Brenda Walker reviews 'Shirley Hazzard' edited by Brigitta Olubas

Brenda Walker reviews 'Shirley Hazzard' edited by Brigitta Olubas

Shirley Hazzard: New Critical Essays

edited by Brigitta Olubas

Sydney University Press, $30 pb, 164 pp, 9781743324103

Shirley Hazzard is probably the most elegantly polished writer in the Australian canon: her novels and stories use traditional structures with great assurance, she writes from a thoughtful moral position, she is outspokenly engaged with the fine and the less fine elements of the Australia she once lived in, and she can be dry and funny. She spent most of her life in New York and Italy. This reminds us of the mobility of many Australians: the postwar travellers and expatriates, largely suburban and anonymous, but in some cases culturally transformative. Germaine Greer and Clive James are obvious examples. The lack of substantial critical response to her writing is surprising. Shirley Hazzard: New Critical Essays, edited by Brigitta Olubas and published in SUP’s Sydney Studies in Australian Literature series, is a corrective to this: a vibrant gathering of critics, discussing Hazzard’s writing with infectious engagement. This book is a great professional achievement for the publisher at a time when we need to consolidate our understanding of established writers, who risk slipping from critical view as we attend to the new.

Read the rest of this article by purchasing a subscription to ABR Online, or subscribe to the print edition to receive access to ABR Online free of charge.

If you are a single issue subscriber you will need to upgrade your subscription to view back issues.

If you are already subscribed, click here to log in.

Published in April 2015, no. 370
Brenda Walker

Brenda Walker

Brenda Walker is the author of the novels Crush, One More River, Poe’s Cat and The Wing of Night. The latter won the 2006 Nita B Kibble Award and the 2007 Asher Literary Award, and was shortlisted for the 2006 Miles Franklin Award. Brenda Walker is also a critic, essayist and editor. Her most recent book, Reading by Moonlight, was the winner of the 2010 Nita B. Kibble Award and the Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction and the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. She is Professor Emerita of English and Cultural Studies at the University of Western Australia..

Leave a comment

Please note that all comments must be approved by ABR and comply with our Terms & Conditions.

NB: If you are an ABR Online subscriber or contributor, you will need to login to ABR Online in order to post a comment. If you have forgotten your login details, or if you receive an error message when trying to submit your comment, please email your comment (and the name of the article to which it relates) to We will review your comment and, subject to approval, we will post it under your name.