Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist

Miles-Franklin-NLAHot off the press – possibly the longest of recorded literary longlists, for this year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award, which is worth $50,000 – not quite prime ministerial, but still premiership material, and well worth winning, apart from the kudos attached to Australia’s pre-eminent literary competition.

Of the sixty-one novels entered in the Award, the judges have longlisted thirteen. We list them below, and indicate who reviewed them for Australian Book Review, and when. Obviously ABR can’t review every novel published in this country. If we did, we would have no room for other genres. But it’s pleasing that we reviewed ten of the thirteen. You can peruse these reviews on ABR Online Edition (just $6 for thirty days’ access).

The judges this year are Anna Low, Richard Neville (Mitchell Librarian), Julianne Schultz, Murray Waldren, and Gillian Whitlock. Happily, this year’s list is inclusive and varied – and also rather starry (it features several past shortlisted and winning authors):

We’ll find out in June who has won this year’s ‘Miles’:

  • Tony Birch Blood (UQP) – reviewed by Chris Flynn in the December 2011–January 2012 issue
  • Steven Carroll The Spirit of Progress (Fourth Estate) reviewed by Patrick Allington in the September 2011 issue
  • Mark Dapin Spirit House (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Virginia Duigan The Precipice (Vintage)
  • Anna Funder All That I Am (Hamish Hamilton) – reviewed by Jo Case in the October 2011 issue
  • Kate Grenville Sarah Thornhill (Text Publishing) – reviewed by Sophie Cunningham in the October 2011 issue
  • Gail Jones Five Bells (Vintage) – reviewed by Felicity Plunkett in the February 2011 issue
  • Gillian Mears Foal’s Bread (Allen & Unwin) – reviewed by Gillian Dooley in the November 2011 issue
  • Alex Miller Autumn Laing (Allen & Unwin) – reviewed by Morag Fraser in the October 2011 issue
  • Frank Moorhouse Cold Light (Vintage) – reviewed by Kerryn Goldsworthy in the November 2011 issue
  • Favel Parrett Past the Shallows (Hachette Australia)
  • Elliot Perlman The Street Sweeper (Vintage) – reviewed by Don Anderson in the October 2011 issue
  • Charlotte Wood Animal People (Allen & Unwin) – reviewed by Miriam Zolin in the December 2011–January 2012 issue


http://www.milesfranklin.com.au/news



Peter Rose

Editor, Australian Book Review

Leave a comment

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.

NB: If you are an ABR Online subscriber or contributor, you will need to login to ABR Online in order to post a comment. If you have forgotten your login details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to comments@australianbookreview.com.au. We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.