Staring at God: Britain in the Great War by Simon Heffer

Reviewed by
April 2020, no. 420
Joan Beaumont reviews 'Staring at God: Britain in the Great War' by Simon Heffer

Staring at God: Britain in the Great War

by Simon Heffer

Penguin Random House, $59.99 hb, 926 pp

Staring at God: Britain in the Great War by Simon Heffer

Reviewed by
April 2020, no. 420

It seems hard to imagine that we need more books on World War I after the tsunami of publications released during the recent centenary. Yet, here we have a blockbuster, a 926-page tome, Staring at God, by Simon Heffer, a British journalist turned historian in the tradition of Alistair Horne and Max Hastings.

Heffer opens by stating that Staring at God is neither a military history of the war nor an international history of the war. It is a social, cultural, and political history that tells the story of ‘how the government and people of a great naval and mercantile power, shaped by the tenets of laissez-faire, broke with the traditions of their culture, liberties, doctrines and customs, and adapted to total war’. It considers how Britain managed to adapt its economy and society to the demands of industrialised war, and how the British state ballooned and gained unprecedented control over the lives of its people. Heffer also focuses on a ‘second conflict’: that between the British state and Ireland. Denied Home Rule by the outbreak of war in 1914, Ireland would erupt in violence in 1916 and progressively descend into partition and civil war.

Joan Beaumont reviews 'Staring at God: Britain in the Great War' by Simon Heffer

Staring at God: Britain in the Great War

by Simon Heffer

Penguin Random House, $59.99 hb, 926 pp

From the New Issue

You May Also Like

Leave a comment

If you are an ABR subscriber, you will need to sign in to post a comment.

If you have forgotten your sign in details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to ABR Comments. We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.