forced marriage: MAFS and reality television’s chamber of horrors' by Alecia Simmonds

Alecia Simmonds
25 March 2019

Perched on the precipice of the Blue Mountains, Leura is both quiet and wild, a place of misty romance, sylvan charm, and middle-class entitlement. I am here because some friends have offe More

Daniel Juckes reviews Call Them by Their True Names: American crises (and essays) by Rebecca Solnit

Daniel Juckes
11 February 2019

On the first page of her book Hope in the Dark (2004), Rebecca Solnit quotes from Virginia Woolf’s diary: ‘The future is dark, which is on the whole, the best thing the future More

'The resilience of non-fiction publishing' by Dominic Kelly

Dominic Kelly
10 February 2019

The University of Melbourne’s announcement on 30 January 2019 that Melbourne University Publishing would henceforth ‘refocus on being a high-quality scholarly press in support of the U More

'A tribute to Dorothy Porter' by Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith
27 November 2018

I heard the Egypt story countless times, but then Dorothy Porter believed that if a story was worth telling, it warranted multiple retellings. In the late 1980s, before Dot and I met, she More

Sara Savage reviews 'What Goes Up: The Right and Wrongs to the City' by Michael Sorkin

Sara Savage
27 July 2018

Early in What Goes Up,  Michael Sorkin shares an anecdote from the final collection by fellow architecture critic, the late Ada Louise Huxtable. ‘Just what polemical position More

Lucas Thompson reviews 'See What Can Be Done: Essays, criticism, and commentary' by Lorrie Moore

Lucas Thompson
27 July 2018

It saddens me to say it, but Lorrie Moore’s first collection of non-fiction is a serious disappointment. Having long admired her astonishing fiction, I came to this new book expecting to More

Page 1 of 14